Air rage: Is reclining your seat a right?

• Air rage: Is reclining your seat a right?

(CNN) -- The passenger in seat 9C was ready for a nap after takeoff, so he pushed the button on his armrest and reclined -- straight into the path of someone who apparently wouldn't have it.
    Tensions grew quickly on the American Airlines flight from Los Angeles to Denver on November 22, court papers show.
    The incident adds fuel to a debate that seems to divide air travelers into two camps: those who say that reclining their seat on a plane is a right that comes when they buy a ticket and those who believe it's a privilege that shouldn't be abused.
    As Brian Dougal leaned back on the Denver-bound flight late last month, he felt someone bump his seat, according to a criminal complaint filed in the U.S. District Court of Colorado.
    "Are you serious? My knees are up against the seat," said the man behind him, identified as Tomislav Zelenovic, according to the complaint.
    Dougal suggested that Zelenovic also recline, slide into an empty seat next to him or move his legs to the side. Dougal told the man in 10C that he paid for his seat and was going to recline it.
    Zelenovic then shook the back of Dougal's seat and grabbed his right ear, pulling it back and down with enough force to knock Dougal's glasses off his face, according to the complaint.
    When the plane landed in Denver, police officers escorted Zelenovic off the flight. He was charged with assault "by striking, beating, or wounding on an aircraft" and has pleaded not guilty. Zelenovic's attorney declined to comment on the case for this article.

http://www.cnn.com/2010/TRAVEL/12/09...ex.html?hpt=C2

"When the plane landed in Denver, police officers escorted Zelenovic off the flight. He was charged with assault "

Huh?

Some of these ********s are too inconsiderate.

Who inconsiderate!

This exact thing happened to me on one of my recent 10 hour flights where the racist behind me didn't want me to recline my seat. I had to call the attendant who, in her ignorant self, pleaded with me to just don't recline it all the way. WTF! It is my right!

Will avoid British Airways if I can. They did not handle the issue properly at all!

Who inconsiderate!

This exact thing happened to me on one of my recent 10 hour flights where the racist behind me didn't want me to recline my seat. I had to call the attendant who, in her ignorant self, pleaded with me to just don't recline it all the way. WTF! It is my right!

Will avoid British Airways if I can. They did not handle the issue properly at all!
        The inconsiderate one is the selfish person reclining the seat when someone sitting behind them has tall legs and is going to be uncomfortable.

YAAAWWWWNNNNNN ... we dont have those problems in first class

LOL .... ah hear yuh boss.

The inconsiderate one is the selfish person reclining the seat when someone sitting behind them has tall legs and is going to be uncomfortable.

But how do you know if the person behind you has tall legs; nobody is looking back when they touch the recline button.

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                But how do you know if the person behind you has tall legs; nobody is looking back when they touch the recline button.

Fine, but if yuh recline yuh seat and realize someone behind you is being made uncomfortable physically, why insist on reclining the seat?

nuh matter! dem need fi go first class or ask for an exit window seat!

both of them handle de ting wrong... but if a man want recline him seat dat him pay fah, him have all right... still, dat nuh mean seh him cudden be considerate of the person behind him either... on de other hand since there were other empty seats, the long leg man could have moved if he was that uncomfortable instead of abusing de reclining man... both appear to want to prove a point...

End of story Baddaz - all me would do is move to the next empty seat!

so you is one of dem inconsiderate **************** who recline the seat and mek mi haffi conch you inna you head and ask you a wha you a do.. man pull up back you seat.. ....

yuh ever get tump down at 30,000 ft in the sky!? run come up inna mi fist and see!

most times i fly i recline my seat... if i am in coach i usually look who is behind me... a short person means i recline to the max, a tall person means a slight recline... still, if mi really tired and in coach i am reclining and sleeping... never have a complaint yet...

what if YOU are uncomfortable?