• Roast Breadfruit Syndrome: White Supremacy's Toxic Legacy

Light skin obsession: slavery's toxic legacy
    Diane Abbott

Sunday, January 09, 2011

An obsession with light skin is not just a feature of Jamaican society. It is an issue in much of the Indian subcontinent. Hence the outrage in India when Bollywood superstar Aishwarya Rai Bachan appeared on the front cover of the Indian edition of multinational fashion magazine Elle, apparently with her skin whitened.

The actress has been a major celebrity in India for years. She is a former Miss World, who went on to become a film star. So her fans are perfectly aware what shade of brown her skin is and were outraged that the magazine chose to "bleach" her.

The actress herself was furious and is apparently considering suing Elle for what has been deemed "racist airbrushing". A British newspaper, the Daily Mail, quoted one of her friends as saying "Aishwarya's first reaction was disbelief. She believed that these things don't happen anymore. Not in this day and age when women are recognised for their merit, and not for the colour of their skin."

Unfortunately for Elle, this is not the first time that it has been accused of whitening a well-known black woman's skin. In September of last year Black actress Gabourey Sidibe was featured on the front cover of the America edition of Elle, but with her skin several shades lighter. Fans were outraged. One posted online, "It's annoying because it seems like lighter skin is always in fashion, as if darker skin is something to be frowned upon".

Elle denied lightening the actress's skin. But she clearly looks lighter than in real life. Maybe these magazines are so used to retouching black models' skin to make them look lighter and more acceptable, that they just see it is part of the general retouching process and are blind to the cultural implications.
    And it is not just Elle magazine. A couple of years ago, a number of American glossy magazines carried advertisements for the cosmetics giant L'Oreal, which featured American singing star Beyoncé. But it was a Beyoncé no one had ever seen before. She was as beautiful as ever. There was the flowing blonde hair which she often sports. But she was several shades lighter than anyone had ever seen her.

There was a backlash in the US over the images. US newspaper The New York Post, under the headline 'Beyoncé The Pale', called the advert 'shocking' and accused the company of making the singer look like a 'weird, nearly white version of herself'. Celebrity website TMZ, calling the shot 'severely Photoshopped', added: "L'Oreal has some serious explaining to do about its bleached-out Beyoncé ad!'
    But, for every conscious black or Asian complaining about skin whitening in magazines, there seem to be many more who secretly admire lighter skin. Or at least they think that their men folk do. How else to explain the fact that the skin bleaching cream industry is a multi-million pound business in India, Africa and the Caribbean?
    This is despite the fact that there is really no safe way to lighten your skin. And results can be bizarre. It is not uncommon on the streets in the district of East London, that I represent, to see African ladies who have painstakingly bleached the skin on their faces; however their hands are the original dusky colour.

Lakshmi Menon is a fabulously beautiful chocolate-skinned Indian supermodel who has worked with all fashion's big names and was recently chosen for a 12-page editorial spread in US Vogue. But she only became really successful when she left India. She believes that this was because she was seen as too dark. "Back home very few people wanted to hire me. It became clear to me that my skin colour was not in demand. I didn't have much of a career apart from the odd editorial or campaign. The fact is that fairer-skinned models have found more success in India," she says.

It is a good thing to campaign against Western magazines and companies lightening photographs of black celebrities. But black and brown people ourselves have to admit how much discrimination around skin shade there still is in our communities. Too many of us think like the old song: "If you are white you are alright, if you are brown stick around, but if you are black get back". And until we shake off this toxic legacy of slavery and colonialism, we will never be free.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...#ixzz1AYMrwEss

It's not just in India, I think this light skin obsession is in the Sub Continent in general. Light-skinned women are more preferred in cultures where the majority of people are not white to begin with. You can add Latin Americans (like Dominican Republicans) to that list as well.
    Emami Fair and Handsome

welcome

It is also common in Hong Kong as well where lighter skin is preferred.

mexicans love a blonde yuh si .....

Ongly labourer have tan... all nose and eyelid dem ah try 'fix'...

Where wi waan reach is where nuffa Black Man can afford fi undergo Michael Jackson treatments.. den wi know wi reach..

Ongly labourer have tan... all nose and eyelid dem ah try 'fix'...

Where wi waan reach is where nuffa Black Man can afford fi undergo Michael Jackson treatments.. den wi know wi reach..
              spoken like a RockStone Labourite

I gather the enrichment of all including Blackman is a labourite philosophy..

"It takes cash to care"

I support dat..

and wi nah talk bout wealth distribution ongly (fail).. wealth creation mi innah..

"We too rich to be so poor"

Drivah.. don't stap atall..

I Have a Dream..err.. Team!...Brown Man Time.... Forward!!! lol