H.L I saw an article in TIME magazine

yuh nuh hear mi seh nuh fi smoke it ?

Mi reduce it to a fundamental philosophy.. yuh nuh need fi engage innah long cockey argument..

What yuh tink dis is ? an 'Average Income' debate ?

Does that justify not making marijuana illegal. The marketing of alcohol to youths should be equally illegal. No argument there, if thats the argument you are trying to make.

What we need in Jamaica is a massive education campaign against marijuana usage coupled with strict enforcement of laws that are already on the books. Not the legalization of marijuana. In fact cigarette smoking should also be treated the same way.

Driving under the influence of any drug should be illegal.

I would treat it more or less like how we deal with alcohol. You need to be licensed to sell it, you cannot use it while driving, operating heavy equipment, etc.

Heh, heh... yuh going down a slippery slope.. bettah yuh cool and live you life and low di next man...

You all over the place, settle down and try find some length and line with you bowling.

I gave you an example of where ganja has shown value, you tell me there are better drugs???? Thats the best you have? Come now, clearly that is not an argument for its illegality?

Explain to me why should a ganja plant growing in my yard, or in a pot in my house, be illegal? Is a mushroom growing in my yard illegal? Are grapes which can be used to make wine illlegal? Is a sugar cane plant that can be used to make rum illegal? Makes ZERO sense.

Makes no sense.
              Last edited by Islandman; November 17, 2010, 05:44 PM.

But not wine though. Its not like alcohol has ever killed anybody, don't?

Islandman. It is rather naive to even think that the abundant availability of ganja in Jamaica is due to chance, or growth due to pollination by insects or birds. The fact is it is due to purposeful, intentional agriculture/farming/planting, whatever you want to call it. That said, even if it appears in your yard as a wild shrub, the usage of it should still be illegal, given its deleteriousv effect it can have, and indeed is having on our population. The wild growth thing is old and washed up. I dont know of any well meaning person who is going to buy that excuse.

OK sah. We will have to agree to disagree.

I just don't get how you are so passionately against weed but agnostic about the effect that alcohol has on the population. How much man go bar and get drunk and then go home and beat up them woman? But true you is a rumhead (or winehead) you give that a pass and wouldn't march in the streets against the use of alcohol.

Should I have the right to own a machete ?

di man seh wi mus ban everyting that has a possible deleterious effect..

Mi hear seh sex can be mind altering.. all mek yuh stupid..

Come on guys. Letsw take this seruious. our country is losing possible great minds to drug abuse, including marijuana abuse daily. We have to try and reverse this slide.

yuh know say water can mek yuh drunk

Our country is losing great minds to brain drain and rampant waste of resource due to poor policy and govt indiscipline..

Marijuana use is illegal in Jamaica.. do you realize this ?

Ganja is di least ah wi problems..

Best slogan we could enforce is SAY NO TO DI PNP.... JUST SAY NO..

the funny things is there are so many people that smoke ganja, an people don't even know that dem smoke, cause dem a upstanding and productive members of society, an dem not going tell yuh dem indulge, i see a lot of the social ills of the country being placed at the foot of ganja, because the person normally associated wit ganja is
                                "dutty dread" or idlers "pon corner" but if dem did have dem work an come home come smoke dem spliff yuh wouldn't know or wouldn't care jus as some wouldn't care if yuh come home come tek a likkle sip a suppen strong