Mo wha happen a di Grand Palladium?

• Mo wha happen a di Grand Palladium?

Have you been there or hear anything about the place lately?
    It look pretty but mi hear that water a come inna some rooms and a lot of leaks well. They have to retile one of the pools already. Some of the cement cracking all over the place.

Wha happen a pure Jamaicans expert work pon it.

The thing a just 2 years old.

Mo how you answer me on this?

I heard you and HL saying the place is beautiful.

You not aware of the problems they are having in 2 years?

i have been to grand palladium and the riu hotels and what is clear is that the rush job to complete these mega hotels is beginning to show up in cracks and leaks. a cursory look at the walls and columns reveals glaring problems - lean columns and walls and shoddy finish work. from a distance, they are grand and palladial (copyright), but they aren't. some are better than others. grand palladium looked better than the two rius i have been in.

at the end of the day, concrete requires a certain time to set, and plumb lines don't lie. wasn't one of these hotels implicated in the sand theft? dem even want overnight white sand beach!

Bwoy it seems like they could have done with some good Jamaican advice. They were not building in Europe or certain part of America. The Hurricane, the rain and other factor would naturally affect the construction. I even wonder how much steel is in wall. The cracked concrete make me wonder if they used enough of the right mix etc. As you said the speed is also a factor.

Granted we glad fi them but something has to be done so that a better job is done while building these hotels. Don't know which in the theft but we all know is one of them.

yuh memba how much time Bahia Principe pop dung?! apart from di duppy dem inna di place, shoddy workmanship on account of the rush may be to blame!

Yes it was Mosiah who inveigled me to go to the Grand Palladium. Think it was 2 or so years ago. I read reviews...and some visitors complained about tiles coming lose in the pools...............

While I was at the Grand Palladium, there were constant renovations taking place. This includes work on the septic systems.......

It was obvious that the builders did not pay close attention to datails. The bath (in the room that i stayed)--was made just smooth tiles. The hotel will be getting sued for a slip and fall shortly. Chussss mi.

I would not revisit Palladium:

I stayed at the RIU in Ochi Rios this past August. It was a wonderful experience.

The suite that i stayed was good. There is room for improvement in detailing. Seems like this is not a big thing with local builders. You can see this close up in peoples houses too.

"Lick and promise..."

Yes it was Mosiah who inveigled me to go to the Grand Palladium. Think it was 2 or so years ago. I read reviews...and some visitors complained about tiles coming lose in the pools...............

While I was at the Grand Palladium, there were constant renovations taking place. This includes work on the septic systems.......

It was obvious that the builders did not pay close attention to datails. The bath (in the room that i stayed)--was made just smooth tiles. The hotel will be getting sued for a slip and fall shortly. Chussss mi.

I would not revisit Palladium:

I stayed at the RIU in Ochi Rios this past August. It was a wonderful experience.

The suite that i stayed was good. There is room for improvement in detailing. Seems like this is not a big thing with local builders. You can see this close up in peoples houses too.

"Lick and promise..."
              I agree that many of those mansions on the hills are nothing more than blocks piled atop blocks, but there are many residences that have wonderful detail. And there are hotels with good detail too.

I have my fair share of problems with local builders so don't think I am batting for them just because. But the rush work at some of those hotels should not be taken as standard building practice across the island.

I actually saw a work by a local builder I know I would love him to refit my kitchen(off course I couldn't pay him), good thing mi wife never see it . but the work was just beautiful, so ofcourse some people pay details to building.

The problem is these hoteliers seems like they never even follow very basic Jamaican "natural" building codes, like how to mix matar, steal in the columns and as mo say how long the thing suppose to set. HL I heard they had to retile the whole big pool at the Palladium.

Not surprised about the retiling job 'sassin.

Many construction techniques used in Jamaica are old-school. This include steel work.....etc

that is true but these builders using modern techiques that comprimise saftey.