• Beenie Man rules out investing in Zimbabwe

Beenie Man rules out investing in Zim‏babwe

By Staff Reporter
    for ZimEye.org

Published: October 19, 2010

Harare(ZimEye)-Jamaican reggae artist Antony Moses Davis popularly known as Beenie Man has ruled out investing in Zimbabwe.
    The renowned singer told reporters in Harare after his weekend show that he had no intentions of investing in Zimbabwe, contrary to what has been speculated on online websites.
    The Zimbabwe Tourism Authority has been inviting such celebrities and persuading them to invest in the country. One such an international artist is Sizzla Kalonji who has since relocated to Zimbabwe.
    Beenie Man, although not invited by ZTA to perform in the country said he was not interested in staying in Zimbabwe, castigating his fellow countryman Sizzla as a person who ‘has nothing to do’.
    The 34 year old Jamaican (Sizzla), reportedly received a large farm in Chegutu as part of his payment for playing at Mugabe’s bash early this year and he intends to set it up as a youth development centre.
    Reports say he is wanted for gun crimes in his own country, Jamaica.
    “I have eight children back home in Jamaica a wife and my mother. I cannot establish a studio here in Zimbabwe.
    “I will come and perform if invited but not to set a studio here,” he told journalists, after his weekend show. (ZimEye, Zimbabwe)

I don't blame him, with Mugabe around.

My friends, had to flee Zimbabwe in '08 (empty handed), after 20+ years of living and investing there.

Queenie Gal cant help himself...so he is not investing in the place why did he have to put dowmn Sizzla like that for?

Sounds a tad bad-mine on his part.

a tad?

I was being a tad sarcastic. LOL.

The land in Zimbabwe is extremely fertile. Das why certain folks from other places--claim 80% of the arable portions. They plant and export and make lots of money.

I just have a darn bad habit of seeing opportunities in unseeing situations....

"Land is power...without it life has no worth..."
              Last edited by HL; October 19, 2010, 04:23 PM.

How you make the Chinese them first you to the sugarcane factory? You fraid of the big bad NWU, BITU, JALGO and them?

A same thing the Chiney man a say bout we

Don't blame him ether. Mugabe is a straight-up crook!

Still, was it really necessary to say Sizzla has "nothing to do?" After all these years in the public spotlight Beenie can't learn some basic PR skills? Just say Sizzla should do what is good for Sizzla and done nuh?

Lawd man!

Sound like you want the job of Queenie's PR manager

You are absolutely correct Islandman. It never fails to amaze me how stupid this guy is. Profoundly talented, but never fails to prove how dumb he is.

there are lots of Jamaicans who would LOVE to invest in their home-land. The ruling class makes it impossible. the chinese bribe the corrupt Jamaican leadership for the opportunities they get.

Typical bennie man being eenie beenie...shallow bredda , ever ear im talk yuh would tink a im invent , ska ,rocksteady, lovers rock , dub , roots and reggae , dj and hip hop and r and b ..im nufff.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

but he is right sizzla has nothing to do.. it our way of saying him caan stay deh..

Not really. Having known the doctor for many years, and spoken to him on many occasions, I dont think it is bad mind, it is more bad brain.