Ackee $6.99/Can

• Ackee $6.99/Can

So the Haitian Tree Ripe brand cost $6.99/ Can. I guess if one buys a case...the unit cost will be less.

Last week end I went into a Jamaican grocery--and Grace and Ocho rios Brands were $13.00/ Can.

So I said to the owner, (twang with me now forum) ..." why don't you sell the Tree Ripe brand, it's cheaper".

He replied that the people say they don't like that brand.....

I have tried the Tree ripe brand and it is fine. It takes a bit longer to cook --and thats ok. There's no difference in taste.

I suggested that he place the Haitian (low cost) brand alongside the Jamaican counterpart and see what happens.
    Last edited by HL; November 5, 2010, 06:35 PM.

actually the ripe tree brand come out whole unlike some a di Jamaican brands. It eat good and normally the Jamaican brand is 1 dollar more so I usually buy the two of them.

You see when people a say we can't produce nothing a foolishness them a talk. We have a niche market like Ackee and a ramp with it.

Nuff likkle produce we have that we can do some light processing and bring it to the marketplace.

Ramp wi deh ramp fi chue, in July and August, them coulda stone dog with Ackee, and hardly any in October, wi might haffi import it from Ghana, as they only use the pod to make soap.

Right now we a fi import Cassava. Can you believe that? It nuh need no whole heap fertilzer fi grow and we a talk.

I saw some here imported from Cameroon.

Man soon tell me them can produce cheaper when a we kill the market by overpricing the thing and make others enter and under cut us.

These Ackee manufacturers pay little or nothing for the Ackee.

yuh lost again... if the wherewithal existed in Jamaica to produce ackee at a competitive price and in big quantities...it would have happened already via either local or foreign capital... money will go where there is the best ROI in this globalized economy where there is almost instant & perfect knowledge.... especially in a very open economy like Jamaica's

Yuh tink yuh juss produce sumting an "bring it to the marketplace"... and presto! ..it aggo sell off tru it "good"??

Have you ever produced a product and "brought it to the marketplace"? If you have you will ovastan that there are many inputs before one gets to production...and many inputs post production... den yuh cyan still lose yuh shirt offa yuh back....

Mout mek fi seh anyting still

of course I have. The fact is selling at 13 dollar can is driving many people from the market place. There many of us who will not buy ackee for 13 dollars a can but you know what we choose not to plant Ackee and as usual just try to make the most we can while others enter the market place with a cheaper price and take some of what was 100% market share. The operating cost to produce more ackee in an existing factory can't be that much more.

Most people if they go to the store and see Jamaican and Haitian Ackee for the same price they are going to buy the Jamaican Ackee.

Don't try to think you have any monopoly on economics around here because it is basic and I have done it up to Graduate level and have done my studies as well.

The fact that we are giving away what was a 100% market because we fail to provide consistent supplies and over price, it says it all. It force others to enter the market place at more than a comfortable price.

We have more than enough land in Jamaica to plant Ackee.
                Can you tell me another product that sell for $13.99 a can inna those small cans?

That a the problem with Jamaica, everything hard fi do except higglering and borrowing.
                Last edited by Assasin; November 6, 2010, 10:20 AM.

Don1...have you ever produced a product and bring it to market?

If so what product?

Thanks.

That's all he is good for: to say no, this and that won't work. Only his social contract will work. If the people want things to work it will work. I put forward a proposal to end police corruption and generate income amomg the people of Ja D1 was the first to say no. he didn't even said let's give it a try. What if the people of Denmark and sweden had the same outlook? They would have no bridge. What if the US had the same "no can't do attidtude"? Try something if it's even to fail you will come away with a lesson and if you have the will it will work. Garvey is tired of saying this (everyting ress inna yuh mind).

I am still waiting for Don 1s' answer Prince Jawge.

BTW: I hope you are feelin' well!

Mi good man juss busy Mi ah Prince now? Yuh gwaan

hehhee hheeee. Only social contract can save us heeheee.

Woooops!!....KING Jawge...mawnin' Sah...

LOL, yeah mawning sar