• GDP Man.. mi haffi start a new thread

di hole yuh was digging did too deep.. this need fresh light

Have you even read the report dumb1…I suspect not. I think it is as Lazie says… An embarrassingly positive report about Jamaica is published and you are panicked into imbecilic action. You lash out with puerile and nonsensical drivel and will not countenance logic. There is a saying that defines people like you. It goes something like: one who knows not, and knows not he knows not, such a one is a fool.

Taken from the report that “no self respecting economist” would claim:

"Standard of living is now measured by Gross National Income (GNI) per capita in PPP US$, instead of Gross Domestic Product (GDP) per capita in PPP US$. While GDP is a measure of economic output, it does not reflect a country’s disposable income—some profits may be repatriated abroad, some residents receive remittances from abroad, and in some cases inbound aid flows may be sizeable. GNI adjusts the GDP for these factors and is therefore a better measure of a country’s level of income."

I think this should adequately clear up your misplaced misgivings…and in any case, you should not worry too much…if you read the report you will find that Jamaica is still below the regional average. But give DRIVA time... his government is still young and there is much left to do to banish forever that horrible memory of the previous 18 years.

In light of the above…I need for you to answer this question though.... because now I am genuinely confused... Of you and your caped crusader sidekick Mo, who is Batman and who is Robin?

Learned Forumites, please ignore the above.. I have been informed that it defies the laws of Mathematics and self-evident truths. this edict has come from none other than the foremost World Economist.. Sir Don "knowsnaught'..

Not even Courtney Walsh can test dem breed a 'leave alone'.. with a flourish and and OLE ! in Classic matador style followed by the clatter of his middle as it is rooted out of the ground...

Rispec DumbOne...

LoL Rear Admiral Red Herring fine one life raft... Purchasing Power Parity...or PPP...unfortunately for you this does not & cannot justify an increase in average income in a recession of 3 straight years of declining GDP.

Purchasing Power Parity was designed to better reflect differences in cost of living indices between disparate countries...and CANNOT explain a 20% rise in the SAME country when output is consistently falling...including remittances btw

Rear Admiral Red Herring ...try again... yuh still deh ah sea pon di issue
      Last edited by Don1; November 11, 2010, 01:41 PM.

yuh right Johnnie Redneck... your ignorance should be ignored

LOL !!!

"While GDP is a measure of economic output, it does not reflect a country’s disposable income—some profits may be repatriated abroad, some residents receive remittances from abroad, and in some cases inbound aid flows may be sizeable. GNI adjusts the GDP for these factors and is therefore a better measure of a country’s level of income"

Karreck yuhself DumbOne.. wheel and come again.. yuh GDP line get crush up.. start with GNI and come again..

Has GNI increased, decreased on remained the same between 2007 and 2009 ?

Or is a next set ah people calculate GNI vs di GDP dat yuh ah cling tuh ?

Is it mathematically possible for GNI trend be positive while GDP is negative ?

Yes.. mathematically impossible.. but irrelevant.. get yuh oranges and yuh apples sorted us fuss..

LOL !!

This one is a classic !
              LOL! Yuh neva ear peeple ah bawl seh remittance drap ...yuh cudda suh foolfool??

Johnnie Redneck..di remittance ting nuh wash...come up wid one nex Silicon Vally "theory"...LOL!

Grasping at straws now Rear Admiral... don't tell me you are claiming that remittances (which have declined) and aid funds (which have declined) and profit repatriation inward (which has declined) ... has resulted in 20% rise in disposable income... woiiee mi belly!!

I make no claims DumbOne..

YOU are making the claims. The report is in.

Since YOU have a problem with the 'mathematically impossible' report.. now that you have the BASIC elements in hand (your welcome) you can begin to debunk.

You can do it DumbOne.. just takes a bit of digging.. help the World Bank rectify this glaring error of mathematics where everything drop yet the final numbah biggah !

Show us the numbers DumbOne.. not interested in speculation and hyperbole (mathematically impossible)

LOL !!

Yuh mean like dis ? Dis kinda bawling ?

"On October 24th, 2008, the Bank of Jamaica (BOJ) released data on remittance flows to the economy. Net Remittance Flows for the first nine (9) months of 2008 has increased by 8.5% when compared to the corresponding month last year. This growth is against the backdrop of a 8.8% increase in remittance inflows and a 10.8% decline in outflows."

Do some real work DumbOne.. provide us with the remittance inflow for 2007.2008,2009

Do the math for us DumbOne !

show us di numbers DumbOne.. stap dancing..

Di UN put out numbah.. di World Bank put out numbah..

Mi inswinger knock out yuh mathematicaly impossible stumps. yuh in retreat but yuh still nah give up..

Mi nah discourage it..

We eagerly await Knowsnaught numbah..

Wi nuh interested in anecdote, gleanah report or hyperbole (mathematically impossible)

Fact wi deal wid.. show wi or shut yuh trap and hug up di report !

Seeit yah Redneck - remittance numba

2007 Inflow US1.96B

2008 Inflow US2.02B

2009 Inflow US$1.79B

BOJ ....pg 11

Oh...let's see if wi cyan get a net 20% INCREASE inna income offa dat..wen mebbe dis year wi aggo reach back to 2007 numba...LOL

Yuh flop yute...Redneck nuh reddy fi dis..LOL!

Try again DumbOne...

First start with NET remittance..

Den aftah dat yuh can turn yuh attention to all the other elements of GNI that are NOT addressed by GDP..

This hurts but trust me it is good for you AND imagine the ability to tell the World Bank dat dem cyaan add..

Dem shoulda did know sumting was wrong when di GNI graph trend up but di GDP graph trend down ! (Mathematically impossible)

Clearly dem calculator stop work when dem start duh di GNI calculations..

Maybe dem shoulda use di same calculator dat dem use fi work out di GDP calculations...

numba show REDneck... but yuh nuh reddy fi it

Mi waan yuh guh public an tell Jamaican seh dem income ah rise...LOL!

Wheh dem deh ?

Mi only si di UN and World Bank numbah dem

Wheh your numbah dem.. min ongly hear yuh a chat bout GDP..

Show us your GNI numbers

Yuh can start off wid di basics.. di trend

Up, Down, Static.. what happen is only the GDP page yuh find.. wheh di GNI page deh ?