• Golding not satisfied

Golding not satisfied

Published: Monday | January 10, 2011 3 Comments and 0 Reactions

Joy Douglas (front row left) general manager of the Urban Development Corporation, ambassador of the People's Republic of China, Chen Jinghua, Prime Minister Bruce Golding and opposition spokesman on tourism, Dr Wykeham McNeill at the soft opening of the Montego Bay Convention Centre last Friday. - Photo by Janet Silvera

Jamaica doesn't have enough attractions to excite visitors, PM says
    Janet Silvera, Senior Gleaner Writer
    WESTERN BUREAU:

On track to become the all-inclusive department store of Caribbean tourism, Prime Minister Bruce Golding says he is not satisfied Jamaica has enough attractions to keep visitors excitingly engaged.

The prime minister, who said he feels strongly about this position, was speaking at the soft opening of the multi-billion dollar Montego Bay Convention Centre in Rose Hall, St James last Friday.

The centre will host the region's most important marketing event, Caribbean Marketplace, January 16-18.

Likening the island's offerings to side orders, instead of main courses, Golding said, "in so many things, we offer a little of this and a little of that, but we can offer more than knick-knack".

Well-conceived attractions

He lauded the successes in the island attractions, such as Chukka Caribbean, Dolphin Cove, Mystic Mountain and Margaritaville Caribbean as well conceived, designed and managed, adding that they have all become a significant part of the brand.

He is, however, concerned that other frontiers waiting to be conquered, beckon.

"What brings visitors to Jamaica are not the fabulous hotels, nor the fabulous cuisine, it is the people," he argued, adding that there is something about Jamaican people that endears others, "So much of it comes out of our culture, there is a mystique about us," he said passionately.

At the risk of offending the many all-inclusive chains across the length and breadth of the country, Golding said, tourists come to Jamaica for rest and relaxation, but that does not mean that they want to be locked away in a hotel room undisturbed.

Borrowing from the popular term, 'We are more than a beach, we are country', he said whatever can be done to expose the visitors to get out and have a good time should be encouraged.

Fabulous story

To ensure this prospect becomes a reality, he has charged the tourism minister to find international investors to invest in attractions, when he goes fishing for hotel investors.

"The story of Jamaican tourism has not yet been fully written, there are new chapters to be written, and it has been reading well so far, let us continue to build this fabulous story that we call Jamaica."

In the meantime, he feels the convention centre is the new dimension, reminding the country that despite being a highly developed and mature tourism market there was so much more scope for growth and expansion.
    "This project is significant, not only in what it has accomplished, but in terms of the opportunities that it unveils," he acknowledged.

I like the non-complacent attitude but Bruce, why are you still around?

Okay, you are there, so mek wi gwaan deal wid yuh sorry RA@#!

Attractions is good but how about just fixing up the infrastructure of the towns and really doing something about crime? Tourists would love to experience Jamaica by just walking around and talking to people. But if dem haffi risk falling into sidewalk potholes, not to mention the regular ones...And how about fixing up around the Montego Bay cruise ship dock? It's a hell-hole right now!

let's not get too crazy about attractions when some simple things need to be addressed!

Munday mawnin' and you junk a-reddy! No end a ba-wudd!!

Still, you make some sober points.

Tourism wise, Jamaica can make lots more improvements.....

Yuh tink 18 years of bombing by your peeps can all be fixed in 3 years.. in a recession ??

Wheh di money to come from to fix di road ? Last I checked it was Taxes.. eiddah dem gwine tax yuh or di tourist coming fi di attractions...

Stop di yapping, unnuh had unnuh chance and unnuh royally effed up di place.. check back with us in 5 years time...

Thanks in advance..

"What brings visitors to Jamaica are not the fabulous hotels, nor the fabulous cuisine, it is the people," he argued, adding that there is something about Jamaican people that endears others, "So much of it comes out of our culture, there is a mystique about us," he said passionately.
          At the risk of offending the many all-inclusive chains across the length and breadth of the country, Golding said, tourists come to Jamaica for rest and relaxation, but that does not mean that they want to be locked away in a hotel room undisturbed."

These are good words and challenges for the minister. This convention center if advertised properly put us on a different dimension than many of our neighbours. Let us see what happen.

We need to clean up our town. Some of the stuff shouldn't have to be done by central government but parish council and concerned citizen. Question, should all major town have a major instead of a major for the parish?

ah wha dis yuh advocate....a military solution?

eeehhh eeehhh should be mayor but a major will do too.

ar one major mayor

dem need bout 10 more Mckenzie...

Well Jawge has been saying the same...right here for years and years!

Yapping time dun.. action time now.. yuh nuh hear seh PNP out of powah ?

Dem juss lucky seh di likkle recession slow down tings (oh and di Dudus mattah and Tivaarli fi reconstruct.. and di series of bi-elections)

No worries.. wi know how fi deal wid Nightmare.. ebryting gwine cook and curry fi 50th Anniversary Celebration.. Election gwine sweet..

That is half of Jawge story. His story is to abolish the AI. Can we all get along? AI serve its purpose. If you have young kids nothing nuh better. If you have young couple or dating and just want to spend sometime with each other.

Can we diversify?

yeah 20 more mansion from outa thin air... showa!

dem need bout 10 more Mckenzie...

You have to be flippin kidding. Not even you could be serious.

you have a problem wid how him transform KSAC ? or yuh prefer how it did ah run undah di slackah before him..

What happen ? Him fall outta favor.. mi memba when him could do no wrang..