McKenzie tried to prevent Coke extradition

really... so a large money-making event is held in the precincts of the Kingdom of His Royal Lowness Dudus...and said King has no association?

..Mek mi process dat... gimmie ah minit

Make that claim via television or newspaper and your wallet will find out...

will do boss... just point out where

You have every right to form an opinion...the cables however do not state or infer that McKenzie was attempting to block Dudus extradition...
          It's interesting that both the Observer and the Gleaner interpret the cables in the same way... McKenzie tried to block the extradition of the criminal

Dis yah conspiracy vast... Gleena, Newsletta, Guardian, State Department

But your spirited defence of the Mayor, mirroring your previous passionate defence of "Chris" as a great patriot and benefactor, is very commendable

Papah haffi sell !

Speculation is just that...

paypah ah sell off!

but mi nuh really waan nuh man wink at mi...strait

mi figget yuh inna di banana ting.. yuh like di phallic symbol ting.. straight.. well nuh suh straight..

lol !!

Maudib it might not be a simple matter of Comrades or Labourites. It is a matter of survival of an entire nation. When the crime tail wags the government dog, watch out there are bad things to come. I am talking about Mexico, Cloumbia etc. I am sure you get the point.

Good ting wi have serious people in charge..

"I have a team that is committed to that change and I am the Drivah !"

Cannot argue with results.

Drivah, don't stap atall !

WIKILEAKS: McKenzie tried to prevent Coke extradition

2010-12-22 09:54:08 | (0 Comments)

The British-based Guardian newspaper has released damning cable to the US Government obtained though Wikileaks which claims that the Mayor of Kingston Desmond McKenzie had requested to meet with American officials to lobby against the extradition of alleged crime lord, Christopher ‘Dudus’ Coke.

The leaked cable said McKenzie started the meeting by pointedly stating that the Government of Jamaica faced a serious crisis because of Washington's request for the extradition of Christopher Coke to [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]stand[/color][/color] trial on narcotics and firearms charges in the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of New York.

According to the cable, McKenzie warned about "severe repercussions" and "collateral damage" if Coke were to be extradited.

The Mayor also reported that in recent years his administration had worked with Coke to reduce crime in the inner cities of Jamaica, particularly in West Kingston adding that if he were to be extradited, it would "leave a vacuum," and matters would be much worse. McKenzie noted that in recent days several of his "contacts in the communities" had told him they "would not take this (Coke's extradition) lying down."

The [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]cable[/color][/color] also indicate that McKenzie then asked Embassy Officials if there were any room for further discussions with U.S. officials. But they replied by reiterating that the U.S. expected Jamaica to honor its obligations under the Extradition Treaty, and considered this a case of great importance; however, the Embassy would convey the Mayor's assessment and inquiry to Washington.

McKenzie concluded by observing that his [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]views[/color][/color] were not only an assessment, but accurately portrayed the "grim picture” that the country faced.

Coke was eventually extradited on June 24 last year, exactly one month after an incursion into west Kingston to enforce and arrest warrant on him.

The warrant was signed almost a year after the request was made, and several efforts by the Government to prevent his extradition, purportedly on the ground that his request was made on the basis of illegally obtained evidence.
                      Rumors are that the Mayor was and probably stiil is afraid of Mr Coke. He probably did what is he out of fear and what is said was probably a fair assessment however what he is is inappropriate. An elected official should not have made any deal with Mr Coke on crime and requesting a meeting with the US is inappropriate for any local govt official.

Kingston Mayor denies recollection of US embassy meeting

Mayor of Kingston Desmond McKenzie. (Gleaner Company photo)

RJR News spoke with Mayor of Kingston and Councillor for the Tivoli Gardens Division Desmond McKenzie on Wednesday morning after the cable was published on the Internet.
                        The mayor said he has no recollection of any meeting with US officials and went as far as saying he was ill during the period referred to in the cable.
                        “But I could have never requested a meeting, I have no recollection of that, none whatsoever. In what capacity would I want to speak to the US embassy about extradition matters, I have no such recollection,” Mayor McKenzie said.
                        When asked about the reference in the cable to him saying that in recent years his administration has worked with Christopher "Dudus" Coke to reduce crime, the mayor said he would not have made such an irresponsible statement.
                        “Listen...I am not an irresponsible person and I could never sit down with anybody and have that level of discussion. ‘Working to reduce crime’? It’s just unfortunate; it’s just sad, very sad,” he said.
                        However, the officials said they would convey the Mayor's assessment and inquiry to Washington.
                        The cable ends by saying that Mayor McKenzie concluded by observing that his views were not only an assessment, but accurately portrayed "the grim picture of the reality we face".

Kingston Mayor denies recollection of US embassy meeting

Mayor of Kingston Desmond McKenzie. (Gleaner Company photo)

RJR News spoke with Mayor of Kingston and Councillor for the Tivoli Gardens Division Desmond McKenzie on Wednesday morning after the cable was published on the Internet.
                          The mayor said he has no recollection of any meeting with US officials and went as far as saying he was ill during the period referred to in the cable.
                          “But I could have never requested a meeting, I have no recollection of that, none whatsoever. In what capacity would I want to speak to the US embassy about extradition matters, I have no such recollection,” Mayor McKenzie said.
                          When asked about the reference in the cable to him saying that in recent years his administration has worked with Christopher "Dudus" Coke to reduce crime, the mayor said he would not have made such an irresponsible statement.
                          “Listen...I am not an irresponsible person and I could never sit down with anybody and have that level of discussion. ‘Working to reduce crime’? It’s just unfortunate; it’s just sad, very sad,” he said.
                          However, the officials said they would convey the Mayor's assessment and inquiry to Washington.
                          The cable ends by saying that Mayor McKenzie concluded by observing that his views were not only an assessment, but accurately portrayed "the grim picture of the reality we face".

No recollection? How difficult is it to look at your Daily Planner, Outlook or whatever you use? The cables said the meeting took place at your downtown office at your request? Was a meeting held in your offices on Sept. 1st, 2009?

to be fair ... the grim picture of the reality we face doesn't really sound desmond mckenzie-ish.

is it that he doesn't recall or it never happened ... he seems to be saying both .... in that it might have happened but he doesn't recall because he was ill at the time ... and if he did meet with them it was irresponsible of him ...

Question waas this before or after the Carton box he received? The magnitude of the box could have scrambled his brain a bit

Him saying it didn't happen, but sound to me like him leaving himself an escape route in case there is more evidence to show that it did indeed happen.