Are Jamaicans wizing up to the Tyranny of the Roti-Eaters??

The BIG question is why Jamaican man NEED so much 'tonic wine'? There is OBVIOUSLY a huge market for it....TT water is treated domestic water...a national disgrace really for JA to import....must be the cost of packaging....
    I have tried my utmost to stay out of the discussion which although started fairly objectively despite Don1's introductionary insult with his generic brush of all Trinidadian's as "Roti eaters" showing either his total ignorance of the demographics, social mores and culinary preferences or a distinct attempt to be disingenious....Jamaica or should I say some Jamaicans want to have their roti and eat it at the same time....fact is we (Jamaica) is NOT competitive in manufacturing of anything...I have friends in Jamaica in the bizniz and one complains he gets no protection, preferences from IMPORTED items from CHINA. He is producing in Jamaica. Unless we stop this parochial view and regional crab in barrel nonsense..the region is doomed. Why you all dont talk about the millions spent on imported hair from China and India because of our women and low self-esteem? What is the real cost to the country?
    ReggaeMike...thanks for trying to be objective and ask the right questions.

Not to mention all the mementos "Made in China".....
      When I first came to TT years ago..the Supermarket shelves were FILLED with Jamaican products...Grace, Eve, etc....beer was an exception but you could get in good bars, hotels etc...
      Now - we just can't COMPETE....MOST Jamaican businesses are TOP HEAVY..with overpaid, lazy CEO's, hyped up to be great Managers....the successful ones are family run, government supported or drug assisted ones or hard-working SMBAs....

But wi have one North Coast 'Higway' and bout 1000 Cell Towah and wi upgrade di 2 airport dem.. all in just 20 years..

What more unnuh want ?

Originally posted by Exile View Post
          The BIG question is why Jamaican man NEED so much 'tonic wine'? There is OBVIOUSLY a huge market for it....TT water is treated domestic water...a national disgrace really for JA to import....must be the cost of packaging....
          I have tried my utmost to stay out of the discussion which although started fairly objectively despite Don1's introductionary insult with his generic brush of all Trinidadian's as "Roti eaters" showing either his total ignorance of the demographics, social mores and culinary preferences or a distinct attempt to be disingenious....Jamaica or should I say some Jamaicans want to have their roti and eat it at the same time....fact is we (Jamaica) is NOT competitive in manufacturing of anything...I have friends in Jamaica in the bizniz and one complains he gets no protection, preferences from IMPORTED items from CHINA. He is producing in Jamaica. Unless we stop this parochial view and regional crab in barrel nonsense..the region is doomed. Why you all dont talk about the millions spent on imported hair from China and India because of our women and low self-esteem? What is the real cost to the country?
          ReggaeMike...thanks for trying to be objective and ask the right questions.
          LOL! For my amusement my preference is to be provocative so people shouldn't be too disturbed by something as tame as "roti eaters"....btw...I have eaten a few of the things myself

I agree that the big issue is the general non-competitive nature of the economy not the narrow issue of TT trade.... but TT trade was the issue I chose to post on..... the issues are not mutually exclusive

I also stated many times in this thread (and in many other posts) that the cure for our lack of competitiveness/poor performance is fundamental reform in our Brown Man Time class system, reform of the corrupt JLPNP tribal politics and a massive investment in education....these are fundamental issues but most forumites don't seem to have much of an opinion on them....or choose not to express it

My view is that Caricom is a waste of time for Jamaica.... the country needs to change that failed course... dreams of regionalism are romantic... but it nah werk fi wi.
          Last edited by Don1; December 11, 2010, 09:13 AM.

But mi nuh unnastan.. we had 20 years of Black Man Time.. based on the results.. gi mi Brown Man Time everytime

Bettah yet based on di state of certain 'colonies'.. gimme White Man Time !

Save nuff of us of having to run to Merica...bettah wi serve in Heaven right yah suh..

Dis serving in Hell ting not nice at all...

lol !

true dat bout di bizniz class.... but the problem is far deeper than that