Boehner says Obama health plan on the block after GOP wins

• Boehner says Obama health plan on the block after GOP wins

Washington (CNN) -- Voters have given Republicans a mandate to cut government and roll back the Obama administration's health care "monstrosity" in the next Congress, the incoming speaker of the House of Representatives said Thursday.
    Rep. John Boehner, R-Ohio, is poised to lead the House following the GOP's massive gains in Tuesday's midterm elections. He told reporters that he and President Barack Obama have agreed to work together but called the results a vote for "a smaller, less costly, more accountable government." And the administration's hard-won overhaul of the U.S. health care system ultimately will be on the block.
    "The American people are concerned about the government takeover of health care," Boehner said. "I think it's important for us to lay the groundwork before we begin to repeal this monstrosity and replace it with common-sense reforms that will bring down the cost of health insurance in America."

More at ... http://www.cnn.com/2010/POLITICS/11/...ex.html?hpt=T2

Boehner is appealing to the angry tea party/republican base, and there will not be enough votes in either the senate or house to override a presidential veto on healthcare.

him better do it quick before more and more of the populace start benefit from it and den dem try fi tek it whey

Apparently there is something about this Heathcare bill that I am missing.

it's a big deal!!! if it works the repubs will be standing on the outside looking in for a while. they cannot afford for it to work or become entrenched.

Why you say you missing something? You don't understand why it so unpopular you mean?

So nuh you me hear say that "Democracy without education is useless"?

You nuh belive it nuh more? Or you think it only apply to JA and other poor countries?
            Last edited by Islandman; November 3, 2010, 03:19 PM.

Whay you say you missing something? You don't understand why it so unpopular you mean?

So nuh you me hear say that "Democracy without education is useless"?

You nuh belive it nuh more? Or you think it only apply to JA and other poor countries?
              It is very much possible there is something I missed, I like to give people the benefit of the doubt. But yuh yuh want to put it down to "Democracy without education is useless" then so be it.

Talk bout Teabaggers and Termites.

Maybe, maybe not.

The Dems have passed sweeping social legistlation before and have paid the price for it even though history proves them to be correct.

It is said that when LBJ signed the Civil Rights bill he said "we have lost the South for a generation" and it seems as if he underestimated how long it would be.

When Medicare passed Ronald Reagan told people it was a socialist takeover and their house and car would be next. Today the teabaggers are saying that the govt "better not touch our Medicare". How more effing ignorant can you get than that?

It could very well turn out that if the the current health reform bill survives, history will prove it to be a great piece of legistlation passed mostly due to Obama and Pelosi but it did not translate into electoral success.

Interesting two years ahead in US politics, lets watch Obama the chess master at work.

Well , if you are ideologically against government-run health care because it is socialist ( except Medicare because you mother need it , and except the veterans medical program because you uncle is a old soldier and so on) then it really doesn't matter how good or bad the health care reform is, you going to have to be against it.

Politics is just another religion for many people.

Lazie read I-man's two posts again. There are two groups in the U.S. with free ( tax payer funded) health-care seniors and politicians. Notice that no Republican ran on a platform of restricting or even reforming either one.

Last night I heard Chris Mathews asking at least 3 Republicans WHICH program they were going to cut to compensate for the tax cuts. Him beg them to name ONE: Medicare/Medicaid? Social Security? Military?

All now them nuh answer him, them just repeat the talking points about big govt, etc.

Thats why politicians everywhere and of every stripe do what they do though, they know the public is not tuned in to the details, so you just need some good sound bites to get some attention.

To be fair Obama is as guilty of that as any other politican. That is how you win elections.

Last night I heard Chris Mathews asking at least 3 Republicans WHICH program they were going to cut to compensate for the tax cuts. Him beg them to name ONE: Medicare/Medicaid? Social Security? Military?

All now them nuh answer him, them just repeat the talking points about big govt, etc.

Thats why politicians everywhere and of every stripe do what they do though, they know the public is not tuned in to the details, so you just need some good sound bites to get some attention.

To be fair Obama is as guilty of that as any other politican. That is how you win elections.

Yes, saw him asking the questions of Michele Bachman and she did her best to side step the question. I think Mitch McConnell said it best ..

"'The single most important thing we want to achieve is for President Obama to be a one-term president,' says the Senate Republican leader."

All this talk bout taking back country ....

"Taking Back Our Country"

I assume it means the following: (1) No mandated gov healthcare (2) Less Gov spending (3) Less Gov regulation? and???

It means primarily:

"We should not have a black man/muslim/immigrant/foriegner running these United States of America"

That is what it means!

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                              I assume it means the following: (1) No mandated gov healthcare (2) Less Gov spending (3) Less Gov regulation? and???
                              How much did the previous president spend to bail out the banks? Wasn't it less gov't regulation that caused the housing sector to collapse leading to the current economic crisis? The same jokers fussing bout mandated gov't healthcare is adamant that no one must touch medicare etc.

The Obama administration and the Democratic Party should take some of the blame for not standing up and pointing out the positives in these bills. They simply sat down and allow the Teabaggers to take the floor.