Apple's closed system poses threat to dominance in Mobile

That was my reasoning too, but apparently they are still selling very well, even though there is a Kindle app that runs on the iPad. Try read an e-book on an iPad vs on a Kindle on the beach for example, and you will see why.

I think whats going to happen is that Amazon will price the Kindle cheap enough to be a legitimate dedicated device (about $50 or so) , and make thier money off the e-book sales.You know the time tested Gillette razor/razor blade approach.

was not underestimating Apple...their products are generally superior than the rest of the market.... was just saying that tablets will be a big thing.

However my main point is that Apple's closed model cannot dominate in a globalized world... imho

Agree, they cannot dominate long term with that model.

I get the impression that they don't necessarily want to though, they are happy to have a decent share of the market at a premium price.

Any company who want a close system will eventually lose market share.

I can't really say Apple systems are superior, been in the field of support for a while. They all have their bad and like Walmart once they hit the top they are exposed while the others get a bly. There are enough problems I have had with Apple systems. An example is the same people who make the Laptop battery for Apple makes it for Dell and they had the very same problems. From a support point of view there is no warranty on apple for spills and that is common amongst laptops. Most of Apple warranty you have to send your system back for about 10 days to be fixed while most others offer field support.

Just a few of the support problems with apple.

Having a superior product doesn't mean it's error free.

Apple's design, ergonomics, user interface etc etc all lead the market...others play catch up in recent years...that's generally accepted...but of course yuh cyan disagree...suh wi nuh need nuh lang talk pon dat

Sigh!

So I want you to do this for me if you will
              Everybody think back to your very first time
              Now I’ll give you a little while longer
              ‘Cause I know some of you
              Have to think back a little further than others
              Come on now, I want you to play catch-up
              ‘Cause I don’t want you waitin’ till I get to the end of mysong
              Sayin’, “Oh, yeah, now I remember”
              Now whether it was good
              Or you just smilin’ it was good
              Or on the other hand if it was not so good
              Here’s my story

It was with Lisa, around the summer of 1983. Okay, I may not have been Lisa's first customer, but that doesn't matter. I'm sure we all had our fun with Lisa! (Commodores don't count!)

After that, in college, I kept up that association with Apple computers because that DOS thing...the backslash/colon/backslash/open bracket/close bracket thingy just was not cutting it for me. Lisa was so easy! and so too were the new Macs.

The point is I grew up on Apple computers and so my bias is heavy. PCs mean very little to me. Everybody knows Windows 98 was Macintosh 87! And in my opinion, Apple has not let go off that lead!

Apple led the home computer business. Apple revolutionised the way we listen to music. They re-invented the mobile phone. They will show us how tablets should operate.

So what if their computers are only 5% of the market. That may only be true because business is still PC driven for whatever dumb reason. (Don't tell that to Grace Kennedy, however. Their offices are all laid out with Apple computers!)

When I sit in an airport departure lounge, seems like Apple enjoys more than a 5% share of the PERSONAL computers out there.

I have complete faith in the Apple model and in Apple products. No. 1 does not necessarily mean in numbers.

What was your first time like?

nice!!

...so yours was...nice. can't share any more? keep it family-friendly, you know our rules here!

i have seen so man y number one fall after getting high ratings, from Apple to Packard Bell, IBM, HP, Compaq, Digital Equipment etc.

In an age where we all want cheap technology the products sometimes are not as advertise. I am going through it right now with Dell. Not to say one may not be better at the moment but in the long term will they stand?

Apple's OS and user interface has been "better" since the personal computer industry started 30 years ago...they invented the windows type interface...but Microsoft run wid it and marketed it better.
                      Touch screens and other intuitive interfaces...dem dat tuh

Not the most popular...but the best

mek mi kall har an get di release fuss... mi nuh waan nuh fuss..LoL!

Apple's OS and user interface has been "better" since the personal computer industry started 30 years ago...they invented the windows type interface...but Microsoft run wid it and marketed it better.
                          Touch screens and other intuitive interfaces...dem dat tuh

Not the most popular...but the best
                          Actually, it was Xerox who invented much of what we see today on our computers, both hardware and software. From the GUI to the mouse to the monitor - all that was done by Xerox's Palo Alto Research Center (PARC).

If ever there was a company that didn't know how to take its inventions to the marketplace, Xerox was it! I think they were too preoccupied with their copiers. After a while, they even lost that market share to the Japanese.

HEH HEH! Yuh memba har name?

yow...wen yuh bruk yuh ducks..yuh nuh muss memba di filly...unless yuh did get whey di duck get....

on 2nd thought...ESPECIALLY if yuh did get whey di duck get..LoL!

heh heh!

is karl betty wright a talk bout when she say she gwine give us a likkle more time fi tink bout it.