and decided to look up what's going on today with the stars. Turns out James MacArthur (Dan Williams) died just over a week ago. He was sidekick to Jack Lord (Steve McGarrett) in the mega-hit of my childhood, Hawaii Five-O!
"MacArthur grew up around the greatest literary and theatrical talent of the time. Lillian Gish was his godmother, and his family guests included Ben Hecht, Harpo Marx, Robert Benchley, Beatrice Lillie, John Barrymore, and John Steinbeck." - that's some cast to be surrounded by! He was destined for greatness, it seems.
Funny how today's urban youth refer to cops as 5-O. I wonder if they have even a clue where that phrase came from? Of course, 5-O itself came from the fact that Hawaii is the 50th state.
To this day, I can't think of a better TV theme song than Hawaii Five-O's. Not even Cheers. Listen to it again and remember the good, old days.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AepyG...eature=related
Lionpaw, ask yuh parents about it. Don't bodda mi right now.
"MacArthur grew up around the greatest literary and theatrical talent of the time. Lillian Gish was his godmother, and his family guests included Ben Hecht, Harpo Marx, Robert Benchley, Beatrice Lillie, John Barrymore, and John Steinbeck." - that's some cast to be surrounded by! He was destined for greatness, it seems.
Funny how today's urban youth refer to cops as 5-O. I wonder if they have even a clue where that phrase came from? Of course, 5-O itself came from the fact that Hawaii is the 50th state.
To this day, I can't think of a better TV theme song than Hawaii Five-O's. Not even Cheers. Listen to it again and remember the good, old days.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AepyG...eature=related
Lionpaw, ask yuh parents about it. Don't bodda mi right now.