Can someone tell us who is James Robertson ?

Portia and Babsy are the epitome of personable. Not suggeseting they shot up through the ranks!!!

Originally posted by Me View Post
      Seaga did not like him because of his shady dealings. Robertson along with another younger party member cuss off Seaga, tell him couple cloth and where him must go.
      Too lie! Yuh nuh hear say Robertson doan know how fi cuss badwud?
      Him seh suh himself!

Why have the Lazies and the Maudibs of this Forum suddenly gone deafeningly silent? A coulda wah suh?!?

Anyway, I think we know everything we need to know about Robertson. Thanks, Forumites!

I hope something comes from this. Probably won't. And that something does not necessarily mean a conviction or an extradition or any thing. Just the TRUTH, and the whole of it!!! Is that too much to ask?

PM me, i still not sure what this is about!

Gunnarks both.

Are you the only one who doesn't subscribe to the Sunday Herald?

Seriously, it's a failing of our news media to have a story that leaves out the facts. The Observer ran no less than two stories on this Robertson issue without telling people what the allegations were about. DUMB!

The media cannot plea youthful exuberance and just run and print every allegation that have been made, no matter where it was made as it is still not proved to be true na matter how we may feel about the strength of said allegations.

Ian Johnson made the allegations and under law, it is he who needs to prove them right.

If the media houses run and publish everything that werer alleged and then they were proved to be false, the Robertson family would own all the media houses in jamaica the next day.

I think you wrong here. The media posts allegations of crimes evey day. If the allegations are proved to be false this is also reported. In this case the allegations were made in a legal submission to the U.S. authorities it is public news. No media organization can be sued for repeating charges made in a legal submission. The lawyer for James Robertson has said the same.

Really now? You sure about that? Go do some reading and see why the Gleaner paid Anthony Abrahams a bag of money

A taxi driver, farmer or shopkeeper would have far less to lose from their names being sullied than say a Government minister, actor, singer etc and so compensation would be way bigger.

But dont take my word for it, I have only been in the media business nearly 30 years so what do I know, do your own reading up.
                    Last edited by Sickko; November 17, 2010, 10:59 AM.

So after all is said and done, you have a man who is appoined Minister of Mining and Energy who apparntly has no back ground in that industry and is now allegedly accused of wanting to kill people?

This is a joke! Would love to know how does a PM decide on his cabinet.

Brings back memories of the Arabian horse breeder who Bush appointed as head of FEMA while Katrina killed 2,000 people and wiped out a maojor US city.

God help us.

yuh nuh hear say him overqualified?

When you want to tek down JPS.. yuh haffi hiyah a Hit Man...

JPS ah one serious beast...

Dont agree he has to have expertise in the area, it would help but not a requirement...what medical expertise does the health minsiter have and the JLP has more than one medical doctor as MP they could ahve chosen if that was a prerequisite.

The Ministers are more adminiustrators than anything else.

BTW the Senior advisor in the Ministry of Mining and Energy is a Cornwall College grad, Class of 84.

Permanant Secretaries are the chief admin officers of the Ministry.

Ministers are there to craft policy and oversee their implementation in a hands off way.

I tried accessing the herald site and got a massive virus warning...even using a Mac, so I backed off...