The importance of Science, Technology, Engineering & Maths

'Black Man Time' did more damage to Jamaica since independence than all the other 'elements' combined...

Stop putting the power in the hands of others.. that is just a cop out..a means of perpetuating the 'blame game'..

Jamaica is a democracy that is 98% black.. yuh really expect people to believe dat 3 ****** man run tings ?

That is an indictment not on them but the people they 'control'...

The most interesting fact is that the S&T wheel is already invented.

The S&T monitary expenditure for Jamaica does not have to be a burden to the budget.

All that is needed is the transfer of technology (with slight adjustments) to their respective local applications.

The Jamaican approach to progress--is it's own worst enemy.

Maudib you are partially right. But an illiterate mass, who are intentionally kept illiterate, cant decipher right from wrong.

Absolutely HL. The same machine in Malaysia that is used to break coconuts probably can be adjusted to break our almonds. This will require someone to write a new propgram that will adjust the impact force and frequency of the hammer, and you might have to design a a new spring with tensile strength appropriate for our almonds. We dont have to reinvent a machine. But first you have to determine precisely what frequency and force is required for our almonds. This is where the S & T comes in. This is where we have been failing. When was the last time a scientific paper, peer reviewed, that has impact on the lives of ordinary Jamaicans, came out of the Faculty of Natural Sciences of the UWI. I would be interested to know.

There is a reason why it is called an Intellectual Ghetto..

I think you are absolutely right Maudib.

Rdoc, you asked a question that i have always been itching to ask. That is, does any of the UWI research facilities submit original research papers or literature reviews to popular Scientific Journals?

I recall reading about a research done on the Black River--to control pH (or something of that sort)...the aquatic life was dying.....

I figured that this would make a good paper to be submitted to the appropriate Scientific Journal........
                Last edited by HL; November 19, 2010, 04:35 PM.

They used to. It was the world leader in sickle cell research for many years. I haven't heard of any serious work coming out of that place in a long time. I guess little in little out. The faculty may be a bit lazy, if you dont mind my opinion

a wah ghetto do yuh

too busy failing people

really?!

Originally posted by 1of1 View Post
                          too busy failing people

I am using the definition of the word that is most appropriate in this case..

Tek a draw and cool down..

No, waiting for all Ja to wake up once more and say enough is enough. Change cannot come unless the people wants it.

And you don't include yourself among the people who can bring about this change?
                                You waiting for others to do the heavy lifting and then you can go sip latte with Maudib and company?