• RIU in Westmoreland Robbed?????

JHTA outraged at RIU robbery and shooting

JHTA President, Wayne Cummings.

The Jamaica Hotel and Tourist Association (JHTA) has expressed outrage at the attack on the Tropical Club Riu Hotel in Westmoreland.
    The hotel was on Tuesday night the scene of a robbery and shooting.
    JHTA President, Wayne Cummings, says the incident is extremely disturbing.
    He told our news centre the Association is in discussions with the police and has asked for a thorough probe into the attack.
    “The first thing is that the JHTA is very, very sorry that one of our team members has been injured. I think it is a very shocking matter that we still have to be grappling with crime of this nature in the country,”
    “In my discussions with the security forces, we have encouraged them to do all that they can, I know that they will to bring these criminals to book and we will do all they can to facilitate them. We cannot continue to be held to ransom by criminal elements,” Mr. Cummings said.
    It is reported that armed men entered the property just after 10 o'clock, and held up the front office staff.
    During the robbery, an employee was shot.

So people up in arms when the sacred cow get stung. No one up in arms over the 1,600 people killed every year.

Wheh yuh mean ?.. everyday people a cuss bout di murder rate..

Where have you been ?

Extremely poor security if you ask me.

I was at the RIU in Ocho Rios this past August. If the business area is set up-- and as busy as the Ochi branch...then an inside person could be involved.

Furthermore, there are security cameras all around. I am sure they will get the scumbags!!

Security Cameras eh.. let me not destroy any illusions you might have..

...den 'elp mi out nuh........

at least one person with good ties are normally involved. The police going to put every effort they have in this as they don't want it to happen again. Remember a few years ago they robbed a tourist bus, I think in St.Mary and the effort that was put in that to find them.

ignorance is bliss..