very easy 4 u to say as your interest is purely academic & focused only on the "positive"
Falmouth Pier strike
After Hurricane Gilbert me was waiting fe go back a school and decide fe tek a little extra work cleaning up and repairing the place at a small hotel. The hotel was closed so the owner decide fe use the same workers (bartenders, waiters, etc) where possible for the cleanup, so dem can earn a likkle smalls till the hotel open back.
When payday come and them never understand the difference in dem paycheck, is pure bl**dc**t dem start tell the likkle woman who work inna the office. Dem nah come back a dis Bl**d********** work, dem prefer stay home.
Till the big boss come and tell dem say the pay right, but if dem want fe wait till the hotel open back fe work dem can go home. Everybody lap dem tail and go back to work.
Truth be told you only need one or two loudmouths to start trouble , the rest of them are followers."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
The problem is we don't see how disruptive this behavior is to investment which means more work in the long run. Then if you fire the loudmoth is another strike again.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Islandman View PostAfter Hurricane Gilbert me was waiting fe go back a school and decide fe tek a little extra work cleaning up and repairing the place at a small hotel. The hotel was closed so the owner decide fe use the same workers (bartenders, waiters, etc) where possible for the cleanup, so dem can earn a likkle smalls till the hotel open back.
When payday come and them never understand the difference in dem paycheck, is pure bl**dc**t dem start tell the likkle woman who work inna the office. Dem nah come back a dis Bl**d********** work, dem prefer stay home.
Till the big boss come and tell dem say the pay right, but if dem want fe wait till the hotel open back fe work dem can go home. Everybody lap dem tail and go back to work.
Truth be told you only need one or two loudmouths to start trouble , the rest of them are followers.“Life is a system of half-truths and lies, opportunistic, convenient evasion.”
News
Cruiser's first call on Falmouth Port now Feb 17
BY HORACE HINES Observer staff reporter hinesh@jamaicaobserver.com
Tuesday, January 04, 2011
ROYAL Caribbean Cruise Line's (RCCL's) Navigator of the Seas has been rescheduled to arrive at the Historic Falmouth Port next month, the Observer has learnt.
The new date was decided to ensure that both the port and the town were ready to offer the ship's approximately 4,000 passengers and 1,200 crew a positive experience, a source close to the development said last night.
Disgruntled workers at the $7.5-billion Falmouth Port yesterday. The workers went on strike because tax was deducted from their bonus payment.
#slideshowtoggler, #slideshowtoggler a, #slideshowtoggler img { filter: none ! important; } News of the rescheduled inaugural call came on the same day that work on the $7.5-billion port was brought to a screeching halt by more then 450 workers who went on strike in protest over the deduction of taxes from their end-of-year bonus payments.
Claiming that they have been short-changed by the contractors, the angry workers vowed that they would not return to work until they have been reimbursed.
"We will continue to demonstrate for the whole week if we don't get our money, and the whole year of it takes the whole year," one protester shouted.
But Jes Olsen, project manager for the contractors, Danish firm Pihl, said that the workers did not have a full understanding of how the taxes were calculated.
"It is very difficult to explain to the guys because they have a tendency of not wanting to listen and understand," Olsen said in a phone interview with the Observer yesterday afternoon. "They don't understand that they have to pay tax on all income and that the salary sheet reflects that."
He further explained that the workers received bonus payments in two traunches; the first payment was considered as an advance, while the second payment reflected income tax and all other statutory deductions, which infuriated the workers.
"We paid out Christmas bonus in-between two salary payments which shows that tax deduction was done in the project bonus and then they are taxed 100 per cent on the last payment... and that confused them totally," Olsen explained.
Yesterday, Councillor Garth Wilkinson (PNP, Falmouth Division), who is also an accountant, met with representatives from the Ministry of Labour, Inland Revenue Department and the management of Pihl.
Wilkinson claimed that it was proposed that if the workers resumed working today they would be paid in full for yesterday.
Secondly, it was proposed that Pihl provide an advance payment of $10,000 to the workers to assist with back-to-school expenses and that the contractors would deduct either $1,000 from the workers' salaries on a fortnightly basis or the full amount from the end of project payment.
Navigator of the Seas was scheduled to make its first call on the port this week. However, yesterday Olsen said that there were still "a few things" left to be done "to get 100 per cent ready for the ship".
Tourism authorities are looking forward to the arrival of the ship, which is expected to provide a significant boost to the local economy.
The world's largest cruise ship, RCCL's Oasis of the Seas, is scheduled to make its inaugural call on the Falmouth Port on March 22.
The highlighted part is what wrong with jamaica. One should not be rewarded for foolishness.
Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz1A5dxMuq0
I remember when I worked in a bank, I went to a construction site to open up checking accounts and issue atm cards to the workers. Back then, we had what was called a Junior ATM machine, which was portable and could activate the cards on spot. It also simulated the atm so you could explain and have the customer practise how to use an atm. Man, if I was speaking chinese, they would have understood me more. A greater portion of the annual budget needs to go into education.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Originally posted by Assasin View Postyeah mi see exactly what you support.
Cheers for balance & perspective
Down with witless presumption!!TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
that may be true... which is why we need education more than election related road projects & all-exclusive portsTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
the bright one dem a siddum same way.
this is more of a cultural thing, we strike because we can get away with it. One of the main problem is our non productive, partisian unions who have no idea what productivity means.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.