Jamaica Fishery Department-Maudib,Lazie,Sass,Gamma..

• Jamaica Fishery Department-Maudib,Lazie,Sass,Gamma..

Do they have a website where scientific research is posted, such as re-stocking of rivers, and lakes, how many spieces of fish are in what river, and the introduction of new spices such as Trout?

I doubt there is but I will check.

Sass yuh ave any farm link as it pertains to raising chicken, pigs and finding the market for it in jamaica?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

You have RADA that actually help you to find out if it viable and can direct you to maket.

Just recently a little youthman contacted me about planting some stuff. I asked him for a business plan and sent a little money to him. He did his homework and I am pleased about that. It is not enough money to make me cry if I lose it but I am pleased about the homework and where it is going.

My word of advice is to start small and make sure there is someone there who have the interest at heart and willing to work. There is opportunity down there but talk to RADA before deciding what you are going to do.
        There is market for some some things you might not imagine.

Impressive

http://www.moa.gov.jm/fisheries.php

Now if we can get all these info from other ministries

The site does have a lot of info, but it does not have any infon " re-stocking of rivers, and lakes, how many spieces of fish are in what river, and the introduction of new spices such as Trout?"

Well it could be simple that they have done that research and it don't surpise me if there is no re-stocking.

Lakes? or you mean fish ponds?

Thats Sass yuh live in hughenden ? which years or street ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

mi aunt use to live there.

Marathon Drive. Use to visit a lot of weekend and holidays. Had some good time there. Use to Junior Tucker/ Dennis Brown and others passing through. Mi brethren them use to have a set name Disco Sensation. That was about 1980-87.

I believe Jamaica does have lakes, and I am not talking about Chigwell, Newmarket or Monague lakes.

But from your knowledge, do they re-stock fish, and what are the type of marine life in JA river, and the name of those rivers?

Trout is non-native to Jamaica...why would you want the rivers to be stocked with it? There are many species of trout. It is also a coldwater fish.

The biggest stocking of 'lakes' and ponds (watering hole sfor cattle) took place in Jamaica back in the late 40's early 50's with the black Tilapia mossambica (Oreochromis mossambicus). It had limited success and the fish escaped to nearby rivers and streams where they poliferated. Technically these fish are invasive species.

"Trout is non-native to Jamaica" Ok, what type of fish can you suggest to set up the nursery to re-stock?(Why is every on avoiding this question? Islandman yuh know why).

Salmon runs off Jamaica but it is not the N.A. type as it is not pink inside.

What are the fish in JA rivers?

maybe no one knows? i don't know the answer. i ongle know about mullet and di fish dem call african perch.

there are also crayfish and eel ...