With all our problems - leaving no stone unturned?!?

• With all our problems - leaving no stone unturned?!?

Green with rage!

Tivoli residents upset over spray-painting of ‘PNP’-flavoured graffiti in community

Kimmo Matthews
    Wednesday, November 10, 2010

THE police are investigating the spray-painting of People's National Party (PNP) slogans on several buildings in Tivoli Gardens, the West Kingston community that is fiercely loyal to the ruling Jamaica Labour Party (JLP).
    Residents of the community said they woke up yesterday morning to find several walls plastered in orange paint, some with the letters 'PNP'.

A woman expresses her disgust at the orange-coloured graffiti. (Photos: Lionel Rookwood)

A Jamaica Labour Party T-shirt is put on this youngster during yesterday’s demonstration.

A woman expresses her disgust at the orange-coloured graffiti. (Photos: Lionel Rookwood)
    1/2

The act sparked an immediate visit from Prime Minister and Member of Parliament for West Kingston Bruce Golding and Councillor Desmond McKenzie, who toured the area as dozens of angry residents clad in green T-shirts — the trademark colour of the JLP — demonstrated and voiced their disgust at the graffiti.

"We will not leave any stones unturned until we get to the bottom of this," Renford Rowe, head of the Tivoli Gardens Police Post, told the Observer yesterday.

Rowe warned that strong disciplinary action would be taken against anyone, police included, if any of them were found guilty of partaking in the illegal act.

The senior policeman made the statement as he tried to calm the angry residents, who said they felt offended by the graffiti that sent a wrong signal that they were switching political allegiance.

"Can you imagine how shocked I was when I woke up to find the place spray-painted in with the letters 'PNP'," said one woman.

"PNP can't get yah so; JLP we say for life," shouted one man.

During his tour yesterday, Golding raised questions as to how the incident happened when the community was under 24-hour protection by police and soldiers.

"I will not make any speculation, but will wait until the investigations are complete," Golding said.

But one woman, who shared the prime minister's sentiments, blamed members of the security forces for the 'offensive' graffiti.

"After the attack on the community people could hardly move, so it is puzzling that someone could come in the area and do this and the police don't see," the woman said.

The woman was speaking of the May incursion by members of the security forces to apprehend former Tivoli don Christopher 'Dudus' Coke to face drug-trafficking and gunrunning charges in the United States.

More than 70 persons, including one soldier, were killed during the battle which saw gunmen in a barricaded Tivoli Gardens trading bullets with police and soldiers over two days.

Coke is now in a New York prison awaiting trial.

The act sparked an immediate visit from Prime Minister and Member of Parliament for West Kingston Bruce Golding and Councillor Desmond McKenzie, who toured the area as dozens of angry residents clad in green T-shirts — the trademark colour of the JLP — demonstrated and voiced their disgust at the graffiti.

"We will not leave any stones unturned until we get to the bottom of this," Renford Rowe, head of the Tivoli Gardens Police Post, told the Observer yesterday.

The senior policeman made the statement as he tried to calm the angry residents, who said they felt offended by the graffiti that sent a wrong signal that they were switching political allegiance.

"Can you imagine how shocked I was when I woke up to find the place spray-painted in with the letters 'PNP'," said one woman.

"PNP can't get yah so; JLP we say for life," shouted one man.

During his tour yesterday, Golding raised questions as to how the incident happened when the community was under 24-hour protection by police and soldiers.

"I will not make any speculation, but will wait until the investigations are complete," Golding said.

But one woman, who shared the prime minister's sentiments, blamed members of the security forces for the 'offensive' graffiti.

"After the attack on the community people could hardly move, so it is puzzling that someone could come in the area and do this and the police don't see," the woman said.
    are we frikking serious?! the Prime Minister has to take a tour of the constituency because of some graffiti that most likely was the work of some labourite con artist?!?!?

- Renford nuh have nutten fi do? Renford know say people still a extort downtown biznizmen? how much stones him tunnover in dat regard?!?

and do we have the most stupid people in the world? shouldn't be too hard on dem still. is di politicians who have left them in their tribal, ignorant, shiftless ways. but lawd man!

btw, how much unnu waan bet dat Lazie nuh see nutten wrong wid dis?

Anyway, Bruce, glad to see you quickly on the scene. if only you had acted this amount of alacrity when the extradition request first hit your desk.

mosiah...where were you last night?

LOL. Serve Bruce right fi run over him foot. All now the PM don't realize this is part of Mo's plan to hasten his retirement. A one chessmaster inna de lawn. Mo mek de labourite dem a run up and down.

Ignorance is bliss

Politicians, dunce and ignorant people....bwoy wen dem link-up trouble..why wud another party slogan b such a big deal..Shouldnt the crime and uproar be against grafitti
          "Everyone who knows me understands that I hold no prejudices in this regard....In the family atmosphere of the {RBSC}telethon, I forget that not everyone knows me that well." ....attributed to Jerry Lewis....

why? yuh see mi car park up somewhere? is not me one drive Escalade a Jamaica! it wasn't me!

Shaggy would be proud.

suh wait.. yuh nevah si how quick dem engage Mannat ??

Yuh want more alacrity dan dat ?

now dat is true!

What a JACKASS!

Tivoli Graffiti Angers Golding
                    Published: Wednesday | November 10, 201060 Comments and 0 Reactions

A student of St Anne's Primary School walks by the divisional office of councillor for Tivoli Gardens, Desmond McKenzie, where graffiti endorsing the People's National Party was painted.
                    1 2 >
                    Arthur Hall, Senior Stafff Reporter

Member of Parliament for West Kingston, Prime Minister Bruce Golding, is demanding answers from the police about who spray-painted pro-People's National Party (PNP) graffiti on several premises in the communities of Denham Town and Tivoli Gardens Tuesday morning.

Golding, who is also leader of the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP), visited the constituency yesterday while residents were still enraged about the 'PNP' markings which had been painted.

"I don't want to speculate, but what is curious is that this area has been under tight police and military surveillance so there are several people who are going to have to answer some questions," Golding told journalists in Tivoli Gardens.

"Something like what has gone on throughout the area last night could not have happened without being observed," added Golding.

According to the West Kingston MP: "The one thing that I will dismiss is that the graffiti that was painted here was done by duppies from over the May Pen Cemetery."

Councillor for Tivoli, Desmond McKenzie, was also adamant that the police should provide quick answers.

"I can't see how, in a community that has been under siege by the security forces 24 hours a day, something like this could happen," McKenzie told The Gleaner.

Investigations started

But up to late yesterday, the police, who have been operating from a post in Tivoli Gardens since late May, were unable to say who spray-painted the buildings.

"We are doing our investigations and we will make a full statement when we are done," head of the Police Area Four, Superintendent Terrence Bent, told The Gleaner.

"We need to find out who did the graffiti and what was their motive," added Bent, noting that people are usually present throughout the night at some of the spray-painted areas.

Bent said the police operating in West Kingston would review their processes to ensure that such incidents are not repeated.

But that was not enough for the angry residents, who claimed they already know who defaced the buildings.

The residents woke yesterday morning to find 'PNP' spray-painted in red on several buildings and they believe it was done by members of the security forces.

According to one woman, she saw three Jamaica Defence Force soldiers and one policeman painting the graffiti.

"When them mark the PNP on the wall down there so, them ask me if me don't like me colour, if me nah switch, and me just start cuss them and tell them say I born as Labourite and I will die a Labourite," the woman told The Gleaner.

She pointed to school walls, power poles, houses and even McKenzie's office in Denham Town which bore the graffiti.

Committed to JLP

As news of the graffiti spread, some residents took to the streets declaring their commitment to the JLP.

"We nah switch. We love we MP and we love we party," declared one woman.

"Them rude fi come here come paint up PNP. We a rock stone Labourite and no care what we have a family business and we nah switch," said another woman.

"Yes, we have a dispute since them come fi the 'President' (Christopher Coke) but that don't mean say we a go turn PNP. A Bruce we say all the way," the woman added.

That dispute she referred to surrounds the massive incursion into Tivoli Gardens by the security forces to capture Coke, a community enforcer who was wanted to answer charges in the United States.

More than 70 civilians were killed during the incursion and Coke was later captured and extradited, sparking criticisms of Golding by some in the constituency.

But McKenzie told The Gleaner that most of those broken fences have been repaired.

"You have some people who are still hurting, but not hurting to this extent. We have gotten over the worst of it but I find it strange that days before the West Kingston conference, which is scheduled for Sunday, and the party's annual conference in a couple of weeks, we have seen this," added McKenzie.

"God forgive we so we can forgive Bruce Golding, and we not switching," declared one woman, who was obviously listening to the interview with her councillor.

arthur.hall@gleanerjm.com

Wow. Is the adult in the photo one of our esteemed, enlightened ctizens, in the age of information, or another in the long line of useful-idiots for a political party. If I were to place a bet I know which I would bet that she is. After 40 years of independence, very little has really changed.

This really shows how far Jamaica needs to go in order to be a civilised society, serioulsy graffitti? Does that really warrant political intervention? On the other hand, they are probably reacting that way because they know certian PNP activists are ready and waiting to "convert" Tivoli. Seriously, who's gonna stop this type of politics?

I do remember several members on here saying that Bruce would never win an election in Tivoli and couldn't show his face down there etc. That clearly isn't true. You could literally do anything to the people in the garrions and they would still vote for "their" party smh....

Originally posted by MissLondon View Post
                            I do remember several members on here saying that Bruce would never win an election in Tivoli and couldn't show his face down there etc. That clearly isn't true. You could literally do anything to the people in the garrions and they would still vote for "their" party smh....
                            anybody who thinks so really doesn't understand this tribal, garrison thing. i think the numbers will drop considerably in terms of those who turn out to vote, but whoever the JLP put to run in that constituency will win, a coulda one monkey!

Are we going to spend valuable police resources to find out who spray painted graffitti in a particular area? This type of things are done regularly in Jamaica without any investigation. Is this bacause it is Tivoli, a JLP stronghold and constituency of the PM? Why the PM not just appoint a commission of inquiry. The PM is right the graffitti were not painted by duppies from May Pen cemetary. It could very well be disenchanted labourite in Tivoli. - Gleaner comment