Can someone tell us who is James Robertson ?

Sigh, Sikko no one was questioning your credentials or knowledge of thirty years. The lawyer for James Robertson(Patrick Bailey) said the allegations were made in a legal affidavit and as long as they are stated as allegations he has no recourse to sue any media entity that publishes them as such. If he is indeed wrong as you assert then Robertson should consider new legal counsel cause this one not serving his interest at all.

This post was made at the wrong place but dont get me wrong I was not being defensive or thin skinned re my tenure and you need to learn to recognise sarcasm when you see it...

some ships involved

even media biz people need lawyers to advise them about the law

Sickko a gwaan like Bruce Golding, bypassing the courts when it suits him.

heh heh!

look like him tek a page out of PJ book..

i am so out of the loop... all i am hearing is 'allegations'... all now i am yet to read anything about the 'allegations'... can someone post a link to the allegations so i can be up to date...

Seriously, it's a failing of our news media to have a story that leaves out the facts. The Observer ran no less than two stories on this Robertson issue without telling people what the allegations were about. DUMB!
                  This type of reportage is normal practice for the Jamaican media...par for the course unfortunately

cyber attack...probably Built by Labour

welcome to political war.. 21st Century styleee...

Suh wait.. how yuh define a virus ?

Dem wuss dan Termites...

Me nevah know what you did really mean when you say this is now Brown Man Time. Me no brown but me embarrassed for unuh.

Cyaan be wuss dan Black Man Time..

Don't know if we will every fully recover from dat one..

I had the same problem with the report. You are right, it seems to be the standard of journalism in the island for the most part. Are most of the jounalists graduates of the Institute on Mass Comm, UWI, or are they straight out of high school, without professional training?. Either way, it leaves much to be desired. After reading a story, you have more questions to be answered, than before you read the story.

Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
                                I had the same problem with the report. You are right, it seems to be the standard of journalism in the island for the most part. Are most of the jounalists graduates of the Institute on Mass Comm, UWI, or are they straight out of high school, without professional training?. Either way, it leaves much to be desired. After reading a story, you have more questions to be answered, than before you read the story.
                                Sadly I suspect it doesn't matter where or with what credentials they graduated with. They enter an environment which imposes a "positive" feedback loop for sloppy journalism. Mainly because there is little competition (only 2 major newspapers), political links in management (which compromises what they can or are willing to report) and an air of "just do the bare minimum" kind of standards (which is reflected in society at large). Plus their customer base can't be bothered to demand better (and those that do want better simply ignore them and move on to other forms of media/news dissemination). Even if a journalist came from the NYT or The Times they would probably quickly find their work degrading to the same standard as everyone else's.