Looking for some suggestions....

• Looking for some suggestions....

Whats the best way in JA to try to locate a long lost relative ?

I have an American-born friend who has a Jamaican father that she never knew (the mothers decision, not the father ), and recently she has really been wanting to find out more about him. She has his name and some general info about where he lived but not a whole lot.

Any suggestions on how she could start the process of finding out about him? Of course this breddah could well be dead by now but even knowing that would give her some information.

Telephone book.

LOL, well I guess it worth a shot. I forgot that those still existed.

Not everybody is there. It's cellphone time now. Small ads in dailies or do a story with pic. Don't even want to suggest RGD.

Shout it out! ...an someone will holla back!

Them used to have a radio show years ago, on Sunday evening I think, when the host would read letters from people trying to find relatives they lost touch with. I wonder if there is anything like that these days. Jamaica people still love listen radio.

Anyway thanks for the suggestions. I'll mention them to her and see what she wants to do.

bwoy that is a hard one. I have a brethren looking for a lady who at one time lived in my hometown and I thought I would get a lead by now knowing so many people there but nothing.

I guess the best way is to publish it in the Star. That has been the most reliable way.

The Star? Really? Didn't realise that.

Thats useful information, thanks.

suggest rgd

"jamaica people"?!!

Publish it in Observer or Gleaner and seh she have a money fi him...

The following link for the phone book is a good place to start the search. Much like a lot of people in Jamaica, I got rid of my home phone years ago, and it was a waste of money to spend $50/month on a phone that I rarely use.

LOL! I suspect she woulda get a whole heap a Daddy fe choose from!

Post the link nuh.

Thanks

OK what is RGD