Poor roads not the core problem, Poor Communities are..

• Poor roads not the core problem, Poor Communities are..

Squatting shows failure of local authority - Chang

Published: Tuesday | October 19, 2010

Gary Spaulding, Senior Gleaner Writer

Local authorities are being blamed for the fragile squatter settlements that dot the landscape across the island and which crumble in the face of any force of nature.

Squatter settlements perched precariously beside gullies and riverbanks are usually the hardest hit.

Parish councils are the bodies which have been empowered to issue cease and desist orders and demolish illegal buildings.

But there are growing concerns that the country will continue to suffer tragedies such as what happened late last month in Sandy Park, St Andrew, where six persons died after their house collapsed into the Sandy Gully.

This was one of three buildings on the gully bank to collapse after a section of the retaining wall broke away.

Several other buildings are now precariously perched on the gully bank, but Water and Housing Minister, Dr Horace Chang is making it clear that the central Government is not to blame for persons building in these areas.

Speaking at a recent Gleaner Editors' Forum, Chang stressed that it was the parish councils which have the power to deal with these informal settlements.

"It is a failing. The local authority has failed in that way and we have ended with 754 large settlements accommodating near a third of our population," Chang said

According to Chang, the absence of enforcement mechanisms to cauterise the growth of informal settlements is the root of the problem.

Authorities being impeded

He said local authorities have failed to carry out their mandate to enforce the building code.

Long-time member of the local authority mechanism, Desmond McKenzie agrees.

However, McKenzie, the mayor of Kingston, who has served in the Kingston and St Andrew Corporation (KSAC), for many years, argues that local authorities are being prevented from doing their jobs.

"It is true that we have not been able to do some of the things that we need to do, but we have been impeded in executing our task," declared McKenzie.

"The fact (is that) local authorities have the responsibility but not the capacity to maintain all these areas."

Declaring that the enforcement regulations have not been available, McKenzie said: "I agree that a lot more needs to be done compared to the magnitude of the problem ... it is something that has been with us for more than 50 years."

Anforcement regulations

The mayor asserted that local authorities need to be bolstered by enforcement regulations.

"We have to serve notice, but when we move we are confronted with a lot of hindrances like people applying and receiving injunctions and stays."

The mayor of Kingston was responding to questions from The Gleaner after Chang had revealed that the Corporate Area and St Thomas are burdened with informal settlements dangerously perched beside waterways.

"We are well aware of the situation in the Hope Valley, which is one of the major areas of informal settlements along the waterway," Chang said.

He agreed with arguments that the enforcement of construction restrictions must be a shared responsibility and called for more inspection and monitoring of these informal communities.

Ineffective system

"Because, in fairness, the constructions are illegal and are still there because we have no system of effectively monitoring them," Chang said.

"The result (is that) we end up with structures multiplying illegally on vacant lands for many years."

Chang said with the absence of enforcement, the population density on gully banks and waterways increases even when work is being carried out to improve the area.

"In time you experience major damage and undermining of waterways ... the result is what you had in Sandy Park," he stressed.

"So there is public and private responsibility and we ought to have been more vigilant and effective in monitoring it.

"It is a local authority issue but the reality is that they have responsibility that they have never effectively carried out and that is part of the reason why we have to move to re-examine how we implement these regulations."

gary.spaulding@gleanerjm.com

The poor roads is a major problem though! Jamaica's roads are in the worst condition I have ever seen them. I don't know how I don't bruk an axle yet! And all this while paying $9 extra for every litre of gasoline that should go directly towards road repair. That is just highway robbery!

Articles like the above just make me want to barf on someones shirt and tie:

The gross ineptitude of Jamaican leadership.

The more I read their chatter about their proposed solutions...I just want to barf some more...

My greatest concern is for places like Cockpit Country. Ever seen the levels of deforestation? The conditions of the roads?

Heavy rains can cause landslides as seen (recently) in several countries.

I mentioned that I saw the local residents placing bamboo and other flimsy stuff (as self help) to serve as retaining wall-- as well as warning for traffic.

Jamaican leadership both JLP and PNP is causing me to puke...

The poor roads is a major problem though! Jamaica's roads are in the worst condition I have ever seen them. I don't know how I don't bruk an axle yet! And all this while paying $9 extra for every litre of gasoline that should go directly towards road repair. That is just highway robbery!
        Roads are a problem yes....but as soon as they are repaired.... especially in the hilly interior...dem mash up quickquick....why?

.... because hundreds of thousands live on hillsides in unplanned ersatz communities denuding the land and causing slippages, craters and road breakaways etc... fixing roads will NEVER get ahead of that curve...dem cuddah deal...betta wi bite di bullet an plan long term by providing proper places for people to live.

Since slavery abolish dem force people fi guh pan hillside to survive an di JLPNP power matrix juss accelerate di prablem

The HWY 2K corridor is a possible long term solution....we need about 3 well planned towns built in that zone with house/work/school/recreation solutions built in.... which is another reason the planned Caymanas industrial/commercial free zone should be located in the HWY 2K corridor...and not coup up evvyting inna Kingston

The lack of long term planning is atrocious...all the stupid politicians seem to concentrate on is what will benefit them in the next election cycle.... a 4 year vision instead of 20-40 years

Chupid

Talk bout Caymanas - I drop inna one pothole on the Mandela Highway near dehso di odda day! Mi spine still a reverb!

Is urban roads mi talking bout, Don1!

And yuh Comrades dem fighting against Mike Henry and progress...

Nightmare dem name..

18 years of poor road works.. can't even manage some heavy rain..

Don't worry doh.. labourites are here to solve the problem in a long term manner despite the nightmare antics of the PNP

Talk bout Caymanas - I drop inna one pothole on the Mandela Highway near dehso di odda day! Mi spine still a reverb!

Is urban roads mi talking bout, Don1!
              LoL!

What you chatting bout Hilly interior??? Man a talk but main road that is track where no hill no deh. So when you drive you nuh exit offa Hiway 2000?

Where road existed 20 years ago not even sand and stone is there no. There is no drains anymore.

gwaan mek excuse.

Excuse?? For whom or for what?? LoL! The last time I checked the Labourite tribe has been in power for 3 years........ am I making excuses for them?? Both tribes are stupid.... where's the excuse in that fellow?

Assasin..the specialist in missing the point is alive & kicking

Duh yuh ting specialist
                  Last edited by Don1; October 19, 2010, 06:32 PM.

Only inna rural and hilly areas we have pot holes????

Yes I know you wouldn't foolishness you just stated. what is your point?? if it is not factual and just theory?

You want go a Portland and St.Mary amongst other place that roads haven't been touched in 20 odd years. I know there are many other places like that as well.
                    Last edited by Assasin; October 19, 2010, 06:54 PM.

=Assasin;259345]Only inna rural and hilly areas we have pot holes????
                      Never said that...learn to read...better still...comprehend.
                      Yes I know you wouldn't foolishness you just stated. what is your point?? if it is not factual and just theory?
                      This is nonsensical...can't assist you here

You want go a Portland and St.Mary amongst other place that roads haven't been touched in 20 odd years. I know there are many other places like that as well.
                      Thanks.

Last time I noticed...those were some of the hilliest places in Jamaica

What you need to do to prove your ridiculous contention is identify the "excuses" in my original post...and identify who it was I "excused"

Otherwise you should keep yuh likkle self quiet

A guess the whole a the parish hilly?

The fact is most of the roads were not repaired in 20 odd years. That is the whole pint. not your quart. The few roads they claim the repair them throw mall ina the road or did a shabby job. The old road still there and the new one was away.

Last time I went to Portmore which have no hills it was no different and some places inna Kingstoh have big pot holes.

The fact is a very poor job was done of maintaining roads and drains and that is why rain mash up nuff a the road them.
                        Last edited by Assasin; October 19, 2010, 10:14 PM.

Ok that is an opinion you are entitled to hold...roads need to be fixed...even though it's typical of the myopic Jamaican outlook of never addressing core problems.. I am not contending that opinion of yours

What you have not established is your ridiculous accusation that my post advocating an emphasis on community development to address certain long term ills ...how that post represented an "excuse"... an excuse for whom and for what?

Again substantiate that excuse nonsense...ar kip quiet.

"What you have not established is your ridiculous accusation that my post advocating an emphasis on community development to address certain long term ills ."

And where did I take you on, on that sir?

The point is that proper maintenance of the roads is what is our problem over the last 25 years. You can alway build new hiways and have development but it doesn't mean you don't take care of the other roads wher people and is already develop. That is my point.

You claimed in your post that I should stop making excuses....for some as yet unknown & unexplained reason.

Whatever your point may be about road maintenance...you are entitled to it.

What you are not entitled to do without refutation, is to make nonsensical assertions about what you may believe to be my motivation in opining on the short term election-related perspectives of Jamaican politicians...when what we need (in my opinion) are long term solutions to core problems.

If that constitutes in your twisted reckoning an "excuse".... so be it.

That excuse I will continue propagating.