• What are you having for dinner?

Scientists discover unknown lizard species at lunch buffet

By Brian Walker, CNN
    STORY HIGHLIGHTS
    • Villagers have been eating the local lizards in restaurants
    • The species is unique: all of the lizards are female
    • Many new "discoveries" are old news to locals

(CNN) -- It may be an old menu standby to Vietnamese diners, but it's turned into a smorgasbord of discovery for scientists.
    Researchers have identified a previously undocumented species of all-female lizard in the Mekong River delta that can reproduce itself by cloning, and the story of how it was discovered is almost as exotic as the animal itself.
    Leiolepis ngovantrii is a small lizard found only in southern Vietnam. A Vietnamese reptile scientist who came across tanks full of the remarkably similar looking reptiles at small diners in rural villages in Ba Ria-Vung Tau province became intrigued when he noticed that all of the lizards appeared to be female.

http://edition.cnn.com/2010/LIVING/1...iref=allsearch

I am just sick to my stomach right now.

knock-it offff.

seems high in protein to me.

Could kick it up a notch by jerking or bbq-ing...

The possibilities are endless>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

knock-it offff.

seems high in protein to me.

Could kick it up a notch by jerking or bbq-ing...

The possibilities are endless>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
        but I don't like it! the food is creepy!

how about I eat just the vegebles? waah!

Look like it would taste good deep fried, and a likkle hot sauce pon the side!

unnu stop! cause none a unnu would even remain in that restaurant if unnu see dat pon it!

suh what uglier dan lobstah !?

people eat lobster?!?

there endeth that chapter of this chronicle!

unnu stop! cause none a unnu would even remain in that restaurant if unnu see dat pon it!

Mo - you can ALWAYS count on me! Mi get that in any restaurant - me gone, see you lata Nah nyam it, dat's why me walked with me crackers and cheese when I went to China.

did you discover the article BEFORE or after you had this meal?

Leave Mo alone - arn't you having great sailing weather

Mmmmmmmmmm taste like chicken.......
                          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

NOPE!!!!! will be good for fishing in a day or 2 though.

Apparently, you missed this part:

So what does a plate full of Leiolepis ngovantrii taste like?
                              Well, nothing remotely like chicken, Grismer says.
                              "You wouldn't want to substitute it for a Big Mac or anything like that," he says, and you won't see lizard banh mi showing up on menus anytime soon.
                              Grismer complained that he had to hold his breath while eating the local dish to appear polite to the restaurant owners.
                              "You take a bite out of it and it feels like something very old and dead in your mouth," he said.
                              that's the most insipid description of food i have ever read!