Here comes the Chinese. What unnu have fi say?

• Here comes the Chinese. What unnu have fi say?

As I stated if we want the jobs we have to build our own.

PM breaks ground for $multibillion housing project

Published: Friday | December 17, 2010 17 Comments and 0 Reactions

Vice-president of China National Complete Plant Import and Export Corporation, Haitao Gu (left), Prime Minister Bruce Golding, (second left), Housing and Water Minister, Dr Horace Chang (second right) and Chinese Ambassador to Jamaica, Chen Jinghua, breaking ground for the construction of a new housing project in Runaway Bay on Wednesday. - PHOTO BY CARL GILCHRIS

Carl Gilchrist, Gleaner Writer RUNAWAY BAY, St Ann:
    PRIME MINISTER Bruce Golding broke ground on Wednesday in Runaway Bay, for the construction of the St Ann cluster of 2,626 housing solutions, aimed at easing the accommodation plight mainly of workers in the tourism industry.
    The J$4.74b project, funded by the EXIM [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Bank[/COLOR][/COLOR] of China, will see new housing solutions being provided in the Belle Air and Mount Edgecombe areas of Runaway Bay.
    The project, dubbed the "Economical Housing Project of Jamaica," is part of an overall plan that also includes the construction of 828 housing solutions in Luana Gardens in St Elizabeth, at a cost of J$1.65B.
    At the same time, Golding defended the use of Chinese workers on the project, citing two reasons why he supported them.
    "There has been criticism, from time to time, that too many Chinese workers are involved in these projects - let me just put it plain and blunt to you," Golding said.
    "China exports labour. China have over a billion people and there is no way that China can have enough projects going on in China to employ all of them, so what China does is that, they provide the [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]funding[/COLOR][/COLOR] that they want to us and insist not only because they have workers that need to be employed, but also because they have to ensure that the quality of the standard of work meets their own requirement,".
    He continued: "So that they insist on having a number of their workers here. I am not objecting to that."
    Golding said through all of this he wants to see the transfer of technology and Jamaicans learning from the Chinese how they do things.
    He added: "There is a second reason why it is so important to have them here. Remember that lady on Mrs Gloudon programme that seh one Chiney can do five smaddy work? And some of us snicker at that. Nutten nuh wrong with dat."
    Chinese Ambassador to Jamaica, His Excellency Chen Jinghua, said the project would provide employment opportunities for 500 persons during the construction period but it was unclear how many Jamaicans would be employed.
    China always willing to share
    The Ambassador said China is always willing to share experience in development with other developing countries and provide help as its capacity allows.
    "I believe the Economic Housing Project of Jamaica is not only a project, but also another [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]bond[/COLOR][/COLOR] of friendship between China and Jamaica," he said.
    Overall, there will be 2,517 serviced lots and 937 housing units.
    Proposed starting prices will see serviced lots selling for J$1.8m; studio for J$3.5m; one-bedroom unit for J$4m, and two-bedroom unit for $6.5m.
    The major work to be done include sewage and water infrastructure, remedial drainage works and road rehabilitation.
    The work will be undertaken by the China National Complete Plant Import and Export Corporation.
    Minister of Housing and Water, Dr Horace Chang, said the government was focused on providing housing solutions to workers in the tourism sector, not just hotel workers. He said over the years lack of access to housing solutions by workers in this sector has resulted in major development of informal settlers along the north coast.
    The Housing Agency of Jamaica under the Ministry of Water and Housing is managing the project.

"2,626 housing solutions" ... I hope they mean "houses".

My the times and spin have changed. When Castro sent his workers and doctors to build schools and clinics they we were called soldiers.

Now China is too small to keep its labour force, hence Ja is giving a helping hand. Who will really raise the education level on the island?

So Bruce none ah dem ah nuh PLA?

The times certainly have changed.. catch up !

When the Chiney a run come spend his money, of course some a fi dem people a go mek sure dem watch how ting$ a gwaan.

probably. but the buzzword these days is "housing solutions".

Mi hope a good houses.

Anway as long as it beat the unplanned squatting.

Don1 Hero dem build road and hotel but nuh build nuh wheh fi di workah dem fi live...promote squatting ah dem forte.. garrison franchise and squatting..

Comrade mentality is not suited for substainable development.. only fi press black people button and encourage base consumption tendencies... (better than the communist/socialist version.. count wi blessings ?)

lol !

A scourge upon the land and upon black people.. diligently at work since since 1972...

Mosiah do you know much about that Convention Center them building in Mobay? Like who building it (private or public) and what size conventions it will be able to host?

So nuh the same Cuban "workers" in Grenada was fighting the yankee 82nd Airborne when dem landed there?

Is like yuh want to ignore history?

It is the communists who have changed here, not the other way around.

Much of that info is out there. My understanding it is a UDC project, built mostly by Chinese workers.

see http://www.udcja.com/Montego%20Bay%2...aica%20RFQ.pdf

Also: http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...business2.html

Willi question to you and ben. Jakans cyaan build house? "Jobs, jobs and more jobs" just not for you stupid jakans. It's high time your party stop treating all Jakans as if they all read at the fourth grade level. It's as if the whole island belong in some special education class.

Okay maybe jakans may not be all that sharp in semi conductor theory and manufacture (due to lack of exposure and denied opportunities).To build houses? Who built all those beautiful homes in the hills above Kgn? who built all those beautiful homes in the gated communities? The Chinese? Watch who will live in those homes.

Thanks!

Willi question to you and ben. Jakans cyaan build house? "Jobs, jobs and more jobs" just not for you stupid jakans. It's high time your party stop treating all Jakans as if they all read at the fourth grade level. It's as if the whole island belong in some special education class.

Okay maybe jakans may not be all that sharp in semi conductor theory and manufacture (due to lack of exposure and denied opportunities).To build houses? Who built all those beautiful homes in the hills above Kgn? who built all those beautiful homes in the gated communities? The Chinese? Watch who will live in those homes.
                            "..all concept of Hard Work they left behind with Slavery..." - LKY

"One chiney duh di wuk of 4 man" Garment Factory worker complaint back in the day...

Don't sweat it.. dem have an advantage.. it probably in dem genes.. dem ah build 5,500 Mile long wall thousands of years before Slave Plantation..

Ben whilst these idiotic statements may hold water the party's cocktail outings, it just looks silly here. Please raise the bar. To justify work along ethnic lines and history is just outright ridiculous.

What if I came forward and said "hey did the chinese build pyramids in 3000 BCE"? Then go and to use it as a cornerstone for my arguments that Africans are supposed to the best builders. Africans were the best geometers and one time the Greeks learnt all they knew there. Check out the mathematical papyrus then dig and pay attention to imaginary numbers. As you know imaginary number is the chief tool among electrical engineers.

The great pyramid of Giza was built before the 13th dynasty (hence showing how way back these guys went with math). Even in the early 2000s here a balck girl enetered MIT at seventeen and left with a Phd in mechanical engineering (now does research at GE). Why all this? To show that race is not a factor in intelligence and there is no real superiority among the different races.