Is Obama crazy like a fox? This article is written by

• Is Obama crazy like a fox? This article is written by

a neo-conservative so you know where he stands on the issues, but maybe he is reading some of Obamas recent decisions correctly.

--------------------------------------------------------------------

Charles Krauthammer
    December 10, 2010 12:00 A.M.

Swindle of the Year
    Barack Obama won the great tax-cut showdown of 2010.

Barack Obama won the great tax-cut showdown of 2010 — and House Democrats don’t have a clue that he did. In the deal struck this week, the president negotiated the biggest stimulus in American history, larger than his $814 billion 2009 stimulus package. It will pump a trillion borrowed Chinese dollars into the U.S. economy over the next two years — which just happen to be the two years of the run-up to the next presidential election. This is a defeat?

If Obama had asked for a second stimulus directly, he would have been laughed out of town. Stimulus I was so reviled that the Democrats banished the word from their lexicon throughout the 2010 campaign. And yet, despite a very weak post-election hand, Obama got the Republicans to offer to increase spending and cut taxes by $990 billion over two years — $630 billion of it above and beyond extension of the Bush tax cuts.

No mean achievement. After all, these are the same Republicans who spent 2010 running on limited government and reducing the debt. And this budget-busting occurs less than a week after the president’s deficit commission had supposedly signaled a new national consensus of austerity and frugality.

Some Republicans are crowing that Stimulus II is the Republican way — mostly tax cuts — rather than the Democrats’ spending orgy of Stimulus I. That’s consolation? This just means that Republicans are two years too late. Stimulus II will still blow another near–$1 trillion hole in the budget.

At great cost that will have to be paid after this newest free lunch, the package will add as much as one percent to GDP and lower the unemployment rate by about 1.5 percentage points. That could easily be the difference between victory and defeat in 2012.

Obama is no fool. While getting Republicans to boost his own reelection chances, he gets them to make a mockery of their newfound, second-chance, post-Bush, tea-party, this-time-we’re-serious persona of debt-averse fiscal responsibility.

And he gets all this in return for what? For a mere two-year postponement of a mere 4.6-point increase in marginal tax rates for upper incomes. And an estate-tax rate of 35 percent — it jumps insanely from zero to 55 percent on Jan. 1 — that is somewhat lower than what the Democrats wanted.

No, cries the Left: Obama violated a sacred principle. A 39.6 percent tax rate versus 35 percent is a principle? “This is the public-option debate all over again,” said Obama at his Tuesday news conference. He is right. The Left never understood that to nationalize health care there is no need for a public option because Obamacare turns the private insurers into public utilities. The Left is similarly clueless on the tax-cut deal: In exchange for temporarily forgoing a small rise in upper-income rates, Obama pulled out of a hat a massive new stimulus — what the Left has been begging for since the failure of Stimulus I, but was heretofore politically unattainable.

Obama’s public exasperation with this infantile leftism is both perfectly understandable and politically adept. It is his way back to at least the appearance of centrist moderation. The only way he will get a second look from the independents who elected him in 2008 — and who abandoned the Democrats in 2010 — is by changing the prevailing (and correct) perception that he is a man of the Left.

Hence that news-conference attack on what the administration calls the “professional Left” for its combination of sanctimony and myopia. It was Obama’s Sister Souljah moment. It had a prickly, irritated sincerity — their ideological stupidity and inability to see the “long game” really do get under Obama’s skin — but a decidedly calculated quality, too. Where, after all, does the Left go? Stay home on Election Day 2012? Vote Republican?

No, says the current buzz, the Left will instead challenge Obama for the Democratic nomination. Really now? For decades, African-Americans have been this party’s most loyal constituency. They vote nine-to-one Democratic through hell and high water, through impeachment and recession, through everything. After four centuries of enduring much, African-Americans finally see one of their own achieve the presidency. And their own party is going to deny him a shot at reelection?

Not even Democrats are that stupid. The remaining question is whether they are just stupid enough to not understand — and therefore vote down — the swindle of the year just pulled off by their own president.

I sat in a department meeting yesterday and ppl were expressing their disappointment to the deal that was agreed.

Obama is a wuzzy fi agreeing to everying that the republicans wanted.

I can't stand a bone in that guys body...but I am for the

tax cut, I am one of those who believe that lower taxes does stimulate the economy, I also want Obama to reduce spending I am very concerned.

He boosted his chances big by going with GOPer's on that one.

who obama? him playing politics? him winning?

scaly, i though wall street LOVED obama!

You can not be serious, Wall Street lobbied hard against all of the new financial regulations.

who obama? him playing politics? him winning?

scaly, i though wall street LOVED obama!
              Wall Street loves Obama ??? Does a chicken have lips?

No boss, they do not like him at all..remember it was the Rick Santelli rant on CNBC that supposidlt started the Tea Party movement.

Dem ah beat dung di man pan spending, ah how much Bush spend inna war itself, both inna ghanistan an Iraq. How much oil dem deh war deh use, add cost ah dem war plus oil consumption an weaponry. Jus haffi shake mi head. Create an kina world wide economic mess wid dem policies an war, but now dem waan fi cut spending. Ah how else dem ah guh rectify di problem widout spen, wait it out ah guess an mek tings sekkle down. It nice how di pale face get weh widout a burden to bear eh, Big government, di last one di small fi chue.

The fact is most liberal wanted to show up the freaking Repubs. Obama is not a fighter and the republicans going to come swinging in the new year thinking Obama going to cave in again. He hasn't stand up them since he won. They will want to cut Medicare, social service, and every service they can. The fact is they will close down the government whether it is now, or over the budget, so Obama better be prepared and roll up his sleaves.

Obama put the fight off until election time, so most democrats think he betray them on tax cut for the wealthy as he won't have the balls to raise it around election time. My question is what did the republicans lose in this deal?

Be prepared 2010 going to mean republicans coming with a axe for everything for the poor and miniority. They are going to point to this big budget deficit that need cutting. Democrats better be prepared to stand and Obama better stand with us and nuh cut no more behind the schene deals.

I believe in lower taxes as economic stimulus too, but I don't believe EVERY tax cut has that effect.

Capital gains tax, dividend taxes, tax writeoffs for business depreciation and that kind of thing yes, also payroll taxes on low income groups who have barely enough to spend. But not all tax cuts. Most Republicans have never seen a tax cut they do not like.

Obama playing three dimensional chess, the others barely can play checkers.

It not guaranteed to work, but don't for a minute think that him don't have a well thought out strategy.

obviously the sarcasm is lost on unnuh is scaly mi was calling out as to why him "hate that guy"!

the offshore industry nuh like him too tough either.

thank you iman. mi dideh a watch di jump up and down ..... the republicans will not know what hit them .... i am seeing the beginnings of a massive set up for them.

i keep telling you this guy is not only smart (dukakis/gore/kerry/carter were all very smart) but he carries an on the ground savvy that the others did not have.

better have a bad midterm than a bad end of term .... watch di ride!

Obama playing three dimensional chess, the others barely can play checkers.

It not guaranteed to work, but don't for a minute think that him don't have a well thought out strategy.
                          i-man, obama has always been a couple moves ahead of the republicans... it is also clear that he is a few moves ahead of those in his party... the problem with the extremist in his party is that they are too extreme to even see that there are other ways to achieve their objective... obama is just going about it in a way they are not accustomed...

Originally posted by Scaly Spurs View Post
                            tax cut, I am one of those who believe that lower taxes does stimulate the economy, I also want Obama to reduce spending I am very concerned.

He boosted his chances big by going with GOPer's on that one.
                            ...but we had those "tax cuts" and our economy is crap! ...so where is the boost from them that should have had us not facing a recession?

methinks he is the real Tai chi master his moves are two years ahead. Nuh true ben whe yuh say "pace yuhself"