• JLP Re-Dresses its Rotting Corps(e) with New Clothes

Jamaica Labour Party Shows 'New Face'
    Published: Tuesday | December 7, 20105 Comments and 0 Reactions

Arthur Hall, Senior Staff Reporter

It was a new-look Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) officer corps that met last night following the first major shake-up of that body since 2003.

At least seven new faces were scheduled to be in last night's meeting, which was to be led by JLP leader, Prime Minister Bruce Golding.

Among the familiar faces missing would be some of the persons who engineered the JLP's 2007 election victory.

That list includes former Chairman Dr Ken Baugh, long-time General Secretary Karl Samuda, former Deputy Leader Dr Horace Chang, and former Deputy Treasurer Daryl Vaz.

Also missing would be former Deputy Chairman Rudyard Spencer, former Deputy General Secretary Dr Ronald Robinson, and another former Deputy General Secretary Dennis Meadows.

In their space would be new Chairman Mike Henry and his deputy, Robert Montague, Deputy Treasurer Gregory Mair, and three new deputy general secretaries - Ian Murray, Warren Newby and Dr Sandra Nesbeth.

Aundré Franklin was also slated to attend last night's meeting, but this time occupying the general secretary's chair instead of the seat he had occupied since 2003 when he was voted deputy general secretary of the party.

Counting its blessings

The executive positions were finalised on Sunday when the party's Central Executive elected the final officers to join Golding and deputy leaders Audley Shaw, James Robertson, Desmond McKenzie and the recently elected Dr Christopher Tufton.

With massive public interest in the elections and the possibility of more of the hostility that has characterised many of its internal contests, the JLP emerged relatively unscathed this time around, and the new executive is counting its blessings.

"Let me first congratulate everyone in the party for a well-run and democratically administered selection process," Henry told journalists yesterday.

"This reflects the stability of the Jamaica Labour Party and its ability to face these issues and continue to develop the country," the new chairman added.

"There is nobody who goes into a contest that doesn't want to win and, therefore, we do have to look at ourselves in relation to that ... . We have to accept the fact that when the people speak, the people speak," said Henry, as he sought to dispel fears that tension over the election results could hurt the party.

Henry brushed aside concerns that being 75 years old could impact his performance as chairman, while arguing that he will be assisted by his deputy, Montague, who is many years younger.

For his part, Franklin again identified the selection of candidates for all constituencies and parish council divisions as the priority for the secretariat he now leads.

According to Franklin: "We hope that by the middle of January, we will have our full slate of candidates, giving the prime minister and leader of the party the option, whenever he chooses, to call elections."

He said the JLP has fewer than 10 seats to be filled for the next general election.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ead/lead2.html

Brown man Party has risen like a phoenix out of the Ashes !

Dem look good fi anneddah 2 Terms... at least...

No more Tivaarli to haunt them
    Roast Breadfruits strategically placed
    War Chest Strategy in place
    Massive Troughs shaping up (Downtown Kingston, JDIP, Casino Projects, LNG)
    Mastah Political Tactitian at the Helm.

Future looking bright fi di Brown Man Time...

I see you got that raise. Sincerely hope that the changes to the LNG errr... 'deal' doesn't affect anyone's economic prospects. Might want to put that Audi from ATL on hold. But you didn't hear that from me.

Mi nuh have nuh 'interest' innah LNG....

u do...

Liad Nuh Good..

Not just you one. A few others 'interests' have been shall we say compromised. Oh well there's always the roads but a no everybody Mike like. what to do, what to do.

yuh haffi engage in someting where you are actually bringing the 'money'.. certainly the CAPEX.. mek sure is a critical service with value add and yuh control di switch !..if yuh can show were it bring revenue all di bettah..cyaan depend pon Govt fi leggo money juss suh..

Well said. Tell it to you friend dem.

Like who suh ?

I'm sure you've seen the movie "The Usual Suspects".

none ah my Fren dem inna politics tuh dat level suh mi curious...