• US companies willing to do business

Big US companies willing to do business with Jamaica - Bridgewater

Published: Friday | November 19, 2010 0 Comments and 0 Reactions

New US Ambassador to Jamaica, Pamela E. Bridgewater. - file

Pamela Bridgewater, the United States Ambassador to Jamaica, has named some big Corporations in industry and finance whom she says are interested in investing in Jamaica. Bridgewater held discussions with big investors prior to taking up her posting in Kingston.
    "I met with over 50 entities on Park Avenue in New York City, who are keenly interested in possibilities to invest in Jamaica — Merrill Lynch, Boeing, Morgan Stanley and Jamaican-American venture capitalists among them," the diplomat said Tuesday as she addressed corporate bosses at a Private Sector Organisation of Jamaica business luncheon.
    "I will be inviting these and other potential investors to come back to Jamaica, and to take a look," she said.
    The ambassador said her reading of the pre-arrival consultation with the US business community was one of general goodwill towards Jamaica.
    "There is a strong desire to invest in Jamaica," she said.
    Bridgewater, however, noted that although there was interest in Jamaica, investors were also wary of issues such as energy security, workforce development and citizen safety.
    "These are all matters that can be improved, and I assure you that my government and I stand with Jamaica in its search for reasonable and cost-effective solutions to those problems," she said.
    The ambassador also said she would work with Jamaica to improve its 'Ease of Doing Business' ranking, now at 81 of 183 countries.
    "During my tenure," she said, "I would like to see Jamaica's ranking significantly improved as these issues are addressed, and as the United States continues to provide technical support."
    dionne.rose@gleanerjm.com

The game comes into focus..(for di slow ones..)

Duh yuh ting Drivah.. all dem wheh nevah watch Hard Talk nah guh know wha lick dem..

unnu glad fi see di us embassador (sic), eh? Bruce have di woman pack har grip fi suh long, but wid him antics Obama woulden fly di gate!

Yuh know how a dam wuk ?

Yuh have some act on reflex.. yuh have some oddah man work based on calculation..

whara? sorry neva go campion.