Ships Skip Falmouth

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
    Tall order. They will need to demolish half of those unsightly decaying buildings in the town. Harbor Street is a one way, but highly CONGESTED street. Portie town just look drab now. Of course there are buildings that stand out - Marina, Christ Church (Anglican) etc.

About three decades ago, there was a movement to refurbish those buildings that are of Georgian architecture. But it seems that some of these have now fallen on hard times, plus the fact that some structures that are recently erected are just so UGLY - no dash whatsoever!

As to the once great Titchfield hill - everything up there except for probably DeMontevin Lodge need tearing down.
    Yuh rite dem need tuh put in di wuk an money...but as is Port Royal, Portie is a sleeping giant!

thanks Karl I know but they are sold as a part of the Montego Bay experience. you ever hear anybody a buy a Ticket fi go a Hopewell Hanover or say the staying there .

a know you understand what I am saying

I had a travel rating rating them as one of the best hotel last year. I posted it on here. I was surprised myself as earlier this year I drove by and the place was in no great shape from the outside. Yeah the Road by the Port is a little better.

Must be the outside of the DeMontevin Lodge building they were rating. Otherwise, me nuh know. In '08, natives discouraged me from staying there.

di outside not suh hot eedah!

the report spoke about the "tranquil" atmosphere and the fact that they grow their own food etc.

Never been inside and even when going Titchfield and it got a lot of ratings, I couldn't see why but the Europeans for some reasons sometimes like those places.

I can understand why some Europeans would love it. Some places in Europe more pop dung dat dat.

I think it may have been the staff why the guests liked it so much.

Karl;259525]Sass: You are our tourism expect...so please help us by using facts when necessary.
                  woiiee mi belly!

the report spoke about the "tranquil" atmosphere and the fact that they grow their own food etc.

Never been inside and even when going Titchfield and it got a lot of ratings, I couldn't see why but the Europeans for some reasons sometimes like those places.

What kind of food dem grow all year "winter vegetables" Well nuff empty land up the hill fi dat, even the piece where the old Anglican rectory used to be, and it is quite close to DeMontevin.

I smell another rip off of the Jamaican taxpayers in the making. Historical significance of Falmouth. What a joke.

how so?

The people of Jamaica also have to organise and take advantage. We just can't sit down and fold our hands.

How I see it the port is about to open and Falmouth and its people need to take advantage of it.