Is the JLP a Minority Party or Is Jamaica just PNP Country?

• Is the JLP a Minority Party or Is Jamaica just PNP Country?

Top 5 Reasons why the JLP is a Minority Party:

1. It best represents the class interests of Jamaica's white/red/brown elites

2. Its leadership ranks are are over-represented by said white/red/brown elites

3. Regardless of pigmentation..the party accommodates a "Brown Power" philosophy

4. What's the problem...doesn't the PNP have the same profile & class orientation??

5. Man tap yuh fooliniss...Outameni One wi ah deal wid.. dem skin colour ting deh juss ah stir up more unnecessary prablem

Race/Class/Colour and especially how these issues impact the country's development (or lack thereof) is a subject Jamaicans are generally uncomfortable discussing... so they don't

That head in the sand attitude is kinda silly... why ignore a 800 lb gorilla in a small room?

Someday that gorilla will gi yuh one b1tch lick... in fact Jamaicans absorb those blows on a daily basis...through massive crime, political tribalism and social decay... so we ignore & fail to deal with the issue at the cost of continued under-development
    Last edited by Don1; November 6, 2010, 09:31 AM.

Glad you touched on this topic. Yes Ja is stilled embroiled in the policies of slavery. Whose fault it is? Joshua showed us the way; did we build on it? No we reverted to the old colonial ways of doing things.

This brings me to a more relevant topic: Many may say MLK is a great man but can one really see his bravery. The black americans stood up from all classes knowing that they could be shot and killed. They marched to force a change that made the US a world example. Please note that these people did not sit at dinners and banquets then hand out a few books to laugh at their poor brothers and sisters. They could have said hey I went to Yale,Harvard et al I'm doing fine why should I put my life on the line? The had the insight to know that if the system was not amended and changed it would be a loss overall.

Today due to these marches and protestations many minorities from around the world can come and study in the US (en masse) it wasn't like this all the time: There were some brilliant black americans who were told outright that they are not welcome in college. This brings me to Percy Julian (please read about this genius who could not do his phd. in chemitsry at Harvard because at the time psuedo scientist were saying blacks could not do science due to the size of their brain and other crap. Worst part he would have had to teach white students). Percy Julian worked for glidden made good money and became a millionaire but he supported and contributed to civil rights (his son was an active member).

Harry belafonte was making a decent living but he was active in civil rights and many others. The point is this: many Jakans claim they are intellectuals yet they sit and llow crime, corruption to take root on the island. They are cowards; they would rather sit and go to dinner parties with the elie and laugh at the general populace. This in turn put the island in a state of perpetual poverty. This is not about political parties the time has come for students, itellectuals, "well offs" and the poor to join together and say enough time for a change! If not just shut up and listen to the great minds of the black americans and know that you can't even walk behind them.
    Last edited by Jawge; November 6, 2010, 11:55 AM.

Great. Now tell us what you're doing.

What am I doing? Do you want me to come to Ja torganize mass demonstrations? You would hear how they have many people with plethora of skills that could do that.

The people of JA must want the change before it can come.

OK. What are you doing in the US.

with regards to what?

heh heh! sorry fi yuh Rudi!

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
                OK. What are you doing in the US.
                LoL!!

What am I doing? Do you want me to come to Ja torganize mass demonstrations? You would hear how they have many people with plethora of skills that could do that.

The people of JA must want the change before it can come.
                  People do want change...but they only become activists for change through a movement...through visionary leadership... Rudi's question is appropriate

if we know what the problem is ...and know where we need to go.. waiting for a messiah or merely carping from the periphery is not the way to go

Rudi's question isn't appropriate unless I am that visionary leader.

When I see entertainers, students, professionals and people from all walks of life marching and saying enough time for a reform of the laws time for the people to get quality education, time for the people to have full access to the economic system of Ja (hence unleashing the wealth of the island) time for no one to be above the law, time to end corruption and crime. then I know the people is ready to move in the 21st century. As long as Ja keep having that palnter/ master slave system then I know the people are satisfied with the conditions on the island.

I keep saying JA NEEDS A CIVIL RIGHTS BILL BUT, EVERYONE KEEPS IGNORING ME.

LoL! Nuhbady naw mistake yuh fi nuh visionary leader...but all yuh waan duh ah seh what should be an wha peeple mus duh...without making any contribution except run yuh mout..

evvybady ave a active part to play... fine sumting fi duh fi help di cause.... cause di mout ting naw seh nutten

as dem seh inna di Bible:

“But wilt thou know, O vain man, that faith without works is dead?”

when all Don1 a quote from Bible, yuh know say is time fi seek yuh salvation!

Guess I'm on the verbal carousel now. I thought you said visonary leadership was the first thing that's needed?

LoL!

Never said it's first...what I believe is first is everyone doing their little part...rather than waiting for the Messiah..