• Minister Robertson calls allegations 'rumours'

Minister Robertson calls allegations 'rumours'
    2010-11-21 20:23:12 | (0 Comments)

Minister James Robertson - Ricardo Makyn/Staff Photographer Jamaica Minister of Energy, James Robertson has described the criminal allegations against him as 'rumours'.

Addressing party supporters this afternoon at the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) 67th Annual Conference, Mr. Robertson says he will soon address the criminal assertions made against him.

Assistant Commissioner of Police in Jamaica, Les Green is expected to make an announcement this week regarding the progress into the investigations of allegations against Mr. Robertson.

ACP Green, who heads the Criminal Investigation Branch, disclosed earlier this week that Mr. Robertson has been under police probe for about three years.

He says the police have already interviewed the complainant, Mr. Johnson and a statement has been taken from him.

The Gleaner/ Power 106 understands that other witnesses have been coming forward to assist the police with the investigations.

Robertson should be told to shut his trap! Or is going to use parliamentary privilege to trash the complainant?

If this goes to court, he most likely will get off because that is how our system seems to operate. So he should shut his face and let justice take its course.

Conspiracy Of Lies, Says Robertson

Published: Monday | November 22, 20100 Comments and 0 Reactions

Lorna Golding, wife of the party leader, gets chummy with James Robertson on the conference platform yesterday. - photos by Norman Grindley/Chief Photographer
      Nadisha Hunter, Gleaner Writer

As Prime Minister Bruce Golding yesterday urged Jamaicans to hold off judgement on lurid allegations against Cabinet minister James Robertson, the latter made a grandstanding defence of his innocence to loyalists of the ruling Jamaica Labour Party (JLP).

Golding, who had remained mum on the melodrama since reports surfaced last week, sought to calm the storm.

"I trust that this matter will be thoroughly and speedily investigated because it is not fair to James to have this matter hanging over his head," Golding told the public session of the JLP's 67th annual conference.

But the prime minister warned that Robertson was aware of the consequences if there was any truth to the allegations, alluding that the party would turn its back on him.

Golding said he had relayed a letter, handed to him in Tivoli Gardens by a man on October 28, to the police three days later.

Spurning the advice of his attorneys not to comment publicly, Robertson, who presides over the country's energy and mining portfolio, dismissed claims cited in an affidavit that he was involved in a murder conspiracy.

'Target' turns defender

He brought to his defence a man who was named in a sworn statement as one he wanted killed.

Presenting Kayon 'Treasure' Campbell on the conference stage, Robertson rubbished the charges.

"Rumours dem spreading!" he declared, quoting from a song by the late reggae star Gregory Isaacs.

"It is madness to say that I have a contract for US$3 million-US$8 million to kill people. At Page 21, Line 25 of a so-called statement that (attorney-at-law) David Rowe took, a man says that I asked him to kill Treasure," said Robertson

Campbell said there was no truth to the claims.

"I have known Mr Robertson for more than 10 years and the allegation that he wants me killed is rubbish," he told The Gleaner.

Campbell was visibly angry as he denounced claims he had been paid to do damage control for the embattled minister and member of parliament for Western St Thomas.

"I have money too. I am a businessman and I don't need money from Mr Robertson," said Campbell, who had been described by Robertson as a registered contractor and university student.

Robertson, who is also a deputy leader of the JLP, said he was a constant target of a smear campaign.

"In my political career, they have told a lot of lies on me, but this is the wickedest lie of all," Robertson said, revealing that he was gutted by the impact of the controversy on his wife and two daughters.

nadisha.hunter@gleanerjm.com

Well.. one thing for sure.. this Roberston fellow is obviously very charming.

Is not many Hitman get their knowing victims to meet them for coffee.

First at Jamaica House.. den pon JLP Conference Stage.. holding hands no less !

lol !.. Comedy Central to rhatid....

i'm glad that poppy show convinced you.

wheh yuh seh.. is a impostah did deh pon stage with Roberston...?

Curiouser and Curiouser.....

let's just say i hope Les Green saw that and just drops this investigation immediately!

The question is how much did it cost him ? Robertson.I would not be surprised if the guy flipped.If not this year then in ten years its Jamaican politics.

Jamaican politics summed up ...man tink im smarter dan man ...lol...but im nuh smarter dan......

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

You woulda chuss a man dat have yuh pon di top of him Hit List.. ?

Ah wha kinda money suh ?

lol !

What I wouldn't chuss is the endorsement of the PM if I was JR. Basically amounted to "yute you deh pon you own, I hope it work out fi you, but if it doesn't.......". LOL. Embarrassing and interesting times.

isn't that the right stance from the PM?

Damn right. However, I think as I've said already the seriousness of the charges warrant JR stepping down(at least temoporarily). The police said they have been investigating him for years. Why?

suh if di police investigating him for years.. what's new ?

The seriousness of the allegations is not the issue.. it is how seriously can we take the accuser...

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
                            Damn right. However, I think as I've said already the seriousness of the charges warrant JR stepping down(at least temoporarily). The police said they have been investigating him for years. Why?
                            Years !! I never saw this, and yet still he he was appointed a miniter of goverment? Did anyone do any due dilligence on the man before you mek him a cabinet minister.

The netire system needs to be dismantled.

Bruce Golding needs to address directly the people of Jamaica who he owes an explanation and gave a oath to serve honorably to.

Not sure if JR's 'shoot the messenger' defense going to work. To paraphrase the PM: good luck.