Another Jamaican opportunity....
While all that a true it woulda help if the assistant manager did save a little and build two room and rent out one, buy a little taxi and make him brethren run it as JUTA then him coulda build himself a guest house or a little transport business.
As long as they own it them a go look out fi them friend and relatives. We have fi look out fi our own too. Instead we drink it off inna guinness and "more gall" business.
As long as you inna the working class a same thing a go reach you. America is no different, tell me how many black hotel manager you see inna NY state?- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
yes as long as we don't own anything them a go choose the few who them want. We have to find ways to invest and build wealth.
I know you don't just sit and wait on "the man" paycheck but you try other things and you a your own boss there. As long as they own they use every excuse to pick there own.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Assasin you are missing a few points. First of all, the government needs to protect jobs for our citizens, not just lower level jobs, but top or very top level jobs. You also cant expect that every time a student graduate with a management qualification, he has to build or buy his own hotel if he is to get a job he is qualified for in his own country. This idea of defaulting to the NY state comparison is a terrible argument, and clearly the wrong one. No matter what you think of the USA, they have strong labour laws that protect minority workers. In fact a black man has a better chance of legal redress against discrimination in the US courts than in the Jamaican courts. The truth is,he has no legal recourse in the Jamaican courts, because there are no laws to protect him in his own country. If, in the USA, you can prove that you have been overlooked for promotion, despite being more qualified than the white men who got the job, trust me, you stand a good chance of getting well compensated in the courts. On the issue of number of black hotel managers in NY, the question is, what percentage of the NY state population is black. Jamaica is 98% black. Also tourism is a product. Tourists dont visit Jamaica mostly because of the hotels, they visit because of the beauty of the country. The hotel is an important tool for delivering that product, and to exploit the beauty of Jamaica, the hotel could only be built in Jamaica. Without the product there would be no tool. In most instances the Jamaican has 1 or 2 degrees from his local, reputable university, and was born and raised in the product being sold. The european comes with only his high school degree, a surfboard and a dirty pair board shorts and flip flops. Then the Jamaican has to not only familiarize him with the specific product, but also has to teach him the basics of hotel management in general. Then the puppet becomes the puppet master. Does not make sense. They dont do this in India, the UAE, or China, and we have better educated people in hospitality management than the Indians, Arabs or Chinese. What we dont have are better educated politicians.
On the money as usual..
I predict that Assasin will come back with some tangential inanity... missing the point.
Prove me wrong Sass...pleaseTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
But hold on..I thought that was what Black Man Time was about.. the rise of the Black Man to the Higher Heights... new Banking class.. new captains of financial industry....
Well.. it was a nice idea.. unfortunately dem nevah count on di 'likkle black boy from Westmoreland.."
Di white man (wid di black heart) did say DON'T DO IT !.. but dem probably figure is di white oppressor fighting black man..
"A man seh him know me for 40 years.. then try to shub some documents through my window.. he does not KNOW me.." -PJ
"There is certain to be disaster, when the slave becomes the master"
Emancipate yuhself from mental slavery first.. oddawise.. disaster....
Nuhbaddy cyaan teach wi nutting !
Certainly not di colonialist, imperialist white man..
Dats probably while while we were sending our people to Cuba and Russia, Lee Kuan was sending his to Harvard, MIT and Oxford...
and the rest is History..
The fact is the man with money will always have first priority who he employees. The fact is we have to find a way to build capital to employ our own people.
Yes there are laws in the US that protect discrimination but that don't mean it doesn't exists. The fact is as long as we don't have the capital we will never be promoted to the extent we want. Take a look at Sunset Grand and you will see most of its management teams are black Jamaicans not white men. This is because Mr they have faith and have been working with the Jamaican workforce for a long time.
I am certain if you have your son and send him to college in the states when he comes back you are going to put him in management too. The Chinese will want to carry their workers. In every major depart of the spanish hotels there are spanish people, The investor class in Ja is no different. It is also done to protect their interest and don't think in some cases they are not been fleese. I have seen it.
Yes I support people been promoted on merit and you also make a blanket statement not talking about the cases where black Jamaicans have been promoted such as John Lynch, Wayne Cummings, Myrthle Dwyer and others. Also to say the European only come with high school degree is a lie in many cases. It is simple you are using one or two cases to generalise. In some cases they come with real qualification.
Until that day we can invest in our own and grow our own business we are at whoever come mercy. There is oppurtunity for black Jamaicans in tourism and we have to take advantage of it, not stay deh and wait only on the white man or brown man who unnu hate so much to promote us and justify our work.
Read the Banana man poem again.
also listen to the words of the Trini prime minister on the subject matter of AID.Last edited by Assasin; November 20, 2010, 11:52 AM.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
prophecy fulfilledTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Reggaedoc View PostAssasin you are missing a few points. First of all, the government needs to protect jobs for our citizens, not just lower level jobs, but top or very top level jobs. You also cant expect that every time a student graduate with a management qualification, he has to build or buy his own hotel if he is to get a job he is qualified for in his own country. This idea of defaulting to the NY state comparison is a terrible argument, and clearly the wrong one. No matter what you think of the USA, they have strong labour laws that protect minority workers. In fact a black man has a better chance of legal redress against discrimination in the US courts than in the Jamaican courts. The truth is,he has no legal recourse in the Jamaican courts, because there are no laws to protect him in his own country. If, in the USA, you can prove that you have been overlooked for promotion, despite being more qualified than the white men who got the job, trust me, you stand a good chance of getting well compensated in the courts. On the issue of number of black hotel managers in NY, the question is, what percentage of the NY state population is black. Jamaica is 98% black. Also tourism is a product. Tourists dont visit Jamaica mostly because of the hotels, they visit because of the beauty of the country. The hotel is an important tool for delivering that product, and to exploit the beauty of Jamaica, the hotel could only be built in Jamaica. Without the product there would be no tool. In most instances the Jamaican has 1 or 2 degrees from his local, reputable university, and was born and raised in the product being sold. The european comes with only his high school degree, a surfboard and a dirty pair board shorts and flip flops. Then the Jamaican has to not only familiarize him with the specific product, but also has to teach him the basics of hotel management in general. Then the puppet becomes the puppet master. Does not make sense. They dont do this in India, the UAE, or China, and we have better educated people in hospitality management than the Indians, Arabs or Chinese. What we dont have are better educated politicians.
Yes but Assasin, the fact that this can happen, even once, in a country which is short on jobs, and long on qualified people is a disgrace. To add insult to injury, the lagislators are so stupid or afraid that they cant even enact laws to protect their own citizens. Name me one local hotel executive, of foreign nationality, for whom there isn't at least 1 Jamaican, more qualified , to manage the "tool used to exploit the Jamaican product". The product is our land, sea, culture, heritage, food, music etc. The hotel is a vehicle/tool use to harness the wealth from that product. The Ritz in Mumbai has an Indian manager, the Hilton in Rome has an Italian manager, why should it be any different for Jamaicans. What do we have, half a brain.
Who own the Hylton in Mubai? and the one in Rome? I thought the Hilton was a chain.
Again we have to start owning our own. Later I will give you a list of my fellow students who have progressed up the chain. While we can do better, it is not all bad. I will share a little with you later.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.