Term Limits bill taken to Parliament,

Here my proposal.

A person can get sworn in as PM ongly 2 times. Argument done. Mi nuh care bout how long (or short) dem serve in the 2 terms, as long as it dont exceed the 5 years and 3 months.

i am for term limits but not in our present westminister system of government... in fact, i cannot think of any system of government such as our where there are term limits for prime ministers... i could be wrong...

i would advocate first changing the system of govt... make the country a republic where anyone qualified can be elected president... then we should have term limits... a major issue with the current system, we are not getting the very best people to lead the country...

Republic dont mean we scrap the Westminster system.

Look at Guyana and TnT, for example.

thanks willi... does guyana still have a prime minister... those are but only two examples... i need to see and know a little more...

i'd much prefer where anyone who is qualified can be the president similar to the usa... then term limits...

Most former Brit colonies that are republics have parliaments with PMs like say Kenya, Naja, India, etc. Some like RSA, go the Presi route.

this is no rocket science. This is something Bruce Golding has been talking about since his days with NDM.

The PNP has never talked about TERM LIMITs in any form. I even wonder if many in the JLP really support it. They may have gotten fraid since a lot of youngster popping up on them.

The PM position for me is not the problem. It is the parliamentarians who are there for 300 years! We need limits for those!

You think the dinasour them want it??? LOL.

Maybe you will have a third party then. Retired Dinasour Party

all you need is transparency

they just need to split up the power base

Well, as the PM is a parliamentarian as well, yuh kill 2 bird wid one stone.

MPs should get a 4 term limit with a forced vacation after the 2nd term of at least one election cycle.

Just as important is sharing the power among a wider base of people. Too incestuous at the moment.

Instead of a pool of 500 people to choose from, we should be considering among 10 thousand people.

yep!