Falmouth Pier strike
is dat mi hear, but mi believe it. Why else would they be spending 5 minutes at an ATM fi draw dem lilly pittance!
Den again, maybe even reading each instruction a give dem a hard time. Cause if yuh tek too long fi read it, it gwine tell yuh tanks and aks yuh fi insert yuh cyard again!
Not fi dem fault still! I blame government!
that is true Mo but we have to strike a balance. Especially our unions need to be fair and encourage fairness. Even if we have to set up committees or independent Human Resource specialist to work on these big project. WE can continue to strike every time a man get fired justly or injustly, everytime we have a pay dispute. This will get us nowhere, We have to be aware of timelines and cost as you know.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Sass, what concerns me is the way we treat labourers. I hear their complaints and on many occasions, it is just one whip away from slavery! We need to learn how to show respect to everyone! Many of these labourers are not as bad as they want us to believe. All they ask for is RESPECT, really, nothing else!
Yes, many of them are ignorant gunmen and should be in prison serving life terms, but is not all a dem.
Well we can't just depend on the bigmen to be fair. I support unions but I hate the Jamaican ones because in my opinion the only thing they organize is strike. Check how German Unions operate. They need to first realise overal goal. We all in this thing as one because we need the investment and less foriegn workers so our productivity is important and as you said earlier we need our people to be respected.
The fact is government is doing a poor job and the unions who collect people dues are just a reflection of the government(sad). Maybe you want talk to Dr. Gomes(z) to expand.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
I thought you were having a decent conversation. How under the other government the same amount of strike happen?
How is it the same brown man who you talk bout no strike is on their property? Explain that. What them respect black people?- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
My problem is based on the fact that if I get a few friends. Draft up a plan and budget with a local partner it will not encourage me the kind of stopages I see. You could be easily be mistaken for the big man too especially if you doing a project in not such a big area.
No doubt the ministers are mostly arrogant but based on us, if he is not he maybe deemed as not performing.
It is simple for me, especially on these big contract sites you need people working on the site to negociate these issues between management and workers where complains go directly to them it is dealt with(and I not just saying yes men). Striking 3-6 time on a construction site that last 6 months is VERY costly and you know that.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Get real...the main problem in Jamaica is stupid, corrupt politicians & myopic, selfish businesspeople...that's the basis of the "cultural problem" as you call it.
With leadership of that nature and a gamed shytstem...it's impossible for the man in the street (and the politically connected unions indistinguishable from the JLPNP tribes) to be much different than they are nowLast edited by Don1; January 4, 2011, 05:28 PM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Still a lot an threat of strike. From Teacher, to police, NWC, JPS to private company and these construction sites.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Mosiah View Postit's not about a particular govt. sorry if the reference made you squeal. the fact is our govt ministers are no different from those who control contruction sites. they are all arrogant SOBs who talk down to everybody and tink dem excrement can mek patty.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
LOL! Well that would explain why me did haffe wait bout 30 minutes fe use the ATM in Mobay and just 5 people inna the line! Me couldn't quite figure it out."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass