This has to be one of the most ridiculous decisions.

• This has to be one of the most ridiculous decisions.

When the UK wanted to do the same, we lobbied to have it reversed, yet we turn around and do the same? This is beyond stupid.

Head tax angers Canadians

CANADIANS are not prepared to pay a 100 per cent increase in head tax as proposed by Jamaica’s Tourism Enhancement Fund (TEF). This was the news from two major travel agents from the North American country where Jamaica has seen increased visitor arrivals in recent times

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz180Cl0Xxg

Same thing I was thinking.

the industry don't need that now.

btw, did the uk listen to our plea or were we hit with the fee as they proposed...

my opinion is to add the $10.00... america is in a recession but that still does not stop the cost of goods and services from going up... if a family of four cannot afford the extra $40 to visit jamaica, then they should not be going there... they can go elsewhere... the persons who can afford jamaica will make it their destination...

A lot of people wouldn't look at it as a$10.00 increase but rather an 100% incerease in the head tax. Trust me regardless of income status this will not go over well.

as it stands now, it will not go over well because of mismanagement of expectations and communicaitons by the tourist authorities... that said, the govt should not cave in to threats and blackmail... we should not allow these entities to dictate our policies which we deem necessary for our progress...

there wray & nephew and red stripe formerly jamaican owned and now these travel groups... please... if they want a piece of jamaica, guess wha, de price gawn up... everybody want freeniss while jamaica crumble...

'if a family of four cannot afford the extra $40 to visit jamaica, then they should not be going there... '

Can't look on it so B. The UK didn't take back their taxes. Now if someone coming from London to Ja they now not only have 10 dollars but also the UK taxes which might be about 50 dollars a person. As reported the Canadian are very upset about it and their numbers have risen dramatically.

The fact is we can easily price ourselves out of the lower, middle market that is very vibrant.

sass, that is the only way to look at it... revenues has to be raised... whan the airline raises their fees and lower services we all are dissatisfied but we still have to travel... we learn and adapt to the changes... we learn to take just the essentials... instead of a suitcase, we now travel with a carry-on... people will just have to get used to the additional 10 bucks... and of course the tourist authorities need to be better communicators and educators...

Respect to your viewpoint. My thing is the hotels have been hit by higher prices for light, liquor tax and this tax.

I am definately for the liiquor tax but what we need to do is cut cost and make the thing more attractive. Currently there are some very attractive packages to Ja and I hope doesn't change in the near future.

The fact is Red Stripe buss pon the Wray and Nephew by telling Audley about the inequtities and Wray and nephew mad but the fact is I can't see why they shouldn't be taxed the same.

Long term Wray and Nephew would only be damaging their brand if they decide not to sell.

Baddaz I lived in Canada for 22 years, and here in T&T I work with Canadians so hopefully my opinion is a considered one; it is not about the $40; canadians stand on and for certain principles and if they feel they are being "screwed over" they will bawl out and they will walk away...hence a 100% increase is a doubling, regardless of the base amount.

The typical Canadian tourist is not a heavy spender, they just want to escape the cold, be somewhere warm where thay can drink beer cheaply, not splurge on any extra frills, and go home and brag to their friends about what a great time they had in Jamaica (without moving ten feet from the all-inclusive). I say this with all due respect to my many Canadian friends... cheap ba*tards

good talk sah. We need them as long as dem a pay.

Exactly.

peter r, your opinion is always given consideration... i understand the canadian mentality having been there on numerous occasions and having many canadian friends... however, this is much more than about canadians... relative to other price increases in the travel industry, this additional $10 is reasonable... i dont see anyone not taking a flight when the airfare rises or the airlines charge for addional pieces of luggage, associated airport taxes, security taxes and other fees... travel agents grumble, empathize with the travellers and just keep it moving... why shouldn't that be the case when it comes to jamaica and revenue earnings... the cost of doing business has increased for the tourism sector and the shortfall has to made up somewhere... that is just the plain fact...

the problem has to do with the ja tourist authorities and the way they communicate with and manage the expectations of their business partners... in a soft economy, everyone cries... the ja tourist board need to be showing tears to everyone, instead of always fronting like everything is great in jamaica...

if the jamaica brand is premium, then there is a price to pay for the opportunity to brag to their friends about a what a great time they had in jamaica...

i say no movement off the increase...