THE BUSH MEMOIRS Impressed with Obama, puzzled by McCain

• THE BUSH MEMOIRS Impressed with Obama, puzzled by McCain

McCain failed to do that, argues Bush, who says the Republican nominee’s grandstanding allowed Democrats to suggest that McCain was “erratic in crisis.” McCain demanded a White House meeting on the meltdown. Bush convened it, asked McCain for his plan and was shocked when the Republican nominee said he had nothing to add to the discussion.
    “I was puzzled,” writes Bush. “He had called for this meeting. I assumed he would come prepared to outline a way to get the bill passed.” Recalling the meeting, Bush concludes that: “What had started as a drama quickly descended into a farce.” It would, the former president argues, “have been comical except that the stakes were so high.”
    So who shined in a time of crisis? Bush was impressed with Barack Obama. Hailing the Democrat’s “calm demeanor” at the turbulent economic predicament, Bush writes that: “I thought it was smart when [Obama] informed the gathering that he was in constant contact with [Treasury Secretary Hank Paulson]. His purpose was to show that he was aware, in touch, and prepared to help get a bill passed.”
    In “Decision Points,” Bush praises Obama’s “smart, disciplined, high-tech campaign to get his young supporters to the polls.” He writes that: “On election night, I was moved by images of black men and women crying on TV. Barack Obama had campaigned on hope, and that was what he had given many Americans.”

More at ... http://www.northjersey.com/news/opin...sh_111210.html

Hope is true because at this time america is reaching junction where it's time to take another leap forward. At times I see the US akin to the "foundation" ( a series written by Isaac Assimov) where there were periods when you would have a Seldon crisis and both foundations at times were needed to addres it.

The US will continue to move forward; though you will have a "few" that want to keep her back in her current position (because things currently seem okay) My point: It's easy now to say "ah why a civil war"? "Isn't it obvious that slave labour could not compete with machines, hence pushing the Us to a third world status and leaving her vulnerable to Europe"? Well yes it's obvious at present but in the 19th century this was almost impossible to see by some.

The above also brings me to another argument (which is twofold in some ways) one is that of Garvey on intelligence. Garvey says intelligence will always beat back ignorance and will eventually come out the victor of the struggle. Last week Thursday I came home to see my wife and two sons watching War of the worlds. I joined although it was three quarter ways done. I turned to my wife and commented on the scene where the actors Tom Cruise and Tim Robbins struggled as the aliens came in the basement. I said l on the second level the film is denoting man struggling with himself in the face of danger/unknown with fear at its root ( remarked that this scene was of significance due to the length of time the camera stayed on it). One could also throw in the symbolic struggle of intelligence and ignorance there too. My humble opinion is that when faced with a new adversary the US tend to struggle with herself and intelligence coupled with vision prevails and she leaps forward (one can look at the struggle for independence, civil war and cold war/civil rights struggle of the 60s)

In my opinion the US has risen from being just a country but to an ideal similar to Rome or the fabled Atlantis. Intelligence will prevail and the "ideal" will reach another heights.
    Last edited by Jawge; November 14, 2010, 10:11 AM.

what ever became of rome and atlantis?

Are you asking or as man of knowledge, you already know?

i am asking if you know ..... or are you pulling a job 36 11?

well I spoke of an ideal, didn't I?

huh??!! tell yuh what....soon come.

LOL!!

Sir Gamma it has become manifestly clear that you are a glutton for punishment. Admirable.

Yeah, yeah. What's the point though? I'm the etrnal learner that takes along time to learn (your opinion). Even if I knew, you wouldn't listen to me. I'm surprised that a man as yourself (whose knowledge is complete) doesn't know what happen to the Roman empire. Ah well, "the more you live, the more you???"