On the topic of Hospitality and training

• On the topic of Hospitality and training

I was one of the very first graduate of HEART Runaway Bay hotel school. At the time it was not easy to get a job in the hotel industry. The week of graduation I had 3 job offers in Front Office proceedures. I had 2 five star hotel and another which was making me an offer in Front office and entertainment. Many of my classmates was employed.

Most of the Chefs either had scholarships to Canada or jobs lined up as our cooking displays won many awards locally and in Canada at the time. If I can remember the nameGeorge Brown University was tripping over our students. The hotel industry at the time was very impressed with the trainees and wanted them badly.

When I started working in Mobay, myself and another girl who was newly employed saved or departement. I was told by the manager that the rudeness, and petty stealing in the industry was costing others jobs. We changed that and we got a lot of resentment at first just the attitude and training made the difference and others saw it.

Now I can tell you many of us didn't have 10 o levels and didn't go to any college but now

One of my College got her PHD and returned to managed the same school
    One of my best friend is noe reservations manager with one of those Brown man chain.
    One of my friend is now Horticulture manager at one of the world class resort.
    One of my friend is now Night Manager(not sure of the title) in Florida
    One workd with one of the worldwide reservation office.
    anyone I know who stayed in the Hotel business has moved to some form of manegerial post and two were professors at CAST.

The Instructors are now in top management. One is the reservation manager for a top chain. Her husband is also top accountant.

One is now Operations manager with one Top hotel.

One went on to hold many Management position

One is a top trainer with JTB

These are all black people(Not Brown people)

The Whitemen from England went back. One is now a regional manager for a big chain and who knows where the others are.

To say that Black Jamaicans are not in mangement is not true. Yes the progress may not be as good as we want, but in my opinion we have to believe more in ownership to able take more position and we have to better train and prepare our people to take up these position.

That is why I advocate TOURISM MUST BE TAUGHT IN SCHOOLS.

My instructors have gone on to even more impres

I heard that the HEART Runaway Bay hotel school bartender graduates are in very high demand, sometimes you have to wait a year to get one on staff, is that correct?

They are very good, I have seen them at Hedonism and other hotels, no gimmicks as the bartenders outside of the Harrahs in Las Vegas.

In my days that was the case. The hardest thing graduates from all areas had was to find somewhere to live on the North Coast.

Many of the housekeeping staff instantly went into supervisory rolls. Waiters went to top hotels. Butch Stewart, Issa, Frank Rance, Halfmoon amongst others were all tripping over the students.

I notice all the ranters just see everything negitive about tourism. Them nuh see nobody a move up inna management. Them nuh see no opportunity for black people, and di fact that Barlett a liad.

As usual we don't assess anything, we just talk from 20 years ago. X how you think a only Jamaicans living in Ja, have the problem?

You think Billy Graham a go mek nobody else rule his empire?

A who run Ford again?

You think Walmart nuh have whole heap of Americans working in China
        You think Toyota nuh have a whole heap of Japanese managers in America?

Nuff a the time we have business we don't even make our children go in it.
        We don't train them or give them a chance to grow, even when we send them to UWI.

If we have a little money we don't say alright take a chance or guide them yet we expect so much. Nuff a we a deal with it in our family, meanwhile what Butch do to Adam and the rest of his pickney? and what the man who own Yummy do with his kids?

Who own the Hyatt hotel inna Indian? Is it Indian own with Hyatt brand?

i think yuh missing the point, Sass.

We need to look at the whole picture Mo, not just one little piece of the puzzle or we will get nowhere.