• EDITORIAL - Crooks, corruption and conflict of interest

EDITORIAL - Crooks, corruption and conflict of interest
    published: Wednesday | January 17, 2007

Lester Crooks, the chairman of the Hanover Parish Council, has done the right thing. Eventually! He has resigned from the leadership of the local government authority and is now contemplating his future in the council as a divisional representative.

It is a pity that he didn't do the decent thing from the start - a failure that will only deepen the perception of public corruption in Jamaica, that was so graphically captured in our public opinion survey published on Sunday.

First, to be absolutely clear, this newspaper has no evidence that Mr. Crooks is, was or has ever been involved in any corrupt practice. Neither do we know that he has in any way broken any of the operating rules of the Hanover Parish Council.

But, as Mr. Crooks would be aware, and why he was prevailed upon by his party to resign, there is great truth in the statement that perception is often as good as reality. And what Mr. Crooks did certainly does not look good. He faced a clear conflict of interest, which he failed to reveal either to his council, his constituents or the central government.

For as we understand it, apart from his job as chairman of the Hanover Parish Council, Mr. Crooks operates a private trucking company, which has haulage contracts, directly or otherwise, with the Spanish Fiesta group for the hotel it is building in Lucea, the capital of Hanover.

Several months ago, Mr. Crooks was at the forefront of agitation for Fiesta to be granted its environmental permits for the hotel projects to go ahead. We assumed that he was only eager for development in his parish. Most people would have arrived at the same conclusion when this mayor of a poor Jamaican parish spearheaded efforts to give a rich foreign transnational company a 20 per cent discount (nearly J$11 million) on its construction permit fees. And perhaps that was his motivation.

Unfortunately, Mr. Crooks, who had conducted business with Fiesta on the public's behalf, only revealed his private and beneficial relationship with the company a week ago at a council meeting when it was already threatening to become an open affair and cause for discomfort.

This matter must be an embarrassment for Mr. Crooks' party, the Opposition Jamaica Labour Party, which, at the national level, has consistently attacked central government on the matter of corruption. There are subtle echoes of the Trafigura affair, where the Opposition revealed that a Dutch trading company, Trafigura Beheer, made secret donations to the ruling People's National Party, channelled to an account that was operated by the PNP's former General Secretary Colin Campbell.

As with Trafigura Beheer, there seems to us questions for Fiesta to answer, such as whether it was totally oblivious to the potential for conflicts of interest posed by its relationship with Mr. Crooks' company and if it operated within the Spanish and European Union (EU) laws for EU companies doing business abroad.

But this matter affects not only Fiesta, Mr. Crooks and the JLP. It is a stark reminder that Jamaicans believe that their public institutions are corrupt and the need for strong and moral leadership to effect a change. It is the kind of leadership promised by Prime Minister Simpson Miller, but whose delivery we still await.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    The opinions on this page, except for the above, do not necessarily reflect the views of The Gleaner. To respond to a Gleaner editorial, email us: editor@gleanerjm.com or fax: 922-6223. Responses should be no longer than 400 words. Not all responses will be published.

RE: EDITORIAL - Crooks, corruption and conflict of interest

...and, there is my assertion that it is wi (the ordinary man & woman)bredda, sistahs, uncles, aunties, frens & acquaintances...yes, wi puppa& mumma dem dat a duh di tiefin an adda corrupt practises!

Suh di solution to di pro-blema corruption lies wid haul a wi!

...an same ting wid crime as wi (some within th ordinary man & woman)kno a who duh di wrang ebry time wrang duh! hung-gle wi cyaan change tings!

...a who a di gova-ment? nuh wi?!

...a who wuk innah gova-ment services? nuh wi?!

...a who innah private capacity a tun bline yeyewen wi si wrang? nuh wi?!

den a who fi change tings? ...a mus wi!!!

No Karl .... you use that as an excuse for the comrades ... "Everybody dweet!" What yuh must look at is how it was handled by Bruce. It is clear he was told to resign as Mayor and councillor.

Crooks is completely wrong to be doing (personal) business with Fiesta when as a representative of the people of Hanover, he was doing business with Fiesta on behalf of the people.

Karl the big difference with the Dutch company is the money was donated directly to the party by backdoor means. The Pary at first defended the corrupted practices and only under pressure they took action.

Both is corruption and I hope this set an example, we also need more not less informers so we can root out the corrupted individual and I sincerly hope the JLP and the PNP both take action and stop defending the massive corruption and over runs.

Karl (1/17/2007)...and, there is my assertion that it is wi (the ordinary man & woman)bredda, sistahs, uncles, aunties, frens & acquaintances...yes, wi puppa& mumma dem dat a duh di tiefin an adda corrupt practises!

...an same ting wid crime as wi (some within th ordinary man & woman)kno a who duh di wrang ebry time wrang duh! hung-gle wi cyaan change tings!

BULLS H I T Karl! I am not involved in any corrupt practices ... if you are .. speak fi yuhself.

When people told Portia not to use the NIF money what was her reponse?

When you go to Rome, you do as the Romans do. Head a the stream dirty Karl, stop complain bout what yuh see at the foot.

I live among the creatures of the night. Who at one point was shouting for term limits and separation of powers, but as soon as Ben pointed out who was pushing for it changed dem tune? KArl!

Who after seeing a comparison of the economy data under both parties stated, "The figures may well be true, but no black dog fi monkey fi me!" Karl!

Suh stop the hypocritical argument bout change things. You same one at the picnic was advocating only spending money to improve services in order to win the election. Think me never hear yuh?

Still trying to decipher the Conflict of Interest.

He wants Fiesta to come to Hanover because it will mean increased business for his trucking company.. he also wants Fiesta to come to Hanover because it will mean increased business for Hanover..

Is that not a convergence of interest ?

Well, if you nuh see the conflict of interest then .... Them waving the fee, I can understand, as it is their call, but the fact that as Mayor, him doing business with Fiesta should have been a no .. no.

If there wasn't enough trucks to do the work, he should have at least made it clear to his fellow councillors, the Minister etc before taking on the job. Crooks wrong yahso BJ.

I am not arguing him being 'wrong' or 'right' simply trying to understand the 'Conflict of Interest' argument being brought forward.

As for declaring a potential contract with Fiesta.. you know about bad mind.. sometimes is better if people vote dem conscience and not play politics.. I would not put it past politricks to delay the Fiesta investment if it were known 'certain elements' would benefit.

The strange delay in the NEPA approval (which almost resulted in the group pulling out) has not been explained.

Yuh tink is coincidence.. ?

he can't represent the people and the Fiesta company at the same time.

All he had to do was to take himself off any commission or committee that have to do with the Fiesta Hotel. If he has personal interest in a company's outcome he shouldn't vote on it.

He may have made good decision for the people but how can we be sure?

Lazie (1/17/2007)
                    Karl (1/17/2007)...and, there is my assertion that it is wi (the ordinary man & woman)bredda, sistahs, uncles, aunties, frens & acquaintances...yes, wi puppa& mumma dem dat a duh di tiefin an adda corrupt practises!

BULLS H I T Karl! I am not involved in any corrupt practices ... if you are .. speak fi yuhself.

When people told Portia not to use the NIF money what was her reponse?

When you go to Rome, you do as the Romans do. Head a the stream dirty Karl, stop complain bout what yuh see at the foot.

I live among the creatures of the night. Who at one point was shouting for term limits and separation of powers, but as soon as Ben pointed out who was pushing for it changed dem tune? KArl!

Who after seeing a comparison of the economy data under both parties stated, "The figures may well be true, but no black dog fi monkey fi me!" Karl!

Suh stop the hypocritical argument bout change things. You same one at the picnic was advocating only spending money to improve services in order to win the election. Think me never hear yuh?
                    Firstly - You same one at the picnic was advocating only spending money to improve services in order to win the election. Think me never hear yuh?

I never said any such thing...never advocated any such thing! You can put the name to that/your assertion!

...as to whether or not you have ever been involved in corrupt practises...you know the truth on that. ...but, my point was, and you damn well know it, that corruption permeates the *Jamaican society...and, that includes both PNP & JLP.

I wonder if you are going to exclude the creation of theTivoli garrison by the JLP? ...and, other corrupt practices, including the Samuels' statement which apes KD Knight's...aboutsomething to the order of "it may be wrong, but not illegal"?

JLP national politicians havegone to jail for corruption! In that light are you going to claim corruption is not rampant throughout PNP adherents and JLP adherents?

Jamaica is a very, very small country.Many are the 'relations'/associations among its people...many in the society know of corrupt practises. ...be it lending at the banks and building societies and other financial institutions, businesses-civil servants/government relations, so-called soft crimes such as 'purchasing of Drivers Licenses', or getting kids into schools where other more deserving is overlooked, bumping potential passengers from airlines to install favoured persons, using position of influence to garner contracts or favoured positions for relatives or friends & acquaintances, being allowed to walk through customs without paying due duties...or whatever? ...or, turning a blind eye when others 'bend the rules', flout regulations or commit'hard crimes'...persons of PNP persuasion and persons of JLP persuasion are involved.

Those persons are our friends, relatives, acquaintances...or friends, relatives acquaintances of our friends or relatives or acquaintances. Jamaica is very small!

I have no doubt a person or persons with some type of link to each and everyone of us 'touches' that corruption...I will hold it fast that anyone of us who denies that is lying to self and the rest of us.

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>Massive social interventions will help to stem crime</SPAN>
                      <SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>Dennis Morrison
                      Wednesday, January 17, 2007
                      </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
                      <P class=StoryText align=justify>Those of us who have followed the news item on the 15-year-old boy who had been held captive for over four years in Kirkwood, Missouri, USA, must find it amazing that the abductor could have pulled off such a crime that remained undetected for so long.<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=70 align=left border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>Dennis Morrison </SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>Somehow, in a fairly small, open community, his neighbours were unsuspecting, as were his co-workers. Emboldened by the long period when his crime went undetected, he kidnapped another youngster recently, and it was in response to this case that the police eventually nabbed him.<P class=StoryText align=justify>While obviously joyful about the return of his son, the first boy's stepfather was moved to comment on the loss of community spirit in present-day America, and the lack of concern for the welfare of others. He was sure that this could not have happened were there a strong sense of community which used to be such an important feature of small-town life in America.<P class=StoryText align=justify>This is a view that is shared by many people in Jamaica w ho can still recall the civility of rural life in days gone by, and even in what are now considered inner-city communities like Jones Town, Rollington Town, Allman Town, and so on. As in America, criminals can commit the most dastardly acts with a high degree of confidence that either they will not be observed or their cover will not be blown.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Deep in the Jamaican psyche is a hostility to "informers", which was always an impediment to effective policing, but is now even more deeply embedded. In the old days, slaves were naturally suspicious of those among them who would "carry" news to the master and inform on others in their ranks. Remnants of this culture were carried forward to colonial times, and were manifested in ambivalence towards the security forces, even after Independence. Suspicion of and hostility towards the police grew. Providing information to the police was seen as an act of betrayal, and those guilty regarded as outcasts.<P class=StoryText align=justify>These days, informers are punished by sudden death in communities overtaken by extortionists and drug dons. Dons rule by the gun and have as their publicists popular artistes who inveigh against informers. In the nihilistic lyrics of these artistes, the security forces and people who cooperate with them are portrayed as the enemy and are to be wiped out. Isn't it frightening, the extent to which dancehall music extols the virtues of criminality, and derides law-abiding behaviour? Should we be really surprised that life has no value for people fed on such a diet?<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=130 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>SIMPSON MILLER... Encouragement is to be taken from success stories pointed out by her at last Saturday's awards function for volunteers in several innercity community initiatives. </SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>It is generally agreed that a major contributory factor to the high crime rate in Jamaica is the low risk of criminals being caught and punished. They can commit the most brutal acts, confide

You will post it again. Nuh worry!
                        corruption permeates the Jamiacan society.
                        Suh mek mi get something straight ,... yuh saying Jamaica is a corrupt society? Or yuh gonna try and spin out of this one?

Yes JAG Smith went to prison, where his sorry ass belonged ... don't think that none of those in power now nuh belong on CB 4 tuh. Funny how unuh quick fi mention the Tivoli garrison when unuh back against the wall. Remember, the PNP have 13 garrisons. How yuh nuh say nothing bout that?

Everybody can admit that corruption exist, but unuh really want it to be addressed? Think not.

Again, I HAVE NEVER DONE ANYTHING CORRUPT. Don't try pull me inna unuh category.

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>$3-m electricity shocker!</SPAN>
                          <SPAN class=Subheadline>Accused financial institution threatens JPS with lawsuit</SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>KERRY MCCATTY , Observer staff reporter
                          Thursday, January 18, 2007
                          <P class=StoryText align=justify>A large but unnamed financial institution yesterday threatened to sue the Jamaica Public Service Company (JPS) for going public with news that the entity had been allegedly caught stealing $3 million worth of electricity.<P class=StoryText align=justify>JPS had earlier announced the shocking discovery at the Kingston branch of the financial institution but left its name out of the company's official press release, apparently to save the entity from embarrassment.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"JPS has declined to reveal the name of the financial institution, because of the possible implications for that institution," said Winsome Callum, head of corporate communications at JPS.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Callum refused to state what were the "possible implications" when queried by the Observer, but disclosed that the financial institution had threatened to sue the JPS for publicising its accusation of meter-tampering.<P class=StoryText align=justify>In a release, the JPS said its investigators who visited the "prominent institution" had found a meter that had been "rigged to under-register electricity consumption".<P class=StoryText align=justify>In early January, the JPS Revenue Protection Department carried out an audit of the company's account that revealed that "the meter seal had been removed and the meter disc jammed to slow registration". JPS estimated the "stolen electricity" at $3 million over two years.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"On identifying the evidence of meter-tampering, the JPS presented its findings to the manager of the branch of the financial institution, and arrangements were made by that institution to have the full amount outstanding paid today [yesterday]," Callum told the Observer via e-mail.<P class=StoryText align=justify>She indicated the company would pursue legal action to recover the amounts owed, if the matter was not settled to its satisfaction.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"The financial institution is one of several businesses being investigated by the JPS as part of its ongoing efforts to reduce electricity," the JPS said.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The $3-million discovery is the second biggest theft of electricity, after the $7-million theft by another company last year. Callum also disclosed that 698 businesses were fingered by the JPS last year for electricity irregularities.<P class=StoryText align=justify>But when the Observer suggested that JPS was protecting big clients by not disclosing their names, Callum said the company never names any of its clients accused of stealing electricity, unless the matter was taken to court where it then became a public matter.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The JPS apparently decided to release the discovery of the theft, even if not the names, as a veiled threat to commercial entities which continue to steal electricity, despite a big drive by the light and power company to clamp down last year.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Callum added that electricity theft was common among the company's commercial customers which frequently utilised sophisticated methods like meter-bypass or meter-rigging.<P class=StoryText align=justify>JPS reported yesterday that its drive to reduce electricity theft had yielded 138 arrests; 1,300 account audits and resulted in the removal of 7,000 illegal wire throw-ups in 2006. The company also collected US$1.5 million in retroactive and forward billing.<P class=StoryText align=justify>-----------<P class=StoryText align=justify>Further proof corruption is rife!<P class=StoryText align=justify>This is corruption by private sector entities! The persons who

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>Corruption and 'jinnalship'</SPAN>
                            <SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>Michael Burke
                            Thursday, January 18, 2007
                            <TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=100 align=left border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>Michael Burke</SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>As you might know, many high schools now have a policeman assigned to them. One policeman so assigned and I were in conversation recently. He told me that after school one day, he was in a social discussion with some of the teachers, perhaps in the staffroom after the last class. The teachers were complaining about the corruption in the force and spoke of what policemen had done to them individually or to members of their families.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The policeman responded by saying that corruption is everywhere. And while he agreed that the existence of corruption everywhere does not excuse corruption in the police force, he pointed to corruption in the teaching profession. He spoke of teachers who are deliberately absent from classes so that when students fall behind they can charge them for extra lessons. "What's wrong with that?" the teachers loudly asked.<P class=StoryText align=justify>We love to point fingers in some direction other than at ourselves. Everything is wrong with teachers who deliberately make students fall behind so that they can charge them for extra lessons. I have written several times in the past that if teachers need extra money - and they do - there are other ways of going about it.<P class=StoryText align=justify>For example, every school could become a day-care centre in July when schools are closed for the summer. All kinds of outings can be planned, and the fees can be shared up among teachers. But some teachers find it much easier to be lazy during class time so that they can charge the parents of students for extra lessons.<P class=StoryText align=justify>And I would like to tell everyone to be careful of the friends you keep. But when you do wrong things you cannot be too careful. At garages, gas stations, barbershops supermarkets and wherever else people meet, they talk of going into friends' homes and seeing towels in their bathrooms with the imprint of hotels for all to see. And their friends "come a road and talk it" because I have heard it.<P class=StoryText align=justify>But my point of course is the corruption. And some will ask "So what?" if they take a few towels, sheets and even lanterns and tables from hotel rooms. As to the things that people take home from offices, I will not go there. But one thing is clear. It is stealing. Unfortunately, it is so endemic that it is not likely to stop in the near future.<P class=StoryText align=justify>But the hypocrisy of it all is the way some people speak as if they are squeaky clean. It reminds me of the "worldlians" who commit every type of sin, but are ready to quote the Bible to condemn homosexuality. The Bible equally condemns many other serious sins. But worse, as I have written before, the sin of homosexuality is in just about every church, but sections of the international media have picked the Roman Catholic Church to focus on.

I have argued time and again that it is sections of the Protestant Church in Europe and the United States of America that allow homosexual activity within their churches. At least in the Roman Catholic Church, whenever it has been found, it was always something hidden because the Roman Catholic Church has always forbidden homosexual acts (Number 2357 of the Catechism of the Catholic Church) although it makes a distinction between homosexual practice and orientation (Number 2358).<P class=StoryText align=justify>As wrong as it was for the pr