Jamaica Fishery Department-Maudib,Lazie,Sass,Gamma..

Originally posted by TDowl View Post
    "Trout is non-native to Jamaica" Ok, what type of fish can you suggest to set up the nursery to re-stock?(Why is every on avoiding this question? Islandman yuh know why).

Salmon runs off Jamaica but it is not the N.A. type as it is not pink inside.

What are the fish in JA rivers?

But since you know, why you don't enlighten us. I know that African Perch was tried in the Windsor Castle (Portland/St. Mary) area years ago. Don't think the project still exists, but I could be wrong.

Mi don't like fresh water fish!

"planting some stuff" ? hmmmm....

a right a mi Grandmother door step that. In April they told me they stop doing that. Now the ponds lie there abondoned.

The man them say them thief out the fish and the overhead became high.

I have been thinking the same thing for the last 2o years. They dont have to restock with foreign species, simply raise native species in controlled conditions, clean up the rivers, then restock, have a moratorium on fishing in the rivers and streams for 5 years, after which fishing can resume. Have limits on size and quantity and even seasonal fishing depending on the spawning cycle of the different species. I can guarantee you that no one in the UWI dept of zoology can give you an complete list of fish in Jamaican rivers and streams, along with their current populations. We used to have some of the sweetest river mullets in the world. We can develop a viable bait and tackle industry in the country if the right steps are taken.

Not true about UWI. There are numerous lists of freshwater species in Jamaica...and estuaries and bays. Current population is a different matter....stock assessments take time and money...the latter scarce for research in Jamaica....
            I too remember teh days of catching fish and crayfish in Jamaican rivers....their absence these days not due to overfishing as such but deleterious methods as use of carbide, fish toxins (harmful to humans) and land-based surces of pollution. It's a complicated problem with a lot of the -overused term - stakeholders. From the pig farmer, pesticide and herbicide user, fetililizer use, river bed sand minding, sewage, local gov., solid waste dumpers and we go on on - all play a role.
            This have to be done watershed at a time..not only a stream...
            The answer of course to our future fish is aquaculture - with best management pratices...we can no longer depend on the wild to provide for hunters and fishers.....

Part of the problem is the bad name that FW fish has gotten because of poor growing conditions and poor marketing. Why dont you like it? Taste, look, colour, texture, price???

So tell me something bredren, over the last 40 years the university can't come up with an estimate of the population size of different streams and rivers in the country. How much do you think such a project would cost?. In many countries that is basically a senior high school zoo project.

Doc, I hate to call you out on this but, how can you, on the one hand, cuss about these expatriates taking jobs over locals while making a point here that our locals, at least in terms of academia, seem utterly lacking?! Why wouldn't I, as president of UWI, send fi di young Australian whose name don't even dry pon him master's certificate?!?

you had to go there, didn't yuh!

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                      Not true about UWI. There are numerous lists of freshwater species in Jamaica...and estuaries and bays. Current population is a different matter....stock assessments take time and money...the latter scarce for research in Jamaica....
                      I too remember teh days of catching fish and crayfish in Jamaican rivers....their absence these days not due to overfishing as such but deleterious methods as use of carbide, fish toxins (harmful to humans) and land-based surces of pollution. It's a complicated problem with a lot of the -overused term - stakeholders. From the pig farmer, pesticide and herbicide user, fetililizer use, river bed sand minding, sewage, local gov., solid waste dumpers and we go on on - all play a role.
                      This have to be done watershed at a time..not only a stream...
                      The answer of course to our future fish is aquaculture - with best management pratices...we can no longer depend on the wild to provide for hunters and fishers.....

Not to mention the garbage thrown into the rivers, etc. Mangroves in certain areas is almost non-existent.

Thats the whole point. That is a simple exercise. Even senior high school students could be taught to collect fish from their local river or stream, use a simple grid count, and come up with a general estimate of the population of each species around the island. Why u need expats to do that. The Ministry of Agrculture could employ primary school students during the summer to collect the fish with hand nets. Simple exercise. Dont need any Australian or grant from the UN or USAID, or European Development Bank, or OAS or anybody else.

It is not as easy as that...especially if you are talking about a scientifically sound estimate. You know better than that. First you'll need to establish the different species, habitats, life cycles etc, THEN look at best ways of doing an estimate - without killing all the fish...definitely not a high school project....unless of course you want the output to be "highschoolish".

And where his research funding comes from??? The Australian cricket team? Why should a young student of biology go and break his ass sampling rivers, risk his life and limb...then watch the druggist on the corner drive by in his Escalade? (not you Mosiah)....where is the incentive for young scholars? Why should farmers grow fish when the government bends over backward to appease lazy importers of cheap nasty chinese frozen fish?
                            Why should the Australian work in Jamaica when he will be promoted as Advisor to the Gov. and have a SUV, house and ac office???

Good to get a viewpoint from someone closer to the research community in the Caribbean Exile.

It is so easy to make sweeping statements about what is or is not being done without having any information on the challenges that have to be faced. Same thing I was saying in another post about us all being experts in every field.

I ask a question, I did not make a "sweeping statements".

I once read where Jamicans had lest fish in their diet than some land lock European countries, first I said wha, then mi realize that you have to be at seaside to get any.

So now, is it one of Fisheries Department function or interest to restock from hatchry?