Great Engineering

We have been falling behind for a while as we fail to make changes to our lifestyle. An example is our over dependence on gas while places like Brazil and many places in Europe has adjusted but we are contended to buy gas gusslers. That will not lead to new inovation.

While we have many innovation on the self not been even tried. I was listen to some CEOs on Sunday and many of these companies have huge investment in China and Europe as well so they do benefit. Companies such as GE, IBM, and others who are leaders in R&D have also invested heavily in China.

If you look at our effort to push renewable energy you will see why we are lagging as the same effort is put into new technologies. The pundits on CNBC and NBC who actually pushed the outsourcing talking about service industries are now complaining that everything is made in China so look for some change.

Another thing is many of the R&D people have been laid off over the last 5 years, hopefully some will be re-employed. My friend's Husband(and he is original from China) who is one of the best plastic research specialist in the world was laid off. He thought about going back to China but she wanted to stay. He eventually found a new job but the point is some companies are cutting their R&D staff.

You know more dan the local engineers Bruce.

You should share this info wid dem.

There are two main sides of the argument against waste-to-energy plants in the U.S. of A.

The first lies among those who support recycling; they believe that creating a purpose for trash would encourage people to generate trash and not be as aware of buying recyclable materials and reducing and reusing their waste. These plants could potentially sabotage recycling programs many states have worked hard to institute and enforce in the last decade.

"Once you build a waste-to-energy plant, you then have to feed it. Our priority is pushing for zero waste," said an environmental associate with the New York Public Interest Group, who strongly opposes building a waste-to-energy plant in Manhattan.
        That view does not hold water. Recycling and Converting Trash to Energy can both be equally effective as part of a city's overall waste management program. My likke town earned $100,000 in 2009 from recycling, and trash that was not recycled was sent to the incinerator. Don't know if the incinerated trash was used for fuel.

special interest lobbyists are what is killing this country.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

special interest lobbyists are what is killing this country.

And they are so plentiful - a dime a dozen!

Again, with my Google Earth, a bridge from Manley Airport north to downtown Kingston is 1.5 miles. The drive around the Palisades through Harbour View to downtown is 10 miles.

wouldn't that affect the use of the harbour?

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                  That's pocket change....the current cost to replace the Tappan Zee Bridge in NY is about $16 billion ($6.4 billion for the bridge, $6.7 billion for the rail line and $2.9 billion for the bus lanes).

That cost is likely to increase by at least 50% in a few years. New Yorkers don't mind, dem gats money....
                  Let me ask you a question: What is the relationship between build out of infastructure and increased standard of living?

...do you forgo improvements to contain income taxes and reduce increased standards of living for future generations?

Is it a stretch to suggest let's return to the horse and buggy age and enjoy massive reductions in income and other taxes?

Aside: I shall say it again, it is nonsense to talk about moving into the magnificent future and expect taxes to be reduced. What we need is more efficient use of tax dollars...but as night follows day, if we want increased standards of living and greater and greater creature comforts...then taxes must rise!

Originally posted by Bruce View Post
                    Again, with my Google Earth, a bridge from Manley Airport north to downtown Kingston is 1.5 miles. The drive around the Palisades through Harbour View to downtown is 10 miles.

If people ah raise Cain fi pay toll pon road...yuh really tink dem aggo pay toll fi tek pretty bridge...in enuff numba fi mek di ting self-sustaining?

dem ting deh nuh necessary.

What Jamaica need is more & betta mass transit...ease offa di cyar ting.. dem whole heap ah cyar deh not even Babylon cyan afford afta a point... di ting energy & maintenance inefficient

Wi nuh haffi blindly follow di US paradigm base pon whole heapa private cyar transit... new paradigm wi mus deal wid

thank goodness you nat runnin' for a political office King Karl!

"...then taxes must rise"!

No.

wouldn't that affect the use of the harbour?
                        It would not affect the use of the harbor if the bridge is built high enough
                        to allow ships to pass underneath, or if the bridge is a draw bridge.

A same thing a gwaan a China yah now, mi hear say them have traffic Jam fi all 4 days straight LOL.

Anyway I support the mass transit thing.

thank goodness you nat runnin' for a political office King Karl!

"...then taxes must rise"!
                            You do not like more efficient use of your tax dollars!
                            ...more R&D!
                            ...more innovation!
                            ...more build out of infrastructure!
                            ...higher standards of living!
                            ...more creature comforts?

...more persons enjoying God's given Earth?

No?
                            No!

Well then HL you surely would not like to see me or someone like me at the helm

Not at the rate at which i am being taxed King Karl.

Well HL you are not getting the returns on your money as you should.