Tropical Storm Tomas

• Tropical Storm Tomas

has T&T under a Tropical Storm warning... could have hurricane force winds by the time it passes by Jamaica. Secure your dogs and sheets of zinc.

My street floods with just a heavy shower, twice already this year, so I'm a little nervous especially as my house is lower than the road level... and this storm seems to be very broad, so while the eye is north of us here the bands will certainly be dumping a good bit of water on us.

Tropical Storm Tomas forms, forecast to be a major hurricane

By Ken Kaye
    South Florida Sun-Sentinel
    10:47 p.m. EDT, October 29, 2010

In a rare burst of late October activity, Tropical Storm Tomas emerged in the Atlantic near the Windward Islands on Friday afternoon. The system is forecast to arrive in the central Caribbean by next Wednesday as a major hurricane.

At 11 p.m., Tomas was 100 miles southeast of Barbados, moving west at 16 mph with sustained winds of 65 mph.

In becoming the 19th named storm of the season, Tomas made this the third busiest year on record, tied with 1887 and 1995. The only years that were busier: 1933, with 21 storms and 2005 with 28 storms.

Under the initial forecast, subject to large error, Tomas would aim northwest through the Caribbean, generally toward Jamaica over the next five days. It would grow into a hurricane by Sunday and a Category 3 hurricane with sustained winds of 115 mph by Tuesday.

Whether the system will pose a threat to Florida or the rest of the U.S. coastline, it's too early to say, forecasters said.

Tropical storm warnings have been issued for several of the southern Windward Islands, as Tomas threatens to produce up to 8 inches of rain as well as coastal flooding along its path.

Meanwhile, a bulked up Tropical Storm Shary moved over Bermuda Friday night, pelting the small island nation with heavy rains and gusty winds.

At 11 p.m., Shary was about 85 miles east of Bermuda, moving northeast at 21 mph with sustained winds of 70 mph.

Shary is expected to head out to sea.

Tomas veered to the right of Trinidad and headed towards Barbados...at this point it looks like trinidad will be spared even the rain. Not a drop of rain, nor any wind to speak of...(1:15AM Eastern caribbean time).

The action was supposed to begin from midnight here but from what I saw on the satellite pictures I realized it had changed course.

So you got no action?

no action of any kind, sadly! everybody sick... called in sick on Friday, the first in six years; Doc sent two of us for blood count test to rule out dengue...I asked him what the treatment is if it was positive... "bed rest and panadol"... I didn't bother with the aggravatiion of the blood test...

Be afraid, Jamaica, be very afraid! And prepared!!!

Saw somewhere where it should make a sharpe right toward Haiti and Cuba and out into the Atlantic.

Hope so...but poor Haiti is predicted to have floods.

Tomas looks like he is going to be one bad bwoy!

That's what they say...but I hope not!

Tell Tomas to gweh - I'm headed to Jamdown on Sat. for an important meeting.

I hope he does not take the Bod Walk Gorge, as they were digging up the road to lay something there, try Sligoville LOL.

Jamaica ?

Is Haiti we need to worry bout !

Well, the latest bulletin/advisory I read says Tomas has lost some strength...but still packing 75mph winds; the track forecast is to make a right turn when it gets south of Haiti and pass directly over that country...