I wonder what the average age of Dancehall fans are and how man of these fans are able to access let's say itunes with a credit card?
Reggae sales decline dramatically... need Atlas Method
Let's see here now...who is the biggest marketing machine in the music business? Major record labels you say? No Major = No MTV...Serani declined to sign with a major because it would have meant him giving up a large percentage of his touring money...some bwoy jus a run off dem beak and cyaan back up what dem speak :holdit:
"However Rum and Red Bull, Beenie's earlier 2010 collab with Fambo received some iTune charting in December but it didn't last."
What sloppy research. Anyone who knows anything about the dancehall game knows that songs are added to overseas playlists a year after they make a name for themselves in Jamaica...the song has just been added to mainstream US radio...farriners don't even know the song yet...so it charted on itunes with basically no exposure...on top of that Beenie cannot enter the US at this time to promote the song...
Also reggae fans who own an Ipod are likely to be older, whereas dancehall fans are much younger and have less discretionary income.Winning means you're willing to go longer, work harder, and give more than anyone else - Vince Lombardi
no true Horti. Who have more MP3 and IPod than high school and college students here in the US. Are you talking about Jamaica?- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Uh ooh guess which album was rated #3 of 2010 by Rolling Stone...damn reggae is not keeping up with other genres: http://alturl.com/fx8ti
yuh funny nuh ********!!TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
???????????????????????TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
wow!! a guy at Rolling Stone like Busy Signal!!!!!!!!!!
Reggae...doan tap atall!!! LOL!TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
ok yuh win...reggae booming!!!!
...when di Atlas Method is applied no doubt..lol
my actual words..
Compared with 10-15-20 years ago...reggae is in relative decline.... certainly not dead...but Jamaica-based reggae music is not keeping pace with or growing/adapting to new markets as fast as other genres
Yuh cudda deal....That is indisputable.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Did I say reggae is booming...I said nothing changed nothing strange with the music...it is the industry that has changed...reggae never sold...so why yuh expect it to sell now that the music industry cramp up? How the hell can a music sell without backing from majors who only want to rape the artists?
so reggae is not booming? Reggae is stymied, stagnating or in stasis?
In life if you're not moving ahead...you're dying... even if very slowly..TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE