Putting out a distress call

lol !!

If mi haffi ansah fi yuh prove your point (or lack thereof) dawg nyam yuh suppah.

Mi close out dis out long time ah nuh need nuh ansah from yuh.

IF ??

"The Atlas Method is a method used by the World Bank to estimate the size of economies in terms of gross national income (GNI) in U.S. dollars.
      The country GNI in national currency is converted into U.S. dollars using the Atlas conversion factor, which uses a three-year average of exchange rates to smooth effects of transitory exchange rate fluctuations, adjusted for the difference between the rate of inflation in the country (using the country's GDP deflator), and that in a number of developed countries (using a weighted average of the countries' GDP deflators in SDR terms).[1]
      The World Bank favors the Atlas Method for comparing the relative size of economies and uses it to classify countries in low, middle and high-income categories and to set lending eligibilities in order to reduce short-term fluctuations in country classification"

Clearly yuh lost..

lol !!

I think you missed the part where it's stated that this method is useful in COMPARING different countries...and for CATEGORIZATION of said economies into segments

No one uses this type of statistical gymnastics to analyse & understand growth over time within the same country...it's not useful in that scenario..it will lead people like you & your acolytes astray

So to conflate this statistical technique in circumstances outside just comparing economies, with the GNI number (which has declined in the past 3 years if the technique is not applied)...is disingenuous...but you have succeeded in confusing some on the board

what is used to track growth or decline within the same country.. is the GDP or GNI number ...without..the gymnastics...i.e the curve

Glad you declared that you are not an economist....not that one needs to be to ovastand the concepts involved..

Here endeth this particular lesson... but since it amuses you..feel free to continue the idiotic argument that Jamaica's income has grown 20% in the recession...
        Last edited by Don1; November 15, 2010, 02:46 PM.

Answering the question will establish that your argument is ridiculous...otherwise u would have no problem doing so..

INCOME = OUTPUT OR PRODUCTION.... so 20% increased income in the macro economy is identical TO A 20% increase in output...

Has a 20% increase occurred in the past 3 YEARS...NO... there's been a decline

STORY DUN..

mi gawn...yuh cyan tan deh LoL!

lol !!

The favoring of use in one area does speak to non-use otherwise.

Nice try.

You just conveniently ignored 3/4 of the treatment..

Let me translate for you.

1. The World Bank used Atlas to estimate size of economies in terms of Gross National Income. (PERIOD)

2. The World bank favors this method for comparing the relative size of economies and used it to classify countries in low, middle, and high income.

So endeth the lesson and so endeth your rather pathetic situation.

wait, how mi miss dis?

yuh lucky! a delete dis fi get delete!

Statistics not withstanding, just common sense, and I do know that it is common why we all have it, would tend to strongly suggest that a country which produces very little, except for our tourism product, could not have a 20% growth, even in nonrecessinary times, let alone during a near depression of the world's leading economies.

Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
                  Statistics not withstanding, just common sense, and I do know that it is common why we all have it, would tend to strongly suggest that a country which produces very little, except for our tourism product, could not have a 20% growth, even in nonrecessinary times, let alone during a near depression of the world's leading economies.
                  I guess common sense is over-rated

but you spent 4 days talking about it. mi smartah dan dat! and I am living that developed country experience!

Jamaica nice!!

20% Growth....?

Critical Thinking.. not common sense applies here.. examine your assumptions..