• McKenzie tried to prevent Coke extradition

WIKILEAKS: McKenzie tried to prevent Coke extradition

2010-12-22 09:54:08 | (0 Comments)

The British-based Guardian newspaper has released damning cable to the US Government obtained though Wikileaks which claims that the Mayor of Kingston Desmond McKenzie had requested to meet with American officials to lobby against the extradition of alleged crime lord, Christopher ‘Dudus’ Coke.

The leaked cable said McKenzie started the meeting by pointedly stating that the Government of Jamaica faced a serious crisis because of Washington's request for the extradition of Christopher Coke to [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]stand[/COLOR][/COLOR] trial on narcotics and firearms charges in the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of New York.

According to the cable, McKenzie warned about "severe repercussions" and "collateral damage" if Coke were to be extradited.

The Mayor also reported that in recent years his administration had worked with Coke to reduce crime in the inner cities of Jamaica, particularly in West Kingston adding that if he were to be extradited, it would "leave a vacuum," and matters would be much worse. McKenzie noted that in recent days several of his "contacts in the communities" had told him they "would not take this (Coke's extradition) lying down."

The [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]cable[/COLOR][/COLOR] also indicate that McKenzie then asked Embassy Officials if there were any room for further discussions with U.S. officials. But they replied by reiterating that the U.S. expected Jamaica to honor its obligations under the Extradition Treaty, and considered this a case of great importance; however, the Embassy would convey the Mayor's assessment and inquiry to Washington.

McKenzie concluded by observing that his [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]views[/COLOR][/COLOR] were not only an assessment, but accurately portrayed the "grim picture” that the country faced.

Coke was eventually extradited on June 24 last year, exactly one month after an incursion into west Kingston to enforce and arrest warrant on him.

The warrant was signed almost a year after the request was made, and several efforts by the Government to prevent his extradition, purportedly on the ground that his request was made on the basis of illegally obtained evidence.

Wow this is a shocker. I am shocked, shocked and dismayed to think that any gov't official would try to subvert the extradition of Mr. Coke. Wikileaks must be mistaken this can't be true. As many on this board have pointed out the gov't was just being clumsy. To think that a gov't would try to subvert an extradition request. No sir that cant be true. Not this gov't.

yeah we are real shocked at the revelations... sumting mussi wrang... mi cyaan believe it

Mek mi cue up di Hard Talk ting one more time..LOL!

Crime Syndicate... doan tap atall! Dis yah Pantomime sweeta dan Maas Ran & Miss Lou... well, almost

When in doubt, when you feel like wavering, when you're wondering if this time you should walk. Just watch HARD TALK.
        Everything gonna be alright (Sorry Bob, sorry)

That is not what the cables said...they said he had a meeting to discuss the problems that would arise from extraditing Coke...and the cable's author agreed that his concerns were not unfounded...unnuh nuh easy at all....ahahahaahahahahaha

LOL!

yuh rite ...inna di final analysis..im didda try encourage Babylon fi get di criminal...nuh true? LoL!

You're letting your bias get the better of you. Read the first few sentences. The mayor requested a meeting to LOBBY against the extradition of Coke. Spin that.

Comrades cyaan help demselves..

Mi nah sorry fi dem when Drivah get annedah Term..

The cable states that he gave an assessment of the situation to the US authorities...it states nothing more...anything else is conjecture...

Bredrin I don't have a stake in this...reading the cables where do you get that "McKenzie tried to prevent Coke extradition"? The first few sentences were not in the cable...that is a reporter looking to sell papers with sensationalism...

I did not see any reference in the wikileak about the mayor requesting a meeting to lobby against the extradition of Coke.

I might have missed it though.. please guide me to the relevant text.

yep it's all hype...don't believe it

Crime Syndicate... Stand Firm fi di 2nd Term..LOL!

There is a difference in what was included in the cable and what you would like to have been in the cable...reality vs fantasy...