China flexes thier growing military muscle

time does not stand still, the arms race is for time eternal
    if they are expanding "made in china" line they must intend to sell it somebody,
    How Superpower drop een, where did I say anything to that effect

You should be able to tell at times what's going to happen (based on civilization, society and its laws). This is why it's against the law to shout fire in a crowded theatre, crowd control measures are put in place at sports satdium, drinking and driving is discouraged and is against the law go eighty miles an hour without seatbelt and meeting a collision and the list goes on.
      Point is certain outcomes are inevitible based on certain actions. Pigeon holing one's self to just what's known is insufficient to have a reasonablle discussion here.

This is why it's against the law to shout fire in a crowded theatre, crowd control measures are put in place at sports satdium, drinking and driving is discouraged and is against the law go eighty miles an hour without seatbelt and meeting a collision and the list goes on.

you can't seriously equate this with our discussion,there are so many unknown variables

You should be able to tell at times what's going to happen (based on civilization, society and its laws).
        it's still just opinion not a fact,

What are the variables? China is expanding its military (researching and flying stealth jets off their eastern seaboard which is close to US interests). The US is military power with global reach (US troops are stationed in South K and Japan). What are you waiting for the chinese to test their stealth by flying into SKO's airspace and some damage or proxy NKO and provoke a fire fight? You can't see China competing with the US (who covers security for western Europe). Do you think the US will sit back and play a wait and see game or just hope it will just go away and work itself out?

and after all that, all you are really saying is this
            My point is that once their military ambition begins to take on a global flavour then certain things will begin.

seems as if we really don't know whats going to happen, we are on a need to know basis, so trying to map the next 20 to 50 yrs is out of our realm, my bad, out of my realms, they are doing there thing an U.S.will do there thing, a collision course is inevitable, anything other than that is an elaborate guess.

"they are doing there thing an U.S.will do there thing, a collision course is inevitable, "

Apply the above statement to the tehn Soviet union and my point will become clear boss. Hope yuh nuh feel nuh way still

yes swami, cause you did know the outcome.

I think red China was supposed to collapse as well

didn't say I did. What I'm focusing on is the competition across the globe that will arise and our small nation being caught in the middle.

Why casinos thrive is because many enter thinking they are winners (granted it's set up to make profit), go figure.

competition across the globe is enevitable, i think the people that are going to be in the middle are the people wid natural resources we are not that important, as long as we keep it simple.

"i think the people that are going to be in the middle are the people wid natural resources "

Ponder the above. Thanks.

classic example of the normalcy bias...

if sumtin nuh happen within the limited experience of the observer...their default (comfortable) position is that it CANNOT happen... and they revert to the familiar (comfortable) narrative of the present circumstances

This is a recipe for disaster... which is why for example for all the Hundreds of Billions spent... the CIA was unable to predict the fall of the Soviet Union, the 9/11 disaster etc...or the Fed was unable to forecast the Financial Meltdown of 2008

The normalcy bias is a Bitch in an Age of Rapid Change...
                          Last edited by Don1; January 13, 2011, 11:05 PM.

mi nuh si whey casino haffi duh wid dis

not enough boss, not enough, dis outta our league

Is a very difficult thing to overcome , even for those of us who are aware of its existence.

Don't know if you heard of Nassim Taleb and his so-called Black Swan theory, for centuries in Europe a black swan had never been seen and so by definition it did not exist....until it did.

Probably something in our evolutionary past that has selected us to think like that.