Ships Skip Falmouth

going just for the rich and famous is a pipe dream Karl.
    When you get teanagers they intern became the rich and famous. If your destination is popular the rich and famous will carve out their space. Also rich and famous don't spend with people on the street.

Right now a lot of very rich people own Villas at Tryall and Round Hill which is in Mobay even though it can't be classed as a playground for the rich and famous. Chris Blackwell a carve out a little space in St.Mary, St. Elizabeth, and Port Antonio with pretty much a nature thing where so of the world riches and famous come to live ordinary life without the glim and glam but they just dock their boat and enjoy themselves without mixing too much.

I was on a cruise once (Mediterranean) (the only one I've been on) and for one port of call, the ship anchored about half a kilometre off-shore and used the life-boats as tenders...

comming in late on this thread but I think it said before. The tourist dont care about the port but whats arond it. Stores, Cigar lounges and restaurants and good high end shopping. I forgot safety. Having just taking a trip to Varaedo and Havana for the first time I was impressed with the professionalism of the transport people. Thier knowledge of hisory, yes thier propoganda/politics and general knowlege. Far above the Juta man who says yeah maan and ire man 50 times before him reach your destination and stop a 3 of his bredrin bar when you already pay all inclusive money. My point is we have to take it seriouly. Create a restaruant ave in falmouth. it has good period architecture so build on it. The streets are properly laid out use it to build a destination.

You kinda right OJ. It seems as if the lexicon of Jamaican drivers is limited to yeah mon and irie. I can't help but wonder if the rest of the world perceives of us as a set of clowns. On the business of shops, that might be good, but do you think we need another shop in the resort that sells Bob Marley single ply, tie and dye junk tee shirts along with other tourist junk?. The government should develop Portland, with its natural beauty, and varied attractions as the center of the product, not another junk-bead shop, faux Cuban cigar store, knock-off faux Vuitton selling store, or restaurant selling dried up tasteless jerk chicken, or jerk pork. If they want to introduce tourists to the real Jamaica jerk experience, then develop Boston. What could be more authentic?.

Agreed. For the life of me I can't figure out why this ahs not already been done.

from i see any piece of art and craft marked "Made in China", it is promptly returned to the shelf!

Thanks Mo - I detest buying anything that says "Made in China". God know, everytime I'm subjected to that torture, I want to PUKE........

Sass, the entire island of Jamaica cannot become a big tourist resort. Karl's suggestion for keeping Portland/Port Antonio exclusive for the rich and famous is a very good one. It is already a hidden gem which just needs some investments to upgrade its infrastructure for it to retain its appeal. The rich and famous already go there.
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Sass, the entire island of Jamaica cannot become a big tourist resort. Karl's suggestion for keeping Portland/Port Antonio exclusive for the rich and famous is a very good one. It is already a hidden gem which just needs some investments to upgrade its infrastructure for it to retain its appeal. The rich and famous already go there.
                    Tall order. They will need to demolish half of those unsightly decaying buildings in the town. Harbor Street is a one way, but highly CONGESTED street. Portie town just look drab now. Of course there are buildings that stand out - Marina, Christ Church (Anglican) etc.

About three decades ago, there was a movement to refurbish those buildings that are of Georgian architecture. But it seems that some of these have now fallen on hard times, plus the fact that some structures that are recently erected are just so UGLY - no dash whatsoever!

As to the once great Titchfield hill - everything up there except for probably DeMontevin Lodge need tearing down.

Went up the hill a few weeks ago. You could just recreate the glamour in your mind, something like putting the Titanic back together again. But the ruin is so profound that unfortunately, there won't be much to save.

I'm happy NCB took over that parish council (?) building. That is a GEM!

That was a good swap for NCB as Mr.Chin build the court house at Boundbrook(looking great) for the NCB building in the middle of the town.

People don't realise the tall order it is to attract the rich and famous. First thing is you have to be in that circle. This and the previous government have been talking about using Portland to attract the rich and famous while Chris Blackwell has invited so many of his rich and famous friends to Island outpost. Including Paul Allen, Jimmy Buffett, His former musical associates and many more to nothing but some rooms and showers outside so they can live some "nature" life. Government do a poor job of defining the market. If they want to do rich and famous they may as well rent out the Orracabessa airport and Pier to Lee Chin and Chris Blackwell.

If only they could start attracting regular tourist back to Portland(and in the they I include the Portland Tourism people). The market will define itself(thank you very much).

Did you see Demontovin lodge up titchfield hill? It is was ranked as one of the best hotels in magazine and the road going up the hill haven't been repaired since I graduated from Titchfield.

Is that a recent ranking? I am worried that that guest may eventually go the way of the others if something does not happen for Port Antonio.

The road by the marina is much better to get up there. (Just discovered that last month!) The road by the sea is...well, like the rest of the roads in the corporate area - CRAP!

going just for the rich and famous is a pipe dream Karl.
                            When you get teanagers they intern became the rich and famous. If your destination is popular the rich and famous will carve out their space. Also rich and famous don't spend with people on the street.

Right now a lot of very rich people own Villas at Tryall and Round Hill which is in Mobay even though it can't be classed as a playground for the rich and famous. Chris Blackwell a carve out a little space in St.Mary, St. Elizabeth, and Port Antonio with pretty much a nature thing where so of the world riches and famous come to live ordinary life without the glim and glam but they just dock their boat and enjoy themselves without mixing too much.
                            Sass: You are our tourism expect...so please help us by using facts when necessary.

Both Round Hill and Tryall are in HANOVER! ...and they both make telling conrtributions to their surrounding communities!

Hell MoBay is some appreciable distance from the nearest of these hotels. These hotels straddle HOPEWELL!

wha happen? The chiney man them have them place too. We just can't buy everything from them.

John G. Byles, co-managing director of Chukka Caribbean Adventures, who also addressed the forum, confirmed that his company was investing more than US$2 million to broaden its adventure tours with an emphasis on the historical importance of Falmouth, and incorporating Good Hope Estate and Great House.
                                business@gleanerjm.com