• Should Charlemont High be renamed

in honour of past student Asafa Powell?

there is some move to do that but with the man not even 30 years old it looks very premature to me...will they rename William Knibb for Bolt and Wolmers Girls for Shelly-Ann as well????

William Knibb and Wolmer are names chiseled in history. What is the story on Charlemont? Is who dat?

Charlemont is actually the area where the school is located like Munro in St Elizabeth.

Give me one good reason why the school should be renamed after Asafa? Not even Asafa could give a good reason when he was asked by TVJ.

We have Don Quarrie High in Harbourview even though he went to camperdown. The reason being he was from Harbourview. If the school wants to rename themselves in honour of a famous alumnus why shouldn't they? I am sure it wasnt Asafa that asked for it.

But wasn't Don Quarrie a new high school?

Charlemont is actually the area where the school is located like Munro in St Elizabeth.
            Yuh serious, or yuh joking?

In case yuh serious - the place named Munro got its name from the founder of the school, Robert Hugh Munro.

The question is, what is Mr/Ms Charlemont's claim to fame?

Yes but it's the naming of a school after an athlete that Sikko seems to be concerned. After all it's not as if they are changing the name from one person to the other. Charlemont is just a place it could be renamed Mosiah High or Sikko High no so?

Sounds like the foreign breeze numb your brain...the school takes it name from the area, the place where it is situated..there was no Mr or Ms or Mrs Charlemont...

I said I did not know the Charlemont story, but I was trying to enlighten you that in Munro's case, the person came first, then the school, then the place.