True dat, Portland get neglected fi di last 30 years or so, mi membah when cruise ship di put food pan nuff people table, den some people jus destroy di ting. An dii most beautiful parish widout ah doubt an livity jus cool. If dem invest anything close to weh dem invest pan di north coast wi big again. Titchfiel ah great memories dat, ah wondah how wi did learn beautiful white san deh right outah di windah, an Rummy an Pita Pot always ah run pan di beach, plus di island right cross di way.
Ships Skip Falmouth
No I am not saying that but that is a factor in making the decision. If it was just a matter for the Jamaican government then there would be no falmouth port but this is a model the shipping company pushing in the caribbean these days and threathen that if they don't have it then you can kiss goodbye to their crusies.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
As is the case with most things in Ja, this thing is poorly conceived and poorly planned, and they have no interest in involving people who are real professionals with experience managing these thngs from A to Z."Jah Jah see dem a come, but I & I a Conqueror!"
IMO Port Royal should be developed as a port of call... recreate the entire Port Royal of the 17th and more... taverns, restaurants, casinos, bawdy houses (well, that would be there anyway LOL) etc., re-enact any and everything al la Disney... not only cruise ship passengers but land (including dry-land) tourists would go there.... build it and they will come.
Every half an hour have some kind of show.... all dem haffi duh is check "Pirates of the Caribbean" for some Hollywood style action... no need to re-invent the wheel. feel free to add your ideas.Peter R
Good idea Peter R. Port Royal could be developed as a Pirates of the Caribbean theme park. This would still be a limited use type of area, and not necessarily a port-of-call for cruise ships. Port Royal doesn't have as much to offer in terms of a tourism product as does Portland.
I attended a meeting in Falmouth, in August, and I told the UDC and the NWA that I have a lot of experience doing that and that I could do it with removable bollards so that it would not be a permanent closure and that it would not be as disruptive. As always, they said they would get in touch with me about details, but they never have. i just there last weekend again and the plan and the progress are a joke.
The solutions that they have for things all across Jamaica leave me baffled."Jah Jah see dem a come, but I & I a Conqueror!"
I really doubt anyone there has my kind of experience and it can be easily verified. But I am convinced that they dont want anyone with my kind of experience involved in any of what they are doing."Jah Jah see dem a come, but I & I a Conqueror!"
i really meant if you agreed with the idea of turning it into a pedestrian mall, not so much the technicalities of doing so.
i guess there is some relation. it might be less appealing if it was a permanent thing. i personally have seen pedestrian malls in many cities around the world and i don't have a problem with them. and given our frightful road manners, why not give tourists some peace of mind where they won't risk injury from crazy taxi men.
One of the things they say about Porty is that it can't support Big ships and they can't dig it out and the channel pass close to Navy Island.
I would assume the company approached the government on this because I couldn't government going to build another pier in that region. I assume you know that this was in planning for at least 5 years.
I think one of the main problem with Port Antonio is the people who represent tourism there are after thought or just nice people. Not aggressive enough. I better don't write too much on that because one was my very nice x-teacher. Portie tourism died finally under the member of parliment who was t the time the Tourism Minister(Anthony Abrahams) so go figure.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.