Senate votes to end military ban on gays

That is like saying what part of "Separate But Equal" don't you blacks understand?

I guess you do not know that people have been discharged because their sexuality has been exposed against thier will in the Don't Ask Don't Tell" era?

"DADT specifies that the "don't ask" part of the policy indicates that superiors should not initiate investigation of a servicemember's orientation in the absence of disallowed behaviors, though credible and articulable evidence of homosexual behavior may cause an investigation"

I just don't get it...sexual preference should not even be discussed in the workplace...bout have to lie...no...you only have to lie because yuh want everybody to know yuh suck dick...they are just bursting at the seams to let everyone know they like it up the ass...why is sexual preference being discussed in the workplace?

Oh so yuh mean I can look at someone and tell they are a fag?

What is evidence of homosexual behaviour? How the hell am I gonna know you are gay unless you tell me? Well there is another way but he would be dead if he tried that so the point is moot

LOL, you are funny. Sorry bad choice of words.

Anyway mek we leave it alone nuh? Mek time be the judge. I predict that 20 years from now people will wonder why it took so long to repeal this silly law.

Ahm, if someone ELSE told you who may have seen me somewhere?

Which school you went to again?

how anybody a guh know?

Ahm, if someone ELSE told you who may have seen me somewhere?

Which school you went to again?
                  Modify the policy then...hearsay not permissible...this isn't about these far and few between cases, this is about **********man wanting to skip round the place shouting that they are **********man & we haffi jus hu it up...I will not...

p.s. good good school...wear straight jeans and $100 US Capezio shoes...awoe

That's my point...this is about **********man wanting to be out and proud...a workplace is not the forum for discussion of ones sexual preference...

And that is your right. Gotta love America and the right to be what we want to be, nuh true?

you mean first day on the job meet and greet si gonno be something like this for example "hello, i am a rickiy martin, and i am gay. hug up dat!"?

I don't believe that is allowed in the Military.. there is a specific ban against skipping....

Be all you can be.. in the US Army...

I am not fighting against people being what they want to be...sexual preference, sexual activity, etc should not be discussed at the workplace...if somebody report a man as being gay then the bredda dat made the report should be punished...simple...no talk of sexual preference allowed in the military...

I am sure this will not change your mind in any way, but you do not have to explicitly speak about your sexual preference to be put in a position to be forced to lie about your lifestyle or lose your job under DADT.

My last post on this, I think I have made my point. And I KNOW you and Gamma know better. Hate the gay lifestyle if you want but that is not the issue here.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

http://atwar.blogs.nytimes.com/2010/...t-tell/#essay6
                                As an aircraft commander and an active member of the air station’s wardroom I was caught off-guard one day when I was stopped and candidly asked why I was so aloof.

“Aloof?” I asked incredulously.

“Yeah,” came the response. “You never talk about your weekends or vacations; you come across as a real jerk sometimes.”

And then it hit me: all those times I avoided answering those innocuous questions — “Did you see the game over the weekend?” “Where did you spend the holidays?” “We missed you at happy hour” — I was in fact damaging the camaraderie I had worked so hard to establish.

After five years at my unit, I had nothing but respect and trust for my fellow Coasties. But since I’m a gay man, I’m put in a very tricky situation that prohibits me from discussing anything related to my sexuality.

No mention of the exasperating home-improvement projects that my partner and I have faced, no discussion about the surprise anniversary getaway he had planned for us, no sharing of the struggles I faced while he was deployed to Iraq and Afghanistan.

The very things that all of us share, gay or straight, that bring us closer together, I had to avoid. Rather than lie and make up a cover story, I damaged the vital esprit des corps inherent to military life. The very thing that supporters of “don’t ask, don’t tell” fear will be eroded by openly gay and lesbian service members is already jeopardized by the inherent aspects of not “asking” and not “telling.”

Over the years I have had good days and bad ones — not unlike any other job. I love my job as a helicopter pilot, so the only bad days are those when I am placed in the unwanted position of having to lie or deceive my coworkers because of D.A.D.T.