Jamaica "Highly Developed".. LOL! Driva doan tap atall!

• Jamaica "Highly Developed".. LOL! Driva doan tap atall!

Jamaica now 'highly developed', according to UN
    Wednesday, November 10, 2010

JAMAICA jumped 20 positions to rank 80 worldwide on the Human Development Report 2010 published by the United Nations (UN) allowing the island to break from Medium to High Human Development status.

Its the best result in 30 years for the country struggling with crime the report released Thursday indicated. Jamaica's greatest improvement came in its rise in life expectancy by almost one year to 72 and average annual income up 20 per cent from some US$6,100 in 2007 to some US$7,200, the report stated.

The improvement this year was not perfectly comparable with the 2009 report due to the introduction of new inequality adjustments on each of the three main grading criteria of education, health and income. Another factor partially influencing Jamaica's ranking was the exclusion of 13 countries from this year's report. Notwithstanding, this year's rank still bettered the country's average rank since 1980 at 83 according to data from the report.
    Jamaica ranked at:
    * 80 amongst 169 countries in 2010;
    * 100 amongst 182 countries in 2009;
    * 101 amongst 177 countries in 2007/8; and
    * 87 amongst 130 countries in 1990.
    The improvement rocketed the island from Medium Human Development to High Human Development but its gains are threatened by the drop in its Human Development Index (HDI) from 0.766 in 2009 to 0.688 in 2010.

Barbados continues to remain in the Very High Human Development category whilst Trinidad & Tobago ranked at 59 needs less than a five per cent rise in its HDI to enter that category. Jamaica needs a 15 per cent rise in its HDI to reach Very High Development status.

Additional information found in the report states that Jamaica has the second highest homicide rate at 59.5 per 100,000 persons next to Honduras at 60.9. Additionally it stated that 46 per cent of Jamaicans feel safe in the country with only four per cent of those reporting having been a victim of crime.
    The report also referenced that Jamaica was hurt by labour laws negatively affecting women.

"Labour regulations contribute to women's exclusion in some countries; in Egypt, Jamaica and Pakistan women are not allowed to work at night or in certain industries," it stated.

Gelding ah one genius... 3 consecutive years of negative growth..yet he increases per capita income 20%!!

****************!! weh dat Hard Talk intaview deh???

Gelding ah one genius... 3 consecutive years of negative growth..yet he increases per capita income 20%!!

****************!! weh dat Hard Talk intaview deh???
      at dat rate him, coulda lie likkle more!

So are all Jamaica's rankings wrong, or just the (relatively) positive ones?

Welcome to the negitive Jamaican board where nothing positive happen round here, a just negitive. What we can't achieve and the good is the exception and not because of the our fighting spirit and good community background we have.

not at all!

Bruce, wi need more lies from yuh!

Yeas Assassin I noticed that! lol
                However, I think people believe whatever suits their political agenda. I mean if you goin to pour scorn on the statistics for 2010 then you must do the same for 2009 and 2008 etc as well, which means that you may as well not take any notice of these reports at all lol. Afterall, the same process was used to produce this report as last years and the year before.

i think we give all of these ratings too much respect, the good and the bad.

not at all!

Bruce, wi need more lies from yuh!
                    But what does this have to do with Bruce? He compiled the report?

Or are you worried he may be given credit?

i think we give all of these ratings too much respect, the good and the bad.
                      I agree!

lawks, you tek me too seriously sometimes!

One can see that economics is not your strong suit...in fact the ongly strong suit you might have is chatting BS...

Explain if you can, how it is possible to have a 20% rise in per capita income in 3 years...when there has been negative growth in GDP every year over that period...

Feel free to check the Hard Talk interview before you answer..LOL!

and one can see that reading is not your strong suit...

Where yuh read 'per capita income' in that report ?

Is a good ting yuh nuh haffi read the transcript from di Hard Talk interview..

One can see that economics is not your strong suit...in fact the ongly strong suit you might have is chatting BS...

Explain if you can, how it is possible to have a 20% rise in per capita income in 3 years...when there has been negative growth in GDP every year over that period...

Feel free to check the Hard Talk interview before you answer..LOL!
                              I'm not sure who your referring to, but I made not comment about the substance of the report at all. My point is that this report is just as valid as the last year's and the year before etc. So if this is inaccurate in your eyes, so must they all be, and if that's the case, why pay any attention to them at all? lol