• Resistance is futile!

SERATO killed the DJ

As someone that's been djing since 1990, and has a clothing line dedicated to the culture, I feel like something needs to be said.
    For those that don't know what Serato Scratch Live is, it's basicaly a hub that connects your computer to your turntables, enabling the Dj to have access to millions of songs while djing.

So why as a Dj would I have a problem with having millions of songs and just 2 'records' to bring to a club, rather than dragging bags of records and breaking my back? Simple...I'm a DJ, and last I heard, Dj's played records.
    A Dj used to spend days in a record store digging for the 'hidden treasures', putting together a bag of records and going to a club to kill it with what they brought.

Perfect example:
    I dj'd at this club last month, and the dj before me still had there (their) computer set up in front of me. A girl came up to me and asked if I had a song. I kindly said no, but I'll play something similar. She pointed to the computer, and said 'you have iTunes don't you?'. REALLY?? you payed $10 to get in this club to have the dj play iTunes?

My appeal to DJs:
    I'm not dissing you working Dj's that use Serato, because there are fewer labels making records now, and I understand that you need to stay competitive.
    Just don't rely on Serato as your only source of music.
    Bring a little bag of records incase your computer crashes, and to remind music lovers that the art of djing isn't lost.

Read more: http://blogs.myspace.com/index.cfm?f...#ixzz13gJO7cQR

I can understand where this bredda is coming from. These softwares just take the art out of it. There is a reading for each output that make a user aware if the beats are mixed, talk bout easy. One can preset their Cue Points and once the tune is selected, Boop ... the song is cued. Talk bout easy. Worse, everything is at yuh finger tips, by the time one tune is released to the audience, the other song is already cued ... talk bout easy.

I know there are some that love pulling boxes of vinyls .... but unuh affi get with the times bro.

"Where were you when mi use to carry speaker box and wrap speaker wire, till now me a frequent flyer"
      Super Cat on vinyl dublate. Don't diss the vinyl Lazie. Have to agree.

End users couldn't care less.

Since serato comes with two vinyl records, if somebody still want to feel like an old school deejay, they simply have to not look on the computer screen when mixing and they don't have to preset their cue points

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
          "Where were you when mi use to carry speaker box and wrap speaker wire, till now me a frequent flyer"
          Super Cat on vinyl dublate. Don't diss the vinyl Lazie. Have to agree.
          Each person have their preference still. But why have a problem with having all your tunes available to you during a gig? Another thing I like about Serato is yuh cannot misplace a tune. One thing I agree with though, have yuh Cds or vinyls close by because if yuh computer freeze yuh get sheg. My Cds affi close by.

Technology makes some art forms obsolete and new art forms take thier place. It is called progress.

progress for some, death for others.

Ask the former printery and travel agents who use to deh pon main street.

True, but that is what is called creative destruction.

There was also a time when blacksmiths were well paid craftsmen, and horse and buggy makers did a thriving business.

how about having another computer ready if one freeze? and how about sticking with MacBook Pros? less likely to freeze!

hey, sometimes we just have to give up these old things. the music thing has completely changed. i don't miss the original dj one bit.

back in the days people always making request because the dj may not play fi dem chune. nowadays, chances are he will, because him have suh much at him fingertips, or his cursor!

a suh di ting set!

jus hab Virtual dj (bad bad DJ software) an audio interface, terabyte external, mixer an ah amps.Buil di speaker dem wid passive crossovers (capacitor and inductiors to filter di soun range) an yuh nice. Chune run likklah trouble. yuh jus hitch pan any Mr soun an done di place and kill ah soun easy. Nuff man talk bout Dancehall dead, ah kah dem nuh hear some, Alaine, Bugle, Koshens, Gyptian, Pressure, Taurus an nuff nuff more. Dem ongle a bash di DJ part and chune still ah run wicked jus need some
                    marketing now fi tek back di ting.
                    Last edited by myYout; October 30, 2010, 02:55 PM.

Originally posted by myYout View Post
                      Nuff man talk bout Dancehall dead, ah kah dem nuh hear some, Alaine, Bugle, Koshens, Gyptian, Pressure, Taurus an nuff nuff more.
                      how much of that is true dancehall and how much is reggae?

Ah peer dancehall mi ah talk bout, set dem said artist yah wid an wicked backin ban like roots radicks, Lloyd Parks etc an di reggae vibes ready again. Ah jus how wi set di ting fi hit back di market.